RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What do you all know about Guerciotti bikes?(8 posts)

What do you all know about Guerciotti bikes?PseuZQ
May 11, 2003 12:54 PM
Some friends of my mom have one of these -- older bike, maye 20 years old, that they're thinking of selling. I'm relatively new to cycling (four years or so) so I'm not conversant in older Italian frames. I'm not really interested in it for myself (unless it's super cool), but was wondering what the info was on this maker.

(I could Google it, but asking here seemed like more fun.)
I know a little . . .Look381i
May 11, 2003 4:42 PM
I rode a more recent Guerciotti -- 2000 Neuron (lugged but light)-- until last summer. It was a wonderful ride for me, but I jumped on the carbon bandwagon and sold it to a friend who enjoys it immensely.

The older bikes usually sport the World Champion colors because Paolo Guerciotti was Cyclocross WC in the 80s, I think. I understand that he and his brother both rode professionally on road teams until retiring to sell bikes. I say "sell" because I think they have them built by others.

Whoever did the builds on the steel bikes did a very good job, though. Whenever I run across one, I ask the owner for an evaluation of the ride and frame quality. The answers are uniformly positive.

Guerciottis don't have the cachet of old Masis, Cinellis, Colnagos, etc., but they are good frames, often with beautiful paint jobs. I think their ride is improved with a carbon fork in place of the usual chromed steel, but that's just my opinion.
Here's a good siteboneman
May 12, 2003 3:25 AM
When I was looking to buy an Italian bike in the 70's I included Guerciotti along with Masi, Cinelli, Colnago and Gios Torino. Ended up buying the latter with no regrets. 10 Speed Drive out of Florida was the Guerciotti importer at that time (1974). As I recall, they were not keen on the paint quality and later models were painted in the States using Imron. Nicely made and well finished, they had a very good reputation for classic Italian ride quality.

Here's a good siteohmk1
May 12, 2003 5:15 AM
I used to own one(1984). Sweet ride, kind of flexy(columbus sl tubing). Crap paint job. It did the job though.
re: What do you all know about Guerciotti bikes?M_Lou
May 12, 2003 5:13 AM
FWIW, I rode and raced a Guerciotti (Columbus SL tubed frame) in the mid-80's for a number of years. Good ride, no complaints about the frame or finish. It was, as another poster noted, imported by Ten Speed Drive.
re: What do you all know about Guerciotti bikes?tarwheel
May 12, 2003 5:45 AM
With regard to fit, Guerciottis are longer across the top than many Italian bikes. This is good if you like a frame with a longer top tube, but not if you like shorter top tubes you often see on Italian bikes.
Guerciotti - best bike I ever rodedotkaye
May 12, 2003 9:52 AM
a late 80's steel frame, with Campy wheels. It was magnificent, felt like there was an engine hidden in the frame somewhere. Then I had to give it back to its owner.. sobs.
Generally supposed to be in the second rank of Italian frames. The 80's steel ones go for about $250 - $400 the frame, $500 and up for a complete bike depending on components and condition.

They also had an alu line back then, made for them by Alan, similar to the Vitus frames - bonded, with lugs. Not sure of valuation on these.

They're still being made, but mostly alu now, which I'm not interested in. Also some ghastly steel/carbon miscegenations.
http://www.guerciotti.it/inglese/biciclette.htm
1997 lugged steelSteve98501
May 12, 2003 12:14 PM
I suppose it depends on the material and price line, but mine seems to be as high a quality lugged Columbus Neuron steel frame as I've seen anywhere. Chrome fork and chain stays and head tube lugs as well, along with a two-tone paint/varnish job with stenciling instead of decals. I just love the looks, and it turns heads at rides all the time. My only complaint is the steep, 74* seat tube angle that isn't a real good fit for my longish femurs, so I have to use a lot of seatpost setback. It is more of a criterium than road geometry, so it seemed a bit twitchy at first, but I got got used to it.

One of the responses here suggests Guerciottis have long top tubes. That isn't born out by the geometry chart or my bike: 59 cm st c-c and 58 tt c-c, indicating an under-square geometry.

Steve