RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help!! I need a new frame and I can't choose!!(33 posts)

Help!! I need a new frame and I can't choose!!PaulCL
May 12, 2003 11:46 AM
I need help. I broke my Colnago frame this weekend and I need to buy a new frame. My considerations:
Time: I am leaving for Colorado in 5 weeks. I need a bike soon!
Price: Of course, I want to save dollars. But I want a frame that will last many, many years.
Warranty: I want a good one
Fit: Most important. I know a 58cm Colnago fits me.

My choices (prices include all shipping,tax,buildup costs, etc)

Pinnarello Opera: from LBS. steel/CF stays. 3.5lbs 2 year warranty. $1850
Colnago C-40: Mapei. 4 yr warranty. $2100 bt in USA. 2002 version using my old fork
Roark Titanium: Custom made for me. $2500. Lifetime warranty.

I've never ridden CF. I've had Ti and steel bikes. I like the idea of buying locally, but the Colnago (Mapei version) is VERY tempting. But the idea of a custom bike is intriguing yet it would blow the budget out the window. Hell, there is no budget...they all blow it out the window.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks. Paul
your post screams C40. don't disappoint yourself. nmJS Haiku Shop
May 12, 2003 11:54 AM
You may have hit the nail on the headPaulCL
May 12, 2003 12:06 PM
How do you know me so well???

My only hesitation is the fact that I have never ridden a CF bike. People on this board can describe it till there blue in the face, but I won't know it till I ride it. Has anyone ever been dissappointed with a C-40??

By the way...I just got the thumbs up from my wife. Amazing.
:)JS Haiku Shop
May 12, 2003 12:14 PM
I have a CF monococque (LOL) frame waiting for a kit...it's third in line, of 4 frames waiting to be built. guess i'll find out on my own, but not 'til next summer. :(

but i've never ridden a full CF frame & fork; closest was an AL frame with CF fork. out of the 6 guys that normally show for our weekend rides, three ride CF, two steel, one AL.

seems there's a fixie-like devotion with some folks and their CF frames.

-J
You may have hit the nail on the headAkirasho
May 12, 2003 1:16 PM
By the way...I just got the thumbs up from my wife. Amazing.

... you need to marry that woman... oh wait... you did!

You make a good point, but it also muddies the waters... folks have valid opinions about bikes and components... but they still remain opinions... and because we have so many varied ones... it only goes to show.

I kinda thought that the Roarks were reasonable (last I checked with them were about a year ago)... slapping together a rig ain't that hard... most you can do for yourself... or with some "help" from your LBS (I take it the repair ain't panning out).

Be the bike.
Repair at RoarkPaulCL
May 12, 2003 3:19 PM
No can do. The gentleman at Roark said he could do it, but wouldn't recommend it. He said there would always be a question why this frame cracked when there wasn't an event (wreck, pothole, etc..) to cause it. He suggested that this was the beginning of the end for the frame. He offered to do a complete scan/x-ray thing on the frame, but it would run around $2-300 plus the cost of repair. He gently persuaded me to look for a frame. I will take him up on one offer: to effectively 'patch' the area then use the bike as a beater or convert it to a fixie. Next time I'm in Indy, I'll drop it off. To buy a Roark frame, would cost me so much more than the C-40. I just can't justify it to myself. I think I'll go with the C-40.

And yes...my wife is a great lady. Effectively she said that I had two passions in my life: my family and my bike - and I shouldn't ever skimp on either. Maybe I should marry her again??
c40 rideDougSloan
May 12, 2003 4:35 PM
I've ridden just about every kind of bike. The C40 rides like a Porsche 911. Very solid, controlled, and stiff, but still mutes the road buzz enough to enjoy it. It's much stiffer in the bb than a comparable weight aluminum bike. All this talk about carbon feeling "dead" is just bs, if you ask me, at least for this frame. Put it this way, if I were going to set off tomorrow and ride across the country or do a 50 mile road race, this is the frame I'd get. Absolutely solid and reliable. Top notch.

Make sure it fits before you buy, though.

Doug
c40 fitPaulCL
May 12, 2003 5:03 PM
The geometry of the C-40 is essentially the same as my (now deceased) Colnago bititan. That's a big reason that the first brand of frame I looked at was Colnago - I know what I am getting. Also, I can easily move my components over to the new frame...same bottom bracket (Italian) same fork (1" steerer tube) and same stem due to the fact the frame is the same size.

My other choices meant a larger outlay of cash on extra essentials: the BB, new fork, stem, etc.

Doug...does the C-40 use a 27.2 seatpost or is it something different?? By the way, you wrote one heck of an endorsement for the C-40.
weird seatpostDougSloan
May 12, 2003 7:30 PM
It uses a larger diameter seatpost, probably a one off proprietary size, something like 28.5? You can use a shim and a smaller post, though. The Colnago carbon post is pretty nice.

Doug
RoarkRJF
May 12, 2003 12:16 PM
I'm also the owner of an Itallian bike with a 2-year warranty, and don't worry too much about it.

However, if my bike had just busted, as yours did, I think I would be leaning very heavily towards the custom U.S. built bike with the life-time warranty and local(ish) builder.

All three bikes you mentioned are great ones, but I'd just be paranoid lightning would strike twice.
TruePaulCL
May 12, 2003 12:24 PM
I am paranoid about failure.

I am not discounting the Roark warranty, but the warranty is only as good as the company issueing it. I'd barely heard of Roark before today. By the way, the Roark price just went up...he doesn't put on the components for me. I don't feel comfortable enough to do it myself, so add another $150.

The Colnago's now come with a four year warranty vs. two years for the Pinnarello. I guess the Pinn is out of the picture since my wife generally OKed the idea of the $2000 Colnago.

I'm going to sleep on the decision. I appreciate everybody's input (and welcome more). Everyone else I talk to is trying to sell me a bike, you all just offer your best opinion.

Thank you. Paul
To confuse you a little more...JohnIV
May 12, 2003 12:25 PM
Really check out Orbea. They make a really nice bike, and it won't break the bank. I ride an airplane AL frame, and the geometry is perfect. But with the list you have, you couldn't go wrong with any of those. FWIW, a friend of mine has an Opera, and loves it.
And even more...Deansn69
May 12, 2003 12:43 PM
You might also want to consider Dean, an established ti builder from Colorado. Their lead times vary, but they are worth calling at your convenience. I ride one of their now-discontinued steel frames and I love it. Other frequent posters have their ti bikes, which offer tremendous value and quality for the money. Also, Dean offers full build kits that are well-spec'ed and nicely priced.

They're worth calling. Good luck.
Don't do thatPaulCL
May 12, 2003 12:44 PM
I'm near my saturation limit as is. I like the Orbea's looks but I don't know much about them. I really liked the Pinnarello Opera,but for a few hundred more, I can have a C-40 with a longer warranty. Not much of a choice.
Trek 5900 beats them all...............BIG RING
May 12, 2003 2:32 PM
plus a killer warranty. Had an '02 C-40 B-Stay, sold it. It lacked the 5900's stiffness. Merlin Extralight, no zip, gone. the 5900 is it. A product made in America with a great warranty. Call their customer service, they are great. Go Project One style and the Lance wannabe moniker will vanish as well.
No one will suggest the 5900 becauseLazywriter
May 12, 2003 4:50 PM
it is too common (except you and a handful). People here have a perception that if it is "rare" it is better and a common Trek is not in the same league as a Calfee or C40. I just got a Postal 5500 (almost all Dura Ace actually) in the white Postal colors because I wanted a part of TDF history. I ride a Vortex as well, but my first ride on the Trek was surprisingly good. Better than I thought, much.
No one will suggest the 5900 becauseslide13
May 13, 2003 5:11 AM
I don't know if people actually think of Treks as lesser bikes, they are just more common and less exciting. The OCLV frames are outstanding, no matter how you look at it they are great frames. Trek makes great bikes at every level, but they arn't as exciting as a Colnago or something similar. If your looking for a good value, Trek has you covered. A lot of people just want something a little different and less common.
I checked out the 5900PaulCL
May 13, 2003 6:49 AM
It's a nice frame. The price is right +/- $1500 for frame & fork. But..sorry..I just can't get excited about a Trek.

But the shop did offer a Ti/cf Lemond frame to me for around $1900.

I gotta quit calling these places...I just get bombarded with options.
Steelmangtx
May 12, 2003 4:23 PM
His 56 c-c should fit pretty close to the Colnago 58 c-t. Otherwise Dean like the others said or if you're crazy about Colnagos just get a Master Light--that should be more durable.
For that matter,sn69
May 12, 2003 4:44 PM
Carl Strong also has production frames and custom jobs lying around in his pro shop that went un-bought.

Lord, we are only making this harder on him. ...To have such dilemas.....
yes. a master light w/precisa steel fork, no less.colker
May 12, 2003 6:28 PM
2lbs heavier and sweeter than aluminum or carbon, imho.
Don't overlook Calfee. nmbcm119
May 12, 2003 4:27 PM
Calfee !!PaulCL
May 13, 2003 7:07 AM
I took your suggestion. I talked to my LBS. He is checking on a price.

The positives:
25 year warranty
bought in town, not over the phone
warranty work done in town
light bike, fitted well
Reputation is the best

The negatives
Would be a couple $100 more than the C-40
Lacks the sex appeal of a C-40

If the price I get is OK, I'll probably go with the Calfee.

Paul
go for a test ride firstkenyee
May 13, 2003 9:56 AM
One LBS around here says Calfees aren't stable enough during descents (but of course, they sell Colnagos, so take that w/ a big grain of salt :-)

The guy went on and on about how the HTa of Colnagos is very shallow which gives you a lot more stability.

Too bad you have to get one so quickly. It sounds like you'd have lots of fun shopping ;-)

ken
Paul - go to the Lite(speed) Vortex, you'll not regret it (nm)Kerry
May 12, 2003 5:08 PM
your considerations and choices dont match!the bull
May 12, 2003 6:11 PM
Warranty - ok strike out the Colnago and Pinnarello!
Price- well as you admit !
Why lean so exotic -lazy is right about the whole itallian thing!
I agree.
Well if you want my advice see if you can get a good deal on a litespeed! Lifetime warranty good price- good time.check out la bicicleta

Your should pick a bike for size and ride quality !
Then go for warranty and price.
Just my opinion though.
your considerations and choices dont match!PaulCL
May 13, 2003 3:36 AM
"pick a bike for size and ride quality!"

I agree. I am. Size: the 58cm C-40 is the exact same size/geometry as the bike it would replace therefore,I know it will fit. Ride quality: I can't test ride any of my choices - I can only go by reputation and frame material.

Warranty: the 4yr vs. lifetime on the C-40 is the only thing holding me from jumping on the C-40. OK...I'll look at Litespeed.
Even with a 4 year warranty.the bull
May 13, 2003 3:42 AM
I have seen vert long waits for frames to get back to them.
Long enough that people buy a spare frame!
That would suck!
re: Help!! I need a new frame and I can't choose!!Traveller
May 12, 2003 6:12 PM
Checkout Fondriest (unique and beautiful bikes). There web site is fondriest-usa.com. You have to buy directly from them. Great service and great bikes. Also Colorado cyclist was selling Fondriest P4 at great prices. I am not sure if they have one available in your size.
Get the C-40.....Mariowannabe
May 12, 2003 7:38 PM
otherwise you'll always wish you had whenever you see one. I have one (OOF) and it is nothing short of a fabulous frame. I also have a steel Bianchi, which is very comfortable, but it doesn't have the same snap when I get out of the saddle. I take the C-40 on most rides. I won't bore you with superlatives..... It sounds like you've done your research and have found a good price. Go for it. You'll have it built up in no time and be off to Colorado to do some damage!!
max tire width on C40?kenyee
May 13, 2003 9:53 AM
Seems there are quite a few C40 owners here.
Anyone know if it'll fit a 28mm tire or is 23mm the max?
Thanks.
You answered your own question: The C-40 (nm)macalu
May 13, 2003 4:51 AM
One sweet ride....Fila Hebe
May 13, 2003 6:40 AM
I just got a C40 about three weeks ago and man what a great ride. Doug Sloan pretty much summed it up with his post. The only thing I want to add is that it feels even better when you can read a feature article about the bike in the February issue of Cycle Sport magazine. Happy shopping.