RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Just wanted to show off my new computer!(13 posts)

Just wanted to show off my new computer!the bull
May 10, 2003 3:29 AM
Fully loaded Mac G4 with 20 inch cinema display!
Sweet! What kind of pedals will you put on it? (nm)KeeponTrekkin
May 10, 2003 3:42 AM
LOL @ MacsXoc
May 10, 2003 4:30 AM
Hows the Saturn?
my wife designs video games!the bull
May 10, 2003 8:39 AM
And these are the way to go for grapic design! I have a PC right on the same desk .It seems well built I like the way it is set up.
I like the way the buttons on the mac feel the bigger screen is nice too!Im still not used to OS X !
No wonder your looking for a deal on X2's. nmJuanmoretime
May 10, 2003 4:41 AM
Mac vs. Windowsdtufts
May 10, 2003 7:50 AM
be careful, you could spark that old debate . . . It's about as productive as the one we've been having lately about campy v. shimano.
Bull, you MUST invest inLazywriter
May 10, 2003 8:08 AM
a pair of Klipsch Promedia speakers. They are by far the best speaker system for computers. You will literally sh$# on yourself when you hear how these things pump out sound. I have really good Polk speakers on my main surround sound system and these things sound just as good when I am playing MP3s with ridiculous Bass. They actually scare people.
My girlfriend used to be a Mac lover but $ for $ my PC has performed better and actually was more reliable, but there is something nice about the Macs.
I will probally get something like that!the bull
May 10, 2003 8:33 AM
I still have a lot of LP's (Old jazz I like).So my stereo $$$ is tied up in that system.How much do those Klipsch speakers go for!
These Promedias retailLazywriter
May 10, 2003 8:42 AM
for $190-200, but I got them on Amazon a few months ago on sale for $140 with free shipping. Wasn't looking to spend the $$$ as I had nice Bose Roommates hooked up to my PC, but my friend has a pair of these and they literally shake the room. They are small, but the subwoofer is big in proportion and these thinkgs are AMAZING. Great to watch movies in the 5 piece system that they sell for a little more. You can find deals on them now I think but you will not find a bad review of these on any computer site.
Me and my buddies slam each other's purchases by looking for bad reviews on anything we may buy (it is funny for us). They gave up trying to find a bad review of these things.
Thats cheap!!!nmthe bull
May 10, 2003 8:56 AM
re: Just wanted to show off my new computer!Akirasho
May 10, 2003 9:02 AM
... well, it ain't new but...



Actually, this is a vintage Friden calculator (mechanical) from the late fifties through early sixties... and is fundamentally responsible for saving the West from Communism.

In the early days of SAC and the advent of digital computers, programmers (my Dad) would use these devices to figure out what patch cord placements were needed on the "mainframes" to calculate ballistic missle trajectories. I've got two (one working) and they are a remarkable reminder of our not too distant past (these were state of the art when new)... these units actually DO crunch the numbers!

Ok, this is actually where I do some of my online surfing from...



If you think this setup is redundant, consider this... I've got a standalone PC (sans printer... but equipped with DVD burner) in my bedroom and a backup system in my basement (also makes access to info easy when I wrench on my bikes). A laptop waits in the wings until needed.

Note too, that there is a picture of a Vision recumbent hanging on the wall... so the post remains cycling relavent...

Be the bike.
re: Just wanted to show off my new computer!abelson
May 10, 2003 11:46 AM
Very nice.
I love my iBook
Mac OS X rules!!- nmbenja15
May 10, 2003 6:39 PM