RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help! Need new shorts quick(23 posts)

Help! Need new shorts quicknicholasdunford
May 13, 2003 10:19 AM
I ride fox baggies and they suck. I want a good pair of shorts, any opinions? I was also thinking I would do bibs, I think I might like not having a draw string tight around my waist. What are opinions on bibs?

Thanks for insight.
For me Voler Bibs are the best(nm)abicirider
May 13, 2003 10:35 AM
re: Help! Need new shorts quickraboboy
May 13, 2003 10:37 AM
I'm a big fan of Voler shorts http://www.velowear.com and I prefer the bibs. If you don't like tighness around your waist, then bibs may suit you better, too. Sign up for their email list to get monthly discounts. I find I get the most bang for my buck (or 49 bucks). :)
Voler's get my vote, too (most comfy of all I've tried) nmMVN
May 13, 2003 10:47 AM
Performance Elite bibs (nm)94Nole
May 13, 2003 11:07 AM
what he said...good value (nm)ColnagoFE
May 14, 2003 7:05 AM
Voler vs. PerformanceKEN2
May 13, 2003 11:14 AM
Several people on this board (including me) find that, although the fit is great, the seams and ribbing of the multipart insert in the Voler shorts chafe and irritate. I'd say if you have sensitive skin, look for a one-piece insert short.

In that type, I prefer Performance Century (comes in bib or shorts, avoid the gel insert one--I believe the shorts are on sale now, buy one get 2nd @ 1/2 price, too) or Boure out of Durango, @ www.boure.com. YMMV
Another vote for volerDoothaBartman
May 13, 2003 11:37 AM
I used to have some really nice Bellweather shorts that no one can get anymore. The best thing I found to compare were voler shorts, although I can't remember exactly what the pad type was. I think they usually cost 34 bucks. Be careful, I think their sizing is odd. I had to send my first batch back for bigger shorts, and they're still sort of tight, but I think I've just gained weight...
re: Help! Need new shorts quickHetzelA
May 13, 2003 11:50 AM
I'm a recent convert to bibs. I'm using the Permormance Elite bib and I really like 'em. Bibs are very comfortable, especially since I've lost the flat-belly of my youth. The Performance seem to be a great value, especially if you've never tried bibs.
re: Help! Need new shorts quickBroomwagon
May 13, 2003 11:59 AM
I like the Performance Elite bibs as the lycra is pretty substantial (heavier weight) and the pad is pretty comfortable. While I don't have Voler shorts, I do have a pair of their knickers and one thing that I noticed is that the straps on the Performance bibs are wider than those on my Voler knickers. The Volers tend to dig into my shoulders, whereas the Performance straps do not.

The pads are very similar in that both have Terry cloth up front and on the sides for absorbancy and a slightly thicker center section. Both are equally comfortable.

Either way, I would recommend bibs over shorts.
1 Vote for Nalini bibs, comfortable, durable, affordable. nmdzrider
May 13, 2003 12:08 PM
Nalinis on sale...KEN2
May 13, 2003 1:56 PM
Nalinis on sale at BikeJerseys.com:
http://www.bikejerseys.com/nalchicblacb.html
I have a pair of these and this is a great deal!
Oh, I love Nalinis (so does the wife!) :) Thanks for the link nmnoveread
May 14, 2003 11:27 AM
RATS! They're out of my size!KG 361
May 15, 2003 1:08 PM
I just noticed that a pair of my Nalinis are worn through on the chamois. Had them for over 2 yrs. Guess I need some more.....
Another vote for Nalinis.KG 361
May 13, 2003 5:22 PM
Not hi-tech but super comfy and durable. Used with chamois creme these things are unbeatable. WAY better than my Castellis.Also check http://www.probikekit.com They had some left over team kit and some of the bibs were Nalinis-I got a CSC 2001 pair of bibs for $19!
re: Help! Need new shorts quickyellowspox
May 13, 2003 12:27 PM
Here's another vote for the Performance Elite bib shorts. Great bibs for the money. I also like the Casteli P2Y bibs for a larger step up in price. They're lighter/cooler with a more comfortable pad. The material isn't as durable. The first time I tried them, they snagged on a velcro strap and really raised the fabric.
Pearl Izumi and CastelliM_Lou
May 13, 2003 12:39 PM
IMHO, bibs are the only way to go - much more comfortable than a waistband. I have had good luck with Pearl Izumi and Castelli. Both offer different price points in bibs and the chamois on both is comfortable on long rides
Voler are no goodLC
May 13, 2003 1:15 PM
Until they fix the stitching on the pad by either moving them or smoothing it out, I could not recommend Voler. Why did they have to run them right where your sit bones contact the saddle?

Performance Elite, Castelli, Nalini are all fine. I would get the bibs over the shorts.
same issue, butDaveG
May 13, 2003 3:33 PM
I had similar complaints with the Voler's before. However I noticed that when I switched seats (to a narrow Flite from a wider Specialized BG Comp) I experienced less irritation with the Voler's. They are now fine on shorter rides. My votes are:
1. Nalini
2. Giordano RT800 (I find the more expensive Silverline less comfortable)
re: Help! Need new shorts quickgeeker
May 13, 2003 1:26 PM
I recently started wearing bibs, more comfy than regular shorts. Found some Internet sales, old team wear for $20 / pair. Got 2 pair Santinis from worldcycling.com, 2 pair Nalinis from probikekit.com. Both are nice. Check if probikekit has any more on sale. I got old "CSC" which are Nalini, mostly black with inoffensive Hyundai logos, mesh tops, excellent deal.
REI has Pearl Izumi shorts $20 of this weekend (nm)kjr39
May 13, 2003 6:35 PM
another vote for voler nmJS Haiku Shop
May 14, 2003 11:32 AM
Sugoi Technifineinnergel
May 14, 2003 12:38 PM
My vote is for Sugoi Technifine. If you can stomach the extra $25, go for the Ricaro version with flat-stitched seams, anotomical cut and a slightly upgraded chamois. Otherwise, the Technifine are great.

Also don't mind Voler. Pearl Izumi or Castelli are great but will put the hurt on your wallet.