RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Heart rate monitor suggestions please......(10 posts)

Heart rate monitor suggestions please......african
May 13, 2003 10:01 AM
My timex caved in, actually the day before Ironman Florida it died, I replaced the battery and it worked for the race and then died again. It cost about $60 should I even bother to get this one looked at, or if you have some suggestions of a good monitor for cycling and running. Not too expensive just a regular good useful reliable monitor.

Thanks for input......
re: Heart rate monitor suggestions please......Vikingbiker7
May 13, 2003 11:04 AM
basic polar. Unless you want and will use zones. I over bought, and wish I had a simpler one.
simple is bestjaybird
May 13, 2003 11:59 AM
I agree with the viking... simpler is certainly better. I recomend the Polar S120 or S150. They are about 100 and 130 bucks respectively. The S150 has bike computer functions as well.

Put your timex to bed... It is really tough to get a good seal on them once you have to open it up to change the battery.
re: Heart rate monitor suggestions please......ridingthegyro
May 13, 2003 12:03 PM
I think the consensus is that Polar makes the best ones. I use a Polar Pacer, which is available at Nashbar for about $60. It's relatively basic w/ time in zone function, time of day, and a night face light, among others. Based on my experience with several other brands, I find that they are more delicate than a regular watch. I would send them back to the manufacturer for battery replacement and only wear them for heart monitoring.
re: Heart rate monitor suggestions please......ridingthegyro
May 14, 2003 2:21 AM
Of those w/more than 10 reviews in roadbikereview, Polar Pacer has the highest rating with 4.55/5.0.
re: Heart rate monitor suggestions please......almccm
May 13, 2003 12:07 PM
Sigma Sport HRMs come with a bike mount and you can have the batteries replaced at any jeweler (you don't have to send it back to the manufacturer). You can get a good one for about $70 or so.
second sigma sport...reklar
May 14, 2003 12:44 AM
I like my Sigma Sport PC-14 a lot. It can be had for $60 or so, and has all the features that you'd want...calorie counter, average/max heart rate, zones, stopwatch, lap time, etc.
No complaints w/my Polar A5coonass
May 13, 2003 12:39 PM
Has all the functions I need.
Go polardpazos
May 13, 2003 12:55 PM
I have tried a couple of other brands but always go back to polar. They always function the best and last the longest.
Polar A5rwebb
May 13, 2003 4:20 PM
great functions...very dependable.