RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


need lots of opinions...Please?(8 posts)

need lots of opinions...Please?Carbon fiber fanatik
May 11, 2003 2:00 PM
I'm chomping at the bit to upgrade my spd-r pedals. I'm getting ready to bite the bullet and go with "TIME - impacts"...

good? bad? anything better? I suppose if they dont squeek like "LOOK at me.. i'm an expensive squeeking pedal" or a sometimes pain in the tuckus to cleat in a hurry "shi -man -o- man, i need new pedals.. i'm gonna grab some up.

thanx for your input..!
Best set up I've used yet, impact magnesiumsabicirider
May 11, 2003 2:43 PM
My time mag broken in two time sent me a free pair of Impacts in my opinion best pedal I have ever used wider platform, no squeeking after about 1500 miles so far, easy entry, exit, also can adjust the Q factor= distance shoe from crank arm, they come with cafe claet only thing I hear replacement cleats are expensive and hard to come by close to $30.00 a set for cleats, bottom line very happy with pedals no negatives have never pulled out or accidently released. Also time customer service is first rate all the way.
Hope this helps
Be Safe Out On The Roads!!!!!!!!!
Ray Still
Moorsville, NC
Recent Velo News testsKerry
May 11, 2003 4:31 PM
They ranked the new Shimano on top. Their description of the S pedals made them sound just like Campy ProFits. Light weight, rugged, simple design, easy exit but no false release, positive engagement. People forget about the ProFit because they were introduced 4 years ago, but IMO Shimano just caught up (assuming they have the durability). The top Time and Look pedals have more adjustments, but IMO most people don't need that stuff. If you do, by all means, but if you just want performance, consider the ProFit or the new Shimano. The ProFit has a proven track record.
Should be getting new shimano dura-ace pedals..the bull
May 11, 2003 4:59 PM
on tuesday! I did some serious research on allot of pedals.
Read the reviews almost bought Time pedals looks like alot of problems!
New dura-ace pedals seems to be the best on market and they are cheap too!
Speedplays are nice but I want a larger platform and less float!
Someone else said the Times were the best hes used but they broke twice in 1,500 miles? Hmm!
The dura-ac pedals dont have all the moving parts.
They are light.
Shimano has very good bearings!
They are half the price!
No brainer if you ask me.
I let you know how I like mine in a month or so.
I have high expectations.
TimesFez
May 11, 2003 7:56 PM
Not aware of any problems with Times. This is my opinion of Time pedals:

Extremely secure, will not clip out unless you want them to, or unless you crash (so I have been told, I have never had 1st hand experience of a crash).

Large platform and just the right amount of float.

Pedal spindle to foot distance is nice and low.

They are weighted, so you don't have to hunt for them like you would an SPD, but the pressure required to engage them can be a little high.

They seem to last forever. They are very sturdy, even though someone had a weird instance of a magnesium body splitting in half. That sounds like an anomaly, but at least they replaced and upgraded them. Can you imagine the big Shimano doing that?
Shimano has a very goo rep. for warranty!nmthe bull
May 12, 2003 3:05 AM
re: need lots of opinions...Please?carpe_podium
May 11, 2003 7:44 PM
I have the Impacts. Have about 8K miles on them and I like them. I like the Time float, best on the market IMO (you asked for opinions...) I have also used SPD-R pedals and liked them too. I tried Speedplays and got calf craps and lower leg fatigue, changed pedals and it went away. I don't really care for Look pedals and this is basically what the new Shimano's are. If you want Looks just buy Looks! The Shimano's are like 20g (maybe) lighter than most Looks. I don't understand all the fuss over these pedals.
NoContest - Timecyclequip
May 12, 2003 2:15 AM
If you believe the cognoscenti at Bicycling and Velo News the DA is better cos you can click in/out easier than Impacts. No mention of constant cleat replacement cos they wear so fast, the rapid deterioration in 'clip-in' as the cleats wear, and the free-for-all float that develops. Just go try the two types first. Then tell me you'd want to sacrifice the absolute security of the Time engagenment for anything. I ride my bike. That means not needing to clip in/out all the time. And anyway, I got into auto placement on the Impacts within a week, so clipping in is simple stuff. But the ride........