RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Worst Ride Ever Report(41 posts)

Worst Ride Ever Reportwookieontherun
May 11, 2003 7:04 AM
Ever had one of those days? Yesterday was it for me. In retrospect I'm looking back and laughing but I figured I'd spill the details.

Saturday is the day when I work on sprint practicing, and as my quaint little town of Bloomington, IN was having graduation ceremonies going on (which I should be at but am still working on a plethora of degrees... whole different topic) the roads were fairly clear of traffic.

First things first, I live on a busy street so getting rolling is generally no easy thing. I find an open space of cars and jump on the bike and clip into the speedplays. Well I clip in after some struggling, realizing that just beforehand I had stepped in gravel. If you've ever tried to clip into dirty speedplays you know what I'm talking about.

Second, I go through my fifteen minute warmup and all is fine. So time to start some short sprints, just for fun. Even though this is a training section for me I love to just have a blast getting going as fast as I can. So I choose this street that is a major street but is barren of all traffic due to graduation. It has 2 or 3 stop signs on it, and a nice gradual decline so sprinting can get really really fun. So I begin moving, and I'm movin along pretty nicely, workin my way up to the upper 20's/h (I'm still somewhat a novice cyclist). Well I blow through the first sign because there is no street on my right and I'm able to see across the corner from quite a ways back and see that there are no cars there. Same thing with the second sign. What I didn't notice about the second sign was the cop that was hidden behind the tree!

Lights and everything.
"Son, did you notice the stop sign?" (I may be young but I hate it when people call me son, or honey, or any other cutesy demeaning name like that)

"Yes, however I was working on some training and there were no cars around, so I decided to continue on through it."

"Why didn't you stop?" (at this moment I knew this was going nowhere fast)

"Well mainly because its difficult for me to stop in the middle of sprinting and get out of my pedals and then get back in them and start again"

"You know there was a stop sign there?"

At this point I feel like the interviewer out of the movie Spinal Tap. Why don't you make 10 louder? This one goes to 11.

"Yes, I'm sorry."

"You know I'm gonna have to write you a ticket?"

OK what the hell. I'm on a bike dude. I didnt think in rinky dink IN (I'm from CA) you could get a ticket on a bike, though this does remind me of when my sister got pulled over on her bike in AZ and the cop asked her for her drivers liscence. Unfortunately, my sister didn't have it with her. He threatened to arrest her, but she just kept asking why she needed a drivers liscence when on a bike. But I digress.

"I don't really think I'm deserving of a ticket sir, but I understand you have a job, and I leave that option up to you."

Ticket in hand I ride away, slowing to the most complete stop you've ever seen in your life.

Around to another residential neighborhood that is empty for some more sprinting. I get going on the next sprint, this time on a road with no stop signs for about 3-4 miles. 1.5 mi into the sprint, there goes my chain. Pop boom bang its broken. Lucky I carry a park chain tool with me. Yah it's heavy but when ya need it it's worth all the weight. Chain fixed, time to get back on the bike.

Back on the bike, rode to one end of this road so I could turn around and try it again. 2 mi in now, not just hte tube but the tire blows out. Suddenly I'm on rim and almost beefing it completely. at this point it's just not my day for riding.

I put the 5200 over my shoulder, begin the walk home. Almost hit twice on the short walk home.

Ah well, worst ride ever for me. Thought some of you might find some hindsight humor in it as I have been :-)

Jonny
running stop signs = wrongPicshooter
May 11, 2003 8:51 AM
I know where you are coming from but in my opinion, blowing the 2 stop signs was wrong. You need a different road for your intervals. If you saw someone in a car do it you would be all over them. Stop signs / red lights aren't a suggestion, they are enforceable.
I am not from Indiana but could you tell me why it is "rinky dink"?
And why don't you think you deserved a ticket?
running stop signs = wrongwookieontherun
May 11, 2003 9:04 AM
Here's why I dont think I deserved a ticket. Both stops were 3 way stops with open lots on the corners, making the streets easily visable. on both streets i was along the side without the incoming road- so i was along a curb the entire time. I don't think that running stop signs or lights is wrong in all cases, but its a touchy situation nonetheless.
Aren't you supposed to be at a "Bets Off" meeting, Mr. Bennett? nm.amflyer
May 11, 2003 9:04 AM
oh pleaseballbite
May 11, 2003 6:24 PM
I've been plenty of organized group rides and no one stops unless they absolutely have to. Give me a break.
agreed...Frith
May 12, 2003 1:58 AM
especially when it comes to a three way stop where your riding along the curb and can see any traffic coming off the intersecting street.
I know signs are there for a purpose and so are laws. But so is common sense.
Slow down or Stop!!!!!RCA
May 11, 2003 10:34 AM
Sammy cyclist is cruising along in the zone when he comes upon a stop sign. Looking both ways and not seeing anybody he cruises on thru.On the other side Sammy spots a cop signalling him to pull over. The cop says Sammy my man you went thru the stop sign. But I slowed down argues Sammy, its the same thing.To which the cop pulls out his night stick. Sammy my man I am going to start beating you about the head and shoulders, you let me know if you want me to stop or slow down!!!
RCA
re: Worst Ride Ever Reportgregario
May 11, 2003 10:49 AM
no sympathy here. Don't run stop signs.
Well, now! I thought it was funny...peter1
May 11, 2003 1:02 PM
Full disclosure: I've run stop signs. I've run red lights. I even enjoyed it. I've done it in cars, I've done it on bikes. I've done it on skateboards and roller blades. And I'll probably do it again!

I've even broken the speed limit. And I've inhaled. Whoops, almost forgot. I jaywalked, too.

So when I get a speeding ticket, I look at it as the wages of sin. Maybe the broken chain and flat were just the vigorish on top of that!

I live in NYC. If I didn't run redlights or stop signs, my 2-hour rides would be 5 miles long.

You have my sympathy. Since I don't carry a chain tool, I'd really have been SOL.

It's the cops in "rinky dink" places like IN that you gotta watch out for. They have too much time on their hands!

Cheers,
Peter
Agree...wages of sinKristin
May 12, 2003 5:56 AM
Did the wookie do something stupid, foolish and dangerous? Nope. He was being careful and made a choice. Everyone makes those from time to time. But the law is pretty straight forward regarding stop signs. So the cop isn't in the wrong. He is allowed to write tickets for ANY violation he see's. Is the ticket stupid. Perhaps. But now that decision lies in the hands of a judge. I also agree about small town cops and too much time. Small town cops can develop pretty big ego's too.

I ran several stop signs on Saturday morning. I'll blame that on the weatherman who absolutely asssured Chicagoland that there would be storms arriving in the AFTERNOON. Someone should take them to court because my feet were swimming inside my shoes at 10am and there was some damn close ESD!!! I digress. No cop would have pulled me over in that mess. They would be smart and stay dry in their cozy cruisers.
Johhny can't read?KG 361
May 11, 2003 1:01 PM
Stop signs generally mean STOP! Yes, I will slow down and roll through some, but I slow down, at least. Pay the fine. In most states, a bike is a vehicle, therefore subject to the laws of the road. You're obviosly young; be glad you're alive. Riders like you give the rest of us a bad name. Grow up. You got what you deserved.
wrongballbite
May 11, 2003 4:34 PM
Stop signs are completely optional for bikes. I only stop when I have to because of either traffic I can see or because I can't see if anything is coming.

If I'm taking a right, I don't stop regardless of traffic.

The cop was just an ass on a powertrip as so many are. This cyclist definitely didn't deserve a ticket.
You apparantly don't know the laws of the road either.KG 361
May 11, 2003 5:48 PM
Let's see, you are less than 25, right? They are not completely optional. Get used to it. The kid got what he deserved as far as the ticket was concerned. The rest was probably just divine justice.
You apparantly don't know the laws of the road either.spankdoggie
May 11, 2003 6:00 PM
Well, we can't all be old jackasses like you where there is not a stoplight for twenty mile, you idiot. Go finish high school, KG 361.

In your part of the desert there are no stop signs. Try living in a civilized part of the world for a month, and you will change your opinion.

spankdoggie
wrong againballbite
May 11, 2003 6:21 PM
I am 31 and have never received a ticket. Do you know how much your average speed suffers from your needless stopping? I doubt Lance Armstrong had much patience for stop signs. Obviously, if one is in danger of getting hit, you stop; otherwise, forget it!
wouldn't want to hurt that average speed now, would we? (nm)rufus
May 12, 2003 6:09 AM
You apparantly don't know the laws of the road either.KG 361
May 11, 2003 6:35 PM
No, I don't stop at all stop signs, but I don't sprint through them, either. You at least slow down. If not, you pay the cosequenses. As for average speed, who cares? Are you racing by yourself? If you are racing, then stop signs aren't really an issue, are they? No, there aren't a lot of stop signs where I live-that's why I live here. However when I do commute into the city to work, I do stop at them-ALL OF THEM. That's just what the non-cycling drivers like to see-some idiot on a bike blowing through stop signs and ignoring traffic laws. If you ever want to get a little repect on the road, start acting responsibly.
KG, you still sound like a jackass...spankdoggie
May 11, 2003 7:34 PM
Where in the midwest do you live?
Do you put a foot down on each stop sign or slow down?

My bet is you slow down like most of us in the real world, whether on a bike or in a car.

Advocating a complete stop, on a bicycle, in a city environment, is pure lunacy.

Even the cops would give you a swift kick in the ass if you told them that, to their face... at least here in the city.

love and tears,

spankdoggie
Oh good, name calling. That's great.KG 361
May 12, 2003 9:53 AM
Just because I happen to follow the law makes me a jackass. Nice. I won't even bother anymore with this.....
Listen!the bull
May 12, 2003 3:19 AM
So you have really conviced yourself that a red neck in a pickup truck sees you stop at a stop sign and thinks" gee look at that dar chylist! I aut ta start givin him more room when I go round him cause he fallas da law !"
Get a grip.
Optional?!?! ur dead wrong. be glad u r not dead.(nm)94Nole
May 12, 2003 5:34 AM
Gotta pay the price.slide13
May 11, 2003 1:37 PM
I agree that running stop signs is wrong no matter how you look at it. I do admit to doing it myself on occasion when I know it is safe, but its still illegal and I'm well aware of that. It sucks that you got caught, but you do deserve the ticket in my oppinion. Cyclist always fight for rights on the road, but we must also take the responsibility that goes along with those rights.
re: Worst Ride Ever Reportbyker
May 11, 2003 1:41 PM
If I ever got a ticket on my bike I'd frame it and hang it on my wall. Espcially if it was for speeding.
re: Worst Ride Ever Reportgcbgcb
May 11, 2003 1:46 PM
You can see that no cars are coming, but you can't see a police car?
re: Worst Ride Ever Reportmrrun2fast
May 11, 2003 2:25 PM
I hate to admit it, but when I first started to ride, I used to run stop signs. I almost learned the hard way not to run them, as I was running a stop sign, a lady with her small dog were walking in the crosswalk, I almost ran over the dog. I've learned my lesson, I stop at all signs or lights.

Dan
you drive a car?micha
May 11, 2003 3:38 PM
Don't know if this still is true - but in 1970's Germany, your bike traffic infraction (like runnnig a stop sign) would get you points on your automobile driving license if you had one. The concept was "irresponsible traffic participant" regardless of what you piloted. Painful, but effective way to drive home the point that bikes are vehicles.

Then again - I think we like to have our cake and eat it too. Most of us (myself included) selectively appropiate the rights of automobiles, pedestrians or cyclists strictly on the basis of what gets us across town the fastest. Nature of the sport.
In 1989IFTreedog
May 11, 2003 4:00 PM
Back when I was stationed at the DLI in Monterey, I used to take my old Specialized Sirrus out the back gate, through Pacific Grove, around the Monterey Peninsula along Asilomar beach, back through Cannery Row and up the David Hill after school. It was a good way to blow off steam and check out the sights.

One day I was in Pacific Grove just as the local high school was letting out. I was in full TT mode...tucked, clipped and strapped (or maybe I had Look pedals by then), all cool in my iridium Oakleys and foam Avenir helmet.

Then a motorcycle cop comes up behind me and pulls me over. Seems I rode through a crosswalk just as some high school students were stepping off the curb on the other side of the street. I kind of looked at him like 'Are you for real?'.

Then another cop on a motorcycle rolled up and parked in front of me. Then a patrol car came out of the neighborhood and boxed me in. I had three cops all ready to go to the mat on my spandex-covered ass.

Cop #1 writes out the ticket, says I have to pay it. Cop #2 is on the radio, apparently coordinating with a helicopter and a SWAT team, and Cop #3 walks over to his trunk and brings out a triangle reflector about as large as a Stop Sign and hands it to me.

'You'd be safer if you strapped this to the back of your bicycle,' he said, fingering his pistol and wheezing.

I ended up getting sent on to Texas about 3 months later, and was unable to contest the ticket in court. Grand total: $65 and a total lack of respect for traffic cops in Pacific Grove, California. I taped the reflector to my barracks wall and threw darts at it.

Later, in college in Montana, I met a bicycle cop in town doing a trackstand at a stoplight. He was grinning and said to me 'This is the funnest job I ever had'. So they're not all bad.
ain't karma a b!tch?rufus
May 11, 2003 4:03 PM
you got what you deserved. obey the rules of the road.
Rufus you young jackass.spankdoggie
May 11, 2003 5:49 PM
You and all the rest of you basturds can continue to live in your dream world...

Here in San Francisco, there is a stop sign every 300 feet. It sure would make my short 25 mile rides over the Golden Gate Bridge tedious. Wow.

I guess I am really wrong, when I blow the stop signs in front of patrol car almost all the time, and they do nothing. I have blown many a stop sign with a cop on a bicycle behind me...

Get a grip and get a life rufus, you jackass... Reality is different from law. That is a fact.

Now a stop light is another thing. You need to be very careful about blowing a stoplight. I support the youngster who started this thread, and I have a few words for the youngster who started this thread:

Youngster: A cop can smell your skinny young-cycling-ass a mile away. You are a young bastard,and skinnier than hell, I presume. Of course they will pull you over...

As you get older, youngster, you will find that the cops leave you alone. They just need to keep the youngsters in line; yes, once I was pulled over for timing the changing of the green light exactly. I did not run a red light. I went through a green light at 35 miles per hour at the exact moment it changed. They knew it, but they pulled me over any way, and said I could have been killed if someone ran the red light... Go figure.

I was a skinny ass nerd-bastard, just like you, once upon a time.

Take it as a badge of honor.

Freaking midwesterners,

Don't let the Rufus-bastards of the world drag you down. They are not men. You will someday one.

spankdoggie
i'm sorry stop signs so inconvenience you.rufus
May 12, 2003 6:17 AM
i guess the wold truly does revolve around you, and everyone else better just get out of your way, and let you do whatever you want.
Rubbing the cop's nose in itLeroy
May 11, 2003 5:38 PM
is what you did running the stop sign right in front of him. That's like giving him the bird. You deserved the ticket. You did two stupid things, running the stop sign and doing so right in front of the cop. Traffic laws apply to everybody. What did you expect?
Leroy is a bastard too. Read my post above. n/tspankdoggie
May 11, 2003 5:50 PM
What do you think you are a CUTTER!!!the bull
May 11, 2003 5:42 PM
Good post bull. n/tspankdoggie
May 11, 2003 5:50 PM
1.5 mi into the sprint? nmDutchy
May 11, 2003 6:14 PM
1.5 mi into the sprint? nmnoveread
May 12, 2003 6:24 AM
Yeah, I saw that too. That's a helluva sprint.

It's amazing, people complain about cyclists not getting any respect on the road and cite the fact that bicycles are vehicles and have equal rights on the road under the law then complain about crap like this when a cyclist gets a ticket for blowing through stop signs...

Incredible!

No, I don't stop for all stop signs. But if there are any cars even near the intersection I do.

And stop signs are optional for bikes? God I hope that was a joke.

Could be some Darwin awards in the future for some of these posters.

Noveread
you remind meQuentinCassidy
May 12, 2003 5:05 AM
of some of the morons who show up on court TV who are just dumbfounded when they learn what they did was wrong. Some people genuinely believe it's ok to drive if you're drunk as long as you're obeying the speed limit and don't swerve, or they believe it's ok to pull a gun on a friend, as long as it's in their own house... and then when Wapner sends them to jail they think they're the only ones not on crazy pills.

You ever been on afternoon tv, Jonny?
Running Stopsmacalu
May 12, 2003 5:41 AM
I don't think running stop signs is a moral sin. Use discretion. But it is against the LAW, and enforcing the LAW is what the police are all about (unless it is the law against agressive driving directed against cyclists, but that is another post). If it were me I would cut the crap short: Yes I saw the stop sign and I ran it, write me the ticket and save the phony lecture-comedy routine, officer.
Comme ci, comme ça.Charlie Amerique
May 12, 2003 6:12 AM
Around here (Montréal suburbs) running a stop sign is par for the course. The cars do it, the bikes do it and even the pedestrians do it (even the cops do it). Stopping is often a necessity because of the traffic, but the wait can be long as everyone will wait for someone else to go first.
I'll admit that bikes are given a hell of a lot of respect around here and I figure after 30+ years in the San Francisco area, I'll take advantage of every bit of it!

"I may not be able to turn right at a read light, but Tabarnaque! I can go right through them!"

CA
Ahhh, the good old days!RJF
May 12, 2003 7:14 AM
This discussion kinda makes you yearn for the good ol' days of last week when all we had to talk about was "spoiler" rules. What? Ok, maybe not.
Closing my own discussionwookieontherun
May 12, 2003 7:29 AM
Listen,

I know that running the stop sign was against the law. I'm paying the ticket, I just find it kind of humerous. If you don't find it humerous and are pissed off cause I give the worst name ever to cyclists, then sobeit. However, I thought within the moment from my judgement that it was an appropriate place to not stop as many of us take that discretion while on our bikes. The cop was doing his job, albeit what I feel was a somewhat unreasonable ticket, he was doing his job.

So that ride is over, today I pay my ticket, tonight I ride again, only this time out of the town, and this time where there are few to no stop signs :-)

Jonny