RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)(20 posts)

I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)magnum
May 12, 2003 2:56 PM
I've been ridng and reviewing these two bikes for about a week now and I'm still undecided. The bikes are the Gian TCR two (Full 105) and the Cannondal R800 (105/Cdale mix with Kysirums) - both the same price of 1399 at LBS. I'm 6'4'' 290 lbs by the way.

I've ridden both - both are equally nice. I feel comforable on both. Both are beautiful, but neither are saying "psssss hey you, over here, BUY ME!!!

Any ideas on how to help me out or what to help me make up my mind? I'm wasting beautiful days to ride (as this is my first road bike)

Thanks Everyone!
Neitherpitt83
May 12, 2003 4:02 PM
Since neither is seducing you, don't take home any old girl; wait for the right one.

BUT, if I were choosing between those to, the Giant by default.
1.) You are giant sized; a logical fit.
2.) The C'dale coda is strange enough to avoid. Non-C'dale dealers can't service. We were stuck and down a team rider at a 24hr MTB race because of this.
3.) Ksyriums with your weight is an issue. Read today's posts bout smashing these and you'll see why you need a 32 or 36 spoked 3X traditional wheel.

I'm 6'4" and down to 225 from 240 with early season training. I expect to finish August at 210#.
Coda = bad??reklar
May 12, 2003 5:03 PM
> 2.) The C'dale coda is strange enough to avoid. Non-C'dale dealers can't service. We were stuck and down a team rider at a 24hr MTB race because of this.

Whoa...out of curiosity, what is so hard to service? I've never heard this complaint about Cannondale road bikes...their mountain bikes on the other hand often have proprietary stuff (headshok, etc.)...
If your LBS can't service Coda stuff...biknben
May 13, 2003 5:05 AM
...you need to find a new LBS. Coda brakes, bars, cranks, posts, skewers etc. work just like any other brand. Only the SI cranks and the headshoxs would give a non-dealer a problem. An R800 doesn't have either so it's not an issue.
Had no choicepitt83
May 13, 2003 5:15 AM
We were at a 24hr MTB race. Previous post about road components are similar; point well taken. We lost a rider simply because the ONLY shop in a resonable distance couldn't do anything with Coda BB /crank.
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)rayclark
May 12, 2003 4:03 PM
They are both nice bikes. Since you feel comfortable on both, then I would choose the one that is more visually appealing to you. Were you able to take them for a good lenghty ride or just around the parking lot?

Good luck with your descion. Get one and get and ride!!

RC
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)rayclark
May 12, 2003 4:07 PM
They are both nice bikes. There are other choices in that price range though. Since you feel comfortable on both, then I would choose the one that is more visually appealing to you. Were you able to take them for a good lenghty ride or just around the parking lot?

Good luck with your descion. Get one and get out and ride!!

RC
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)magnum
May 12, 2003 4:16 PM
Thanks for the replies guys.

I rode them on a trainer to get fit. I'm going to be taking them for a few block ride tomorrow. I've been leaning toward the Giant because it's a lovely bike and I like the Complete 105 setup.

I'm fairly indecisive sometimes. Is there a better bike out there that I should check into. I've got a budget of about 1500 for the complete bike (minus pedals of course).

I know i'm gonna drop the weight fast - I simply eat too much and stress myself and do nothing as a result of school and a full time job. This is not a bike for excercise - this is a bike for fun and relaxation - excercise is a beneficial byproduct.

I'm very devoted - I think I will be more strict about what I put in my body once I start riding as a mentality of - how will this affect my ability to ride longer and harder etc etc......

Am I on the right track? I want to make a positive, educated, and smart decision. I want to RIDE, not next week, not in a few days, not tomorrow, but RIGHT NOW!!! I've got to just get out there - I can't stand being couped up inside anymore!

Suggestions / Comments?
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)gtx
May 12, 2003 4:32 PM
Well, I commented on your previous posts and still have the same advice. I would add this; be sure to invest in a high quality floor pump with a guage. At your weight I'd also get high quality 700x25 tires (try to upgrage before you take the new bike home). Be religious about maintaining the right tire pressure (I'd guess something in the 110-120 psi range, depending on the tires and what the LBS recommends for your weight). Good luck and have fun.
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)rayclark
May 12, 2003 5:38 PM
You may want to look into the Lemonds bikes. Very nice ride and high quality. I just bought a 2003 Lemond Zurich with full Ultegra components for $1500. Do you have a preference of aluminum or steel? Trek has some nice aluminum bikes in that price range. What other brands do you have available locally to you? Good luck.

RC
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)magnum
May 12, 2003 6:04 PM
The brands I have available are: Giant, Cannondale, Litespeed, Specialized, Trek, Klein, and Lemond.....

I'm just trying to make a good decision..... I'm getting close - I know it!

Am I making a wrong decision by not checking out the other bikes? I checked out the Bike Shops and I piked the best one - they carry Giant, Litespeed, and Cannondale.

I really like the service and how they present themselves. I really would like to purchase from them - is that wrong?
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)Bike Bum
May 12, 2003 7:50 PM
Hey, Getting a LBS that you can trust is a good factor in buying a bike. If you're have confidance in this shop go for it.
My 2cents is that the full out 105 Giant would be the better buy.
I've never heard good things about Cannondale's customer service and they're going bankrupt because of their venture into the Motocross motorcycle market.....Cannondale say's their bicycle product line will stay in business. But it may affect product service in the future.....

something to think about......
C'dale is officially out of backruptcy...biknben
May 13, 2003 5:09 AM
Read here:
http://www.bicycleretailer.com/bicycleretailer/headlines/article_display.jsp?vnu_content_id=1881878
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)dtufts
May 12, 2003 7:52 PM
you can't go wrong with either of those. If the LBS treats you well it counts for a lot.

Personally, I'm tall like you and I prefer the standard geometry, so I'd lean to to the C'dale. Take them both for a couple of rides. One will speak to you. Enjoy!
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)Bike Bum
May 12, 2003 7:53 PM
Hey, Getting a LBS that you can trust is a good factor in buying a bike. If you're have confidence in this shop go for it.
....On your choose between the two bikes, My 2cents is that the full out 105 Giant would be the better buy.
I've never heard good things about Cannondale's customer service and they're going bankrupt because of their venture into the Motocross motorcycle market went sour.....Cannondale say's their bicycle product line will stay in business. But it may affect product service in the future.....

something to think about......
I'd second LeMondTower
May 13, 2003 4:07 AM
RC got a good price on the Zurich - $1500. I paid 200 more for mine and felt good about it.

The LeMond Buenos Aires is another good choice. Mix of 105 and Ultegra. Good steel bike & carbon fork.

I was 290 when I started riding MTB's and am now down to 240. Steel frames for guys our size is a good thing. The ride is great!
I'd second LeMondrayclark
May 13, 2003 6:07 AM
The Buenos Aires would be a good choice too. That's what I originally went to the shop to buy. I must have got the owner on a good day cause he made me (what I felt was ) a sreaming deal on the Zurich. I love the way Lemonds feels. They have a very comfortable ride and the quality is top notch. Good luck. Let us know what you decide.

Ray C
Giant's a good dealjptaylorsg
May 12, 2003 7:49 PM
I can't comment on the C'dale, though I tend to think an all-105 group is the better way to go. I've been riding my '02 OCR1 for 1 1/2 years. 245 when I got it, 220 now. The bike's been great. Did a 50-mile charity ride recently in comfort (with different seat). I must stress as a fellow big guy that the CXP 22 rear wheel might not be the best option. After several broken spokes, I changed to a Velocity deep V on rear with heavier gauge spokes, and the bike is more comfortable, and I can feel the difference accelerating and climbing. Bring this up when buying the bike and save some time. Pick the shop you're comfortable with, you'll deal with them a lot.
Velocity wheel is Clydesdale must havepitt83
May 13, 2003 5:00 AM
If you weigh over 200, these wheels are a must have. Everything else will frustrate you and take you to the repair shop. Colorado will build them on any hub for cheap (Ultegra for ~$200 the pair).

If you could swap the factory wheels or get credit and buy Velocity elsewhere, take that option. You'll be much happier with a bike which isn't down with broken wheels.
re: I can't decide between two bikes... (newbie)rkalik
May 29, 2003 1:05 PM
dude....right there with you. This past weekend, I test drove the Cannondale R800 against a Klein QCarbon. Really torn between the bikes, because they both are top quality rides. But each is different, the Klein being a softer ride. The R800 has tremendous value, full 105 set, where the Klein is a mix.

It's tough to decide, but I am leading towards Klein figuring the resale on Klein might be slightly better then the C'dale. who knows!

MTB'er primarly, and I just discovered road bikes too.