RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


please explain your handle / screen name. nm(192 posts)

please explain your handle / screen name. nmJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 7:51 AM
pretty obvious, isn't it? ;-)DougSloan
May 9, 2003 8:00 AM
you haven't earned yours, lately, btw.

Doug
exceptionJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:08 AM
Do(u)g, the exception
explain your former screen name
yes, let the Dog lose
fraudulent slip :)...'lose' should have been 'loose' (nm)JS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:20 AM
DogDougSloan
May 9, 2003 8:29 AM
Dog=animal name, or totem, required by Furnace Creek 508 race; no race numbers, so everyone is an animal, and puts the logos all over their crew vehicles. Seemed like a pretty obvious selection for me.

Do(u)g

PS: you haven't explained yours
the meaning of [[ J's Haiku Shop ]]JS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:38 AM
of course i was jealous and didn't want to be upstaged by Do(u)g's handle change from "Doug Sloan" to Dog (in honor of his looming 508 solo ride) in 2001. in august '01 i posted a request/poll for the board to suggest new handles. as the majority of board communication from my keyboard(s) at that time was in the form of haiku, they weighed in accordingly. i swapped around a few of 'em until this one fit pretty well.

btw, my first name is Jeffrey, I go by Jeff, thus "J's Haiku Shop". my home bike shop--the third bay in a 3-car garage--has been since dubbed "the Haiku Shop".

here's the thread, for those who have nothing better to do:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?printerFriendly@@.eeb73b5

:) !

-J
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmPsalm 147-10_11
May 9, 2003 8:01 AM
I use my screen name as a reminder to keep my life balanced. Cycling is important, but not everything.

"He taketh not pleasure in the legs of a man. The LORD taketh pleasure in them that fear him, in those that hope in his mercy". Psalms 147: 10-11
What do you mean, 'cycling is'nt everything'?bludoggy
May 9, 2003 3:44 PM
single speed new york city (commuter) (nm)ss-nyc
May 9, 2003 8:02 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmtigermilk
May 9, 2003 8:04 AM
Couldn't come up with a username a few years ago when I was signing up for an ISP. Saw an album on the floor (yes, a vinyl album) from Belle and Sebastian titled "Tigermilk." It stuck. Great album by the way.
African, come from South African.......nmafrican
May 9, 2003 8:05 AM
rwbadley= Ronald William Badleyrwbadley
May 9, 2003 8:06 AM
So I don't forget who I am.
mine's boring: bicycle + 2=feb+68= yr of birth (nm)bicycle268
May 9, 2003 8:08 AM
NovaracerNovaracer
May 9, 2003 8:08 AM
I race, hence racer, but:
1) I live in Northern Virginia and
2) I'm pretty damn slow (no va); and
3) I have a tendency to do too much work and
go "nova".

Three puns in one handle!
NVRcr
4 if your bike is an REI Novara model nmFez
May 9, 2003 8:41 AM
rockbender... also play on wordsrockbender
May 9, 2003 11:58 AM
I became rockbender because:

1. I live in Bend and am a rock climber
2. I work in the road/bridge construction industry where we 'break' rocks (more than bending them!)
3. A rock isn't something that really 'bends,' so I like the oxymoronic value in that.
I was wondering if you won many racesKristin
May 12, 2003 6:05 AM
On a cheapo REI bike. Now I know!
Onespeed = former messenger, still ride fixed, love the fixed.onespeed
May 9, 2003 8:10 AM
Yes I know how to spell pedal....PEDDLEFOOT
May 9, 2003 8:11 AM
It's a combination of the word pedal and the old cartoon character Paddlefoot from Clutch Cargo.I loved that cartoon as a kid (showing my age here).
Mike P. - Just never came up with anything. nmMike P
May 9, 2003 8:11 AM
Well, I put 'Old' in frontOldEdScott
May 9, 2003 8:11 AM
of my real name because (a) I'm more than a half-century along my journey in this Vale of Tears, and (b) I was hoping to inspire respectful treatment from the harsher young whippersnappers of the board. Results, so-so.
From reading your posts......PEDDLEFOOT
May 9, 2003 8:14 AM
...you have my respect.
Thinking of changing it.OldEdScott
May 9, 2003 8:19 AM
If you see posts from OldPantywasteLiberal, you'll know it's me.
LOL! ;-) (nm)sacheson
May 9, 2003 8:21 AM
Thinking of changing it.PEDDLEFOOT
May 9, 2003 8:25 AM
Can you say Liberal on this board? :-)
Doug needs to move this thread! nmOldEdScott
May 9, 2003 8:27 AM
LOL I think it's implied by now ;o)Live Steam
May 10, 2003 2:55 PM
I gotta ask...DINOSAUR
May 9, 2003 8:36 AM
How old is OldEdScott? Born prior to Aug 18, 1942? Alas, age gets no respect these days, gone with the dinosaurs...
I gotta ask...OldEdScott
May 9, 2003 8:42 AM
If that's your birthday, I fear I must defer to you in the age category, and I do so happily and with great and well-earned respect.

I'm a few years younger than you, but I'm old enough to have ridden 10-speeds that were really ten speeds, wool shorts with leather chamoises, and 'hairnets'in time trials.
DittoDINOSAUR
May 9, 2003 8:49 AM
It only hurts when you stop...
Here 'tis.coonass
May 9, 2003 8:14 AM
I'm a 7 generation (Opelousas/Lafayette) Louisiana boy; all past relatives were from La....I was the first male on both sides of the family to marry a woman that wasn't a Cajun and didn't speak French (is that the reason I'm divorced?) Parents moved to Memphis when I was 6yo....lived there until about 1982; moved to St. Louis for better employment conditions. My previous handle here was "cajun", but there was a glitche in the RBR and I had to register under the 'other' La. heritage handle.
Bon jour.
so where are you now? MO? LA? TN? nmJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:27 AM
Still in MO...coonass
May 9, 2003 8:42 AM
I have 2 daughters in Mempho; 1 daughter in Nashville; 1 son that lives up here.....only about 4.5hrs to Mempho, and I can leave my door unlocked without worrying :))
methinks you need more childrenJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:46 AM
you're not a "breeder" or anything, are you?

:)

darn, four kids. ugh!

are the kids in memphis cyclists?

oh, and: have you ridden with Spoke Wrench? do tell!

-J
6 grandkids are all I can handle...coonass
May 9, 2003 9:15 AM
No I haven't ridden w/SW.....and my kids are raising their kids....no time to enjoy life except to take the kiddies to their soccer practices & games :) The cycling up here is absolutely fantastic. I used to ride from East Mempho out to Collerville, but now that's like taking your life in your hand. West STL County is nothing but leg-busting hills, while the Illinois side has rolling hills and rural county roads with little or no traffic. Here's a little bit of STL cycling info and also some trails (paved and 8' wide) that offer after-work (M-F) cycling for unlimited milage and ZERO cars or STOP signs.... http://www.racestlouis.com/Links.asp and for the paved trails: http://www.mct.org/bikeways/index.html and weekly scheduled bike rides (about 200-600 show up) @: http://www.bicyclefunclub.org/
200 to 600!!!!!!??????!!!!!!JS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 9:22 AM
we're lucky to get two dozen on a good day. wow, that's an awesome scene. i don't think much more than a few hundred people in memphis RIDE, much less weekly. geesh!
where in MO?DougSloan
May 9, 2003 8:53 AM
I lived in Columbia (birthplace), Centralia, Higginsville, Carthage, Kirksville, Jefferson City, Cape Girardeau, and Kansas City -- just about everywhere.

Doug
St. Louiscoonass
May 9, 2003 9:21 AM
and I see that you're very knowlegable of the great riding in MO....we don't have the Ocean views or Colorado Mtns, but great riding....check out my reply to JS Haiku Shop.
my ridingDougSloan
May 9, 2003 9:37 AM
Most of my riding was around Columbia, mostly toward the river, and then around Cape Girardeau. Great rolling hills in both areas, but plenty of rednecks to run you off the road, too. I did the out and back from Columbia to Jeff City many times. St. Louis riding isn't bad once you get well out into the County.

Doug
my ridingcoonass
May 9, 2003 9:54 AM
You're correct....riding in a City is never fun anywhere..and there will always be rednecks (God bless their vocal cords and salutes indicating their IQ).... Unless we want to do hills, we ride mostly on the Illinois side...the attached sites on JS's thread will give you a good indication as to why....btw, this year's MS150 will begin in Columbia (Boone Cty. State Fairgrounds); two figure-eight routes of 75m for each day. Beginning and ending in Columbia both days...nice!!!!
yeaeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!(nm)markkar
May 9, 2003 8:40 AM
Here 'tis.yellowspox
May 10, 2003 3:29 AM
I just got back from the Louisiana Cycle Main Street. Loop #1 started and stopped in Opelousas. I'm use to northern Illinois motorists. Down there, people really are different. They honk and wave with more than one fingure! Roads were a bit rough and we had upper 80's to low 90's already with high humidity. The food and people were fantastic. Great place to ride and not a hill to be found.
Glad you had a good time...coonass
May 10, 2003 3:34 PM
Yes, 'real' Louisiana (not New Orleans) is like a different country....people know how to work hard and play hard...
Unfortunately the good old days (i.e. Crawfish Festival in Breaux Bridge) have been ruined by the uncontrolled crowds acting as if being drunk justifies their irresponsible behavior...yep, a 'five finger wave' is abundant.....
"Lassiez le bon temps roulez" (Let the good times roll)
Bon jour.
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmTwoBikes
May 9, 2003 8:19 AM
I used to live in a house that was named "Two Decks" (it had two decks)... I used that handle on a poker web-site as I thought it was an interesting tie-in to the game. And have used it in other discussion forums over the years

I just modified it to fit the topic of discussion here, plus, I only have two bikes...
How about Two Beers?rockbender
May 9, 2003 12:06 PM
I lived in a frat house my freshman year in college, and at one of the first parties, one of my fellow freshman buddies was totally wasted after having 2 beers - I think he weighed about 120 pounds and hadn't really drank before.

From that day forward he was Two Beers, or 2B. Can't remember his real name.
As they say, no one beer is better than two beers (nm)mickey-mac
May 9, 2003 1:14 PM
nm
I make 90 degree turns NMtronracer
May 9, 2003 8:24 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmFranchise
May 9, 2003 8:26 AM
I was known among my fraternity brothers as "Franchise" for some athletic ability as well as my commitment to body building and other health focused endeavors. The name followed me to law school, and even still at the law firm I work at today. It has been shortened to 'chise for those that know me better than most.

Francis
MLCrisis (mid-life...)MLCrisis
May 9, 2003 8:27 AM
In my 40s now...hair getting grayer/sparser...bought my first sports care last year.
abicirider= abici one of the road frames I have (nm)abicirider
May 9, 2003 8:27 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmDINOSAUR
May 9, 2003 8:29 AM
Dinosaur= One who is out of step with the times and still sticks to the old way of doing things. It is a name that got tossed around a lot in my prior occupation.

Actually when I first signed up on this forum I tried a bunch of other log-on names but they were all taken and Dinosaur worked....
abicirider= abici one of the road frames I have (nm)abicirider
May 9, 2003 8:30 AM
first name. middle initial. first 2 letters of last name. nm.frankamo
May 9, 2003 8:30 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmPseuZQ
May 9, 2003 8:31 AM
A lame attempt at a L33t 5p34K translation of the chocolate creme Hostess treat? Not really! My name is Sue. I like the "pseu" prefix because it speaks to the whole Internet anonymity thing. (Even though I don't care if folks here know who I am. I got nothin' to hide!) The only person who ever calls me Susie, btw, is my mom.

Plus it's a convenient handle I've used elsewhere.
Alway admired the wit of it. nmOldEdScott
May 9, 2003 8:34 AM
PseuZQ, Thanks for talking with me Yesterday...I'm in college @Swat Dawg
May 9, 2003 10:53 AM
Swarthmore College in S.E. Pennsylvania, 20 minutes from Philly. When I'm elsewhere on the bike, I like to go by Black Ligthening but on the internet it has a little bit too much of a porn star ring to it.
You bet! Glad to finally chat w someone here IRL. (nm)PseuZQ
May 9, 2003 2:30 PM
anyone ever read Watership DownFrith
May 9, 2003 8:35 AM
by Richard Adams. Was one of my favourite books growing up. For those who don't know...It's about a bunch of rabbits that go find a new home. It goes deeper than that but that's the basis. Frith-Rah is the Full name of the rabbit god. Frith is what they call him for short.
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmTNSquared
May 9, 2003 8:35 AM
My initials are TN. I live in TN. I really wanted the mathmatical expression, but I couldn't get RBR registration to accept the "squared" symbol - must be subject to the same ban that you encountered trying to insert an apostrophe into your handle. Hence, TNSquared. And there are those, like my 13 year old son, who might argue it also suits my personality.
first name: Chad, bike: [Eduardo] Bianchichaduardo
May 9, 2003 8:36 AM
Mel EricksonMel Erickson
May 9, 2003 8:42 AM
Mel, a contraction of Melvin.
Erickson, commonly thought to mean the son of Eric the Red, a Viking explorer and murderer, who is also thought to be the first European to visit Greenland (while banished from Iceland because of his murders).
Short Course Triathlon...sctri
May 9, 2003 8:43 AM
Which may change, if I trade my speedster status in for the longer effors, as I am considering making "IMtri" over the next couple of years.

RC
variation of the Moshe of S. Americamoschika
May 9, 2003 8:43 AM
not that i'm a decendent in anyway but it's what we named our california king snake because of the sensual nature of snakes and the sensual nature of the artwork from that culture.

used it as a screen name ever since logging onto the internet 10-12 years ago.
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmMR_GRUMPY
May 9, 2003 8:44 AM
Because I'm so outgoing and lighthearted.............Not.
Huh...My name is Ben... I like to ride my bike. nmbiknben
May 9, 2003 8:44 AM
my other hobby - fly fishing (nm)trout_bum
May 9, 2003 8:47 AM
Flyfisher for steelhead here when not biking which is rare!(nm)hrv
May 9, 2003 10:41 AM
I'm no fighter pilot,,,,,,Scot_Gore
May 9, 2003 8:48 AM
So I never thought of using an alias. More like Top Ton, than Top Gun.

I put the underscore in out of habit. I've grown so accustomed over the years of spaces not being valid in computer naming conventions that when I registered I put the underscore in without a 2nd thought.

Scot Gore
I dub thee 'Iceman' nmJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:56 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmFTMD
May 9, 2003 8:49 AM
Freight Train Macho Delicious = FTMD.

Once in college, four friends were doing something really stupid like mixing all sorts of liquors in a fish tank but had no cups to use. So, three of them would hold it up in the air while the fourth drank out of a corner. One friend's name started with F, one with T, one with M and another with D. After this when on for a while, someone blurted out "Freight Train Macho Delicious." It was funny in a had to be there sort of way and from that point on, it stuck between all of us.

I use it b/c the memory makes me laugh.
surprising you have any memoryJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 8:58 AM
after drinking mixed liquors poured into your mouth from the corner of a fishtank held aloft by three others of questionable sobriety. :)
Memory of what?! (nm)FTMD
May 9, 2003 10:46 AM
nm
Come on J, that's gotta be the second line for a great haiku (nmbludoggy
May 9, 2003 3:53 PM
kid - young at heart and legs (?)...wasabekid
May 9, 2003 8:51 AM
wasabe - a favorite "over the counter" sinus clearing and lung expanding concoction(when mixed with soy sauce and sesame seeds)with thinly sliced ginger(sweet variety). Also doubles as an aphrodisiac ;-))).

W.
morning drink of choicetriple shot espresso
May 9, 2003 8:56 AM
and it sounds faster than my old handle Pack Meat which I got from where I finished in most races.
Dale Brigham = HAM(let) next to BRI(d)G(e) in the DALEDale Brigham
May 9, 2003 8:57 AM
No kidding. That's the real Middle English translation. In my ancestry, it's pretty much pasty-faced Brits as far as the eye can see.

Dale ("Embracing my English heritage with newly-acquired Brooks saddle")
So how IS the Brooks? Ridden it yet? Scary looking,OldEdScott
May 9, 2003 9:00 AM
isn't it?
Brooks Swift successfully grafted to Steelman EC525...Dale Brigham
May 9, 2003 9:28 AM
...Awaiting tornado-free day to test ride. Had two tornado alerts yesterday, the last one at 11 p.m., the siren of doom jolting wife, cats and me out of bed and into basement to watch brightly-colored doppler radar images on TV. I think God does not love MO anymore. She is P-O'd. I don't blame her.

The Swift is a thing of rare beauty, a true article of craft, not manufacturing. It's slathered (lightly) with Proofide top and bottom, mounted on the seatpost (after making lots of careful measurements), and ready to go.

As helpful posters noted previously (thanks!), the frame does not allow it quite the far aft-positioning of my SM Regal (hey, I just noticed that Sam Marco abbreviated is "S & M", which seems appropriate, in my case), and the saddle height increased by almost a full (1) cm. compared to the Regal.

Although I was tempted to change seatpost height, stems (I have a whole collection to monkey with), and anything else I could find to get back to original (pre-Brooks) bike dimensions, my wife sagely advised that I should actually ride it before fiddling around with the bits. It seems as if the Swift might actually "sag" in a hammock-like way when I place my flabby backside on it, so my perceived seat height problem may go away or need only minor adjustment (same with reach issues).

Thanks for asking, Ed! I feel as if I have entered into a brother/sisterhood of Brooksians.

Dale ("I am of the Brooks Collective")
dear LocutusJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 9:38 AM
before swapping san marco regal to rolls b17n (on the fixie), i placed a level longways on the saddle and measured the distance from the top tube to the bottom of the level--the true distance from the tt to the top of the saddle. you'll note the height difference from the bottom of the saddle rails to the top of the saddle in respect to brooks versus san marco (and others), which i assume you were remarking against above. it rides the same, and i'm a stickler for the way my rides are setup, *especially* saddles.

my first question is if the Ti rails of that Swift will flex and absorb road shock like the cromo rails of the standard B17 models. that's been a great help to me over longish rides.

please post a review after you've had several hundred miles of abuse.

-J
Will report Swift test ride results to the Collective...Dale Brigham
May 9, 2003 9:54 AM
...as soon as I get a chance to ride (tonight, hopefully, if tornados take an evening off).

Yes, the measured seat height difference is due to rail-to-saddle-top vertical distance (about 1 cm. more on Swift than on Regal), since I did not change the seatpost extension (how far seatpost extends from seat tube). Am I correct in interpreting your experience noted above that, despite that measured height difference, you did NOT have to adjust your seatpost? Just trying to understand the way of the Collective.

I have no idea if the Ti rails will flex "better" than steel ones. Although many claim otherwise, I cannot tell the difference in the "ride" of my Ti-railed saddles from my Cro-Mo-railed ones. Maybe I'm just insensitive (my wife would say so!).

Dale ("I am Brooks")
nopeJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 10:17 AM
I did in fact lessen exposed seatpost so the top of the brooks was placed at the same height as the top of the regal. so, i compensated for the ~1cm saddle rail difference. it seems not lowering your seatpost would lengthen your leg extension (straighten your knee) at the bottom of pedalstroke by ~1cm+.
Gotcha! Will have 5 mm hexwrench at the ready. (nm)Dale Brigham
May 9, 2003 10:44 AM
you empty headed animal food trough wiper!JS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 9:12 AM
How is the Brooks? Which model?

(You don't frighten us, English pig-dogs! Go and boil your bottom, sons of a silly person. I blow my nose at you, so-called Arthur King, you and all your silly English Knights!

I don't wanna talk to you no more, you empty headed animal food trough wiper! I fart in your general direction! You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries!

Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time!)
Thought I was the only person who quotes large passages of MP!nmTNSquared
May 9, 2003 9:23 AM
aha!JS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 9:28 AM
I am afraid our life must seem very dull and quiet compared to yours. We are but eight score young blondes and brunettes, all between sixteen and nineteen-and-a-half, cut off in this castle with no one to protect us. Oooh. It is a lonely life: bathing, dressing, undressing, making exciting underwear.
aha!TNSquared
May 9, 2003 9:47 AM
And you've been setting alight the grail shaped beacon! For which the punishment is a spanking, followed by....(ooops can't say that.)

Well, perhaps I can stay a bit longer.
Help! Help! I'm being repressed! :-)) nmrwbadley
May 9, 2003 10:57 AM
Funny...my handle is from an old Monty Python skit...nmbicyclerepairman
May 9, 2003 12:01 PM
I f**t in your general directionSpecialTater
May 9, 2003 11:14 AM
Will Do(u)g let us say fart?

You really can't get away from MP on internet message boards. Some PhD candidate should do a dis on that.
This is getting creepyTNSquared
May 9, 2003 11:35 AM
OK, you live in Memphis, have a Trek mountain bike, quote Monty Python, and I bet your first century is gonna be the hightailers fall colors in Sept.

You're real name isn't Todd is it?

I'd love to hook up for a ride some time. Can't make Thursday nights, but may join the Sunday noon group this weekend.
You are so wrongSpecialTater
May 9, 2003 11:48 AM
well almost. Everything's right but the name. email me at

tater (at) springmail (dot) com

For the life of me, I can't figure out anyone with the T.N. initials I've met here. But then again, I'm horrible with names.
I'm watching Life of Brian at the momentmickey-mac
May 9, 2003 1:12 PM
It never gets old. Would anybody else like to have a little giggle at the name of my friend, Bigus Dickus?
I need a new handle/screennamePaulCL
May 9, 2003 8:59 AM
It's my first name plus initials. Boring.

I would change it, but since I've been posting on this board for years with it, why change?? If you see PaulCL dissappear, that means I wrote something really stupid or inflammatory and want some anonymity. Paul
You mean like when I was grz mnky?OldEdScott
May 9, 2003 9:14 AM
Just KIDDING! I wish I were that witty.

Where IS old grz, by the way? The board is poorer without him.
haven't seen him recentlyJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 9:25 AM
but my blood pressure sure has been manageable.

though full of technical knowledge, i miss grzy like ditching a bad rash in a tender spot.

no offense intended, of course.

;)
Law and order...Lon Norder
May 9, 2003 9:00 AM
and no, I'm not in law enforcement. I forget exactly why I came up with the name. I wanted to use it once but in order to do so I had to register it. And now I'm automatically logged on as Lon Norder, so it sort of stuck.
Hah! I totally thought that was your real name! And yes,PseuZQ
May 9, 2003 9:11 AM
people sometimes call my house looking for Hugh Jass.
prank callsJS Haiku Shop
May 9, 2003 9:18 AM
(don't have a cow, man!)

Is anyone here Jass? A Hugh Jass?

Hey Magroin!! Pat Magroin!!

I need Hugginkiss!! Amanda Hugginkiss!!

Anyone seen Mike Rotch Lately?

Phone for McCrackin, Phil McCrackin!!

Is anyone here Wayne King

Isabelle Ringing? Hey Isabelle Ringing

Everyone put down your glasses, Ivana Tinkle

Is a Bath here? Guys! Guys! Anita Bath

Klosoff Wanted? Can I have Oliver Klosoff?

O'Problem? Do I have a Bea O'Problem?

Butts! Butts! I wana Seymour Butts!!

Is Daily Here? Oy!! I.P Daily!!

Say Magroin!! Who's Holden Magroin

Anyone here an Al Coholic

Pidass please! A Stu Pidass is wanted on the phone!!

Excuse Me Strap!A Jock Strap please
Hah! I totally thought that was your real name! And yes,PseuZQ
May 9, 2003 9:34 AM
people sometimes call my house looking for Hugh Jass.
mine's boring: bicycle + 2=feb+68= yr of birth (nm)bicycle268
May 9, 2003 9:00 AM
I look like a frog...kermit
May 9, 2003 9:00 AM
No really, I do. People think I look like Kermit the Frog when I smile and my favourite colour is green.

kermit (It ain't easy being green!)
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmJuanmoretime
May 9, 2003 9:00 AM
My wife is Mexican and frequently calls me Juan or Juanito, plus some of her family that struggles with english feel more comfortable with Juan. BTW my name is John. So, it's sort of a word play of One more time. Retarded, yes, plus it sounds better than what my daughters call me, Older than dirt!
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmthe bull
May 9, 2003 2:22 PM
I thought it was "want more time"ie. to ride our bike!
No, but I do like your version! nmJuanmoretime
May 9, 2003 3:58 PM
The love of my life, my '02 (now '03) Colnago Master X-lite, nmMXL02
May 9, 2003 9:03 AM
Noveread = N over'ead = In Over Head (as a racer)noveread
May 9, 2003 9:06 AM
My first handle was Wannabe, but changed that to Noveread once I started actually racing.

Noveread
'94 grad of FL State University (nm)94Nole
May 9, 2003 9:10 AM
Hey!Fattrax
May 9, 2003 12:33 PM
I'm a 94 FSU grad too. What did you study? BTW, my handle comes from when I use to race mountain bikes. Go figure, mountain biking in Florida. Not a lot of climbing, but wet limestone is slicker than snot and can be as shard as a knife. Almost lost my bike in a sinkhole because I underestimated the stuff on a turn.
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmtarwheel
May 9, 2003 9:10 AM
Tarheel is a nickname for someone from North Carolina, where I live. One of the local bike clubs is called the Tarwheels and I always liked the name. My other screen name is bianchi boy, when I'm using my other computer, named after my beloved Bianchi Nuovo Record that I rode for many years. I've tried to change the bianchi boy handle, since I no longer ride a bianchi, but can't figure out how to do it.
Plymouth GTXgtx
May 9, 2003 9:10 AM
greatest muscle car ever built IMO. Built from 1967 to 1971. Thanks to Dino on this board I now have the next best thing, a 1966 Plymouth Satellite.
agreed, the greatestmadstork
May 9, 2003 9:37 AM
When I was 10-13 years old, I thought I would own a GTX some day. Hemi or 440, didn't matter. Ah, horsepower!

Don't know if you recall the Sox & Martin drag race team. They were from my hometown, Burlington, NC.
agreed, the greatestgtx
May 9, 2003 9:57 AM
definitely know of the Sox & Martin, though their glory days were a bit before my time.

You should get a GTX. There are always a few nice ones on eBay.

http://listings.ebaymotors.com/aw/plistings/list/all/category6412/index.html
daydreaming now... thanks for the link! (nm)madstork
May 9, 2003 10:16 AM
1967 Chevelle SS 396 imo!nmthe bull
May 9, 2003 2:33 PM
production techniquefiltersweep
May 9, 2003 9:17 AM
I have a home studio and compose/produce music- a filtersweep is sweeping the cutoff frequency of a filter for a cool (albeit cliched these days) effect. I've done work on the Spiderman DVD, the Matrix DVD, the upcoming Matrix DVD, etc... but so far I'm one of those no-names on the companion material- not in the actual soundtrack of the movie (rather the director's notes, etc...).
1st initial, middle initial, last name (nm)jtferraro
May 9, 2003 9:18 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmTUT2222
May 9, 2003 9:22 AM
I guess there are 2221 sob's before me that wanted to use TUT. :)
Independent Fabrications...and my dog can really climb trees..nmIFTreedog
May 9, 2003 9:23 AM
first name and random number, borin' I know..nm.jeff27
May 9, 2003 9:23 AM
hgih school nicknamemadstork
May 9, 2003 9:31 AM
Couldn't come up with anything better at the time I signed on here. The source is an old high school football coach who said I resembled Ted Hendricks, an NFL defensive player, whose nickname was the Mad Stork. All arms and legs.
Initials of first and last name...JL
May 9, 2003 9:34 AM
John Lauber. Goes back to college where everyone would call me JL. Fairly unoriginal, but it works and it wasn't taken when I registered :)

Happy riding.

John
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmhumbert
May 9, 2003 9:38 AM
From Humbert Humbert, one of the central characters in my favorite novel, Lolita. The name is purposely anonymous sounding, which can be a good quality for a screen name.
Have you ever heard the expression "Naked as a..."jaybird
May 9, 2003 9:51 AM
Actually it was my nickname in high school. My first name is Jay...
KG 361. D'oh! Do I need to explain?nmKG 361
May 9, 2003 9:53 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmScreaming Barfy
May 9, 2003 9:53 AM
From one of my favorite descriptive mounatineering terms (my "other" sport). It's what happens when the blood finally rushes back into your hands when you're ice climbing. Named so because typically two things happen: you scream because of the pain and sometimes actually barf because it hurts so bad.

Much better than my former handle of KJMATL, just initials and city.
was "spirit of fennel" ... now .. duh! NmSpirito
May 9, 2003 9:55 AM
bigrider with pridebigrider
May 9, 2003 9:59 AM
I chose bigrider because I am 6'2" 240lbs. Not that I am huge but in the biking world I am an anomalie. I like to announce my weight prior to hill climbing rides for two reasons:

bragging rights if I get up the hill first
an excuse if I get up the hill last

I live outside a beautiful town in Maryland that lost being capital of the United States by one vote? Been riding fixed to work and gears at lunchtime and weekends.
A team name!Rich_Racer
May 9, 2003 10:03 AM
I entered a race with a friend a couple of years back and he did the entry form. He had to put down a team name, but we always just rode together and weren't really part of a team. So he called the team Rich's Racers - as my name is Richard. I joined here soon after and just used it again! I'm certainly not rich!
Trek 1000, lowest price for a road bike....Lowend
May 9, 2003 10:00 AM
Great beginner road bike for a die hard Mt biker. Probably cost less then most of your wheel sets.
First name: Hal, HAL9000 was taken.HAL9010
May 9, 2003 10:00 AM
I'm a "real" Hal. It's not short for Harold or Henry or any other. Therefore I felt "entitled" to HAL9000, though taken.
Yes I am older than the movie 2001 where HAL9000 came from(I was first).

Additional stupid rambling info; Mom's name is Sally (SAL). SAL9000 is the name a parallel computer left on earth running the same program as HAL9000 on Discovery. But SAL9000 didn't try to off anybody. Blah Blah Blah...

Besides my parents were broke when I was born and could only afford three letters for my first name. That's my story and I'm sticking with it.

And my maternal Grandfather was also a "Real" Hal.

Hal
Daisey, Daisey... ;-) nmDougSloan
May 9, 2003 10:02 AM
Dave, Please don't do that. I can feel my mind going... nmHAL9010
May 9, 2003 10:09 AM
open the pod bay doors, Hal. nmDougSloan
May 9, 2003 10:26 AM
was "spirit of fennel" ... now .. duh! NmSpirito
May 9, 2003 10:03 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmSadlebred
May 9, 2003 10:06 AM
Sadlebred is a take on the American Saddlebred horse breed that I showed while I was growing up. On IRC waaaay back when (I've been online since about 90), you could only have a nick that had nine letters. I took out one of the d's. Hence, Sadlebred.

http://www.sadlebred.com
Businessmoneyman
May 9, 2003 10:10 AM
investment advisory / financial planning.

$$
let your minds wander...funknuggets
May 9, 2003 10:11 AM
nothing really that intriguing. Went through this phase about six years back where I got into James Brown music and thought he would make a fantastic mascot for a fantasy football team... so tried to get creative and named the team the Funknuggets and it just kinda stuck. All my teams to this day have the name and I was really REALLY miffed when I signed onto a new site the other day and they said the name was taken... aarrrrgggghhhh.

chris
My personal favorite screen name (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
May 9, 2003 10:33 AM
nickname from long agowonderdog
May 9, 2003 10:11 AM
my last name is Wondergem, and my high school tennis coach started calling me Wonderdog. there have been many variations on my last name over the years....Wonderbread, Wonderbra, WonderWoman, and the hilarious list goes on and on.....

wonderdog
chose to "see" the joy in life....nmseejoy
May 9, 2003 10:14 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmSpoiledBikeDaddy
May 9, 2003 10:19 AM
I got into cycling on a regular basis only in the past year, and I've been on a 12-month bike/gear/clothes/tools/gadgets/etc buying spree. My five -year-old daughter started yelling "SPOILED BIKE DADDY!" every time I came home with some new bike thing.

I think her mother put her up to it... ;)
that is hilarious. nmbill
May 9, 2003 12:28 PM
Schwinn Continental, first 10 speed nmContinental
May 9, 2003 10:34 AM
5900 and the name of a particular bus (nm)TrekFurthur
May 9, 2003 10:39 AM
Hood River Valley, Oregon -- where I live and play (nm)hrv
May 9, 2003 10:44 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmridingthegyro
May 9, 2003 10:45 AM
To get myself going and alert on my early morning rides, I had a routine of starting my rides thinking that I may end up as road kill before the morning is out and that I'm riding the gyroscope.
Skidoo, skidoo 22...= a college roomate's mantra (n/m)Skidoo
May 9, 2003 10:45 AM
By chance a Gator?(nm)SpecialTater
May 9, 2003 11:53 AM
Spunout because Michael was taken. nmSpunout
May 9, 2003 11:02 AM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmMisJG
May 9, 2003 11:06 AM
MisJG. I was trying to come up with a screen name for AOL years ago when I first went "on-line". If anyone has tried that, they know that just about anything you can come up with is taken. Well, it must have been around 1995 because Jerry Garcia had just passed away and I was missing him. So, contrary to popular belief, I am not a woman ('miss'), I just 'miss Jerry Garcia' or 'MisJG'. I put that into the AOL screen name thingee almost as a joke and it took it. Been MisJG ever since. Glad to say I've moved on since then. I no longer use AOL!! (I still miss JG)
Raising Arizona.lonebikeroftheapocalypse
May 9, 2003 11:10 AM
The bounty hunter, Leonard Smalls. I loved the scene where he's riding through the desert in H.I.'s dream and things are catching on fire as he rides by. Plus I ride alone about 99% of the time.
Great movie.Seen it a dozen times! (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
May 9, 2003 11:39 AM
Randall "Tex" Cobbmickey-mac
May 9, 2003 12:40 PM
Someone needs to give him another good role.
Special from Specialilzed Allez EliteSpecialTater
May 9, 2003 11:17 AM
and Tater from my high school nick "Taterhead" because I lacked brains/common sense. I've been Tater on message boards (mainly college football) since 1998 and Tater was taken here.
Did a lower-case 'c' by mistake & dunno how to change it (nm)cory
May 9, 2003 11:38 AM
GF in CA... I'm in TX... Darn labor market keeps me Dreamin'CaliforniaDreaming
May 9, 2003 11:38 AM
Professor of psychology....nmPsyDoc
May 9, 2003 11:59 AM
Professor of psychology....nmMisJG
May 9, 2003 12:48 PM
I always thought you were a gynecologist
LOL!PsyDoc
May 9, 2003 1:49 PM
No, not quite. If I was OBGYN, then I would not have as much time to ride as my schedule typically allows. Because I live in South Georgia, I can ride year round without too much worry about the cold. Although, my stress level might be lower as an OBGYN.
My neighborhood (Allston) in Boston. nminallston
May 9, 2003 12:03 PM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmpsychic_egg
May 9, 2003 12:14 PM
in the army, those that had trouble w/ my last name took to calling me 'ebb'. at some point someone said, "there goes what's-his-name and his side-kick ebb!"...due to a speech impediment (or possibly large amounts of alcohol) it came out "what-this-name and the psychic egg". it stuck. next thing i know everyone wants to know if i can see the future or if i really like eggs....
Or, can you see the future of eggs :) ...nmPsyDoc
May 9, 2003 1:51 PM
Love to ride + part of last name. Or is it...bikenbo
May 9, 2003 12:18 PM
bike + body odor? (I commute a lot) I haven't decided which fits best.
My prison nicknamemickey-mac
May 9, 2003 12:39 PM
Actually, a guy I used to work with gave me the nickname based on my real name: Mike McMahon. I got the nickname after my time in prison. ;-)
Were youFez
May 10, 2003 1:57 PM
a giver or a receiver in the joint?

There aren't that many in the joint that like cycling. Did you fit in?
Hmmmmickey-mac
May 11, 2003 7:27 PM
I guess the ;-) at the end of the message was too subtle to show that I was joking about being in prison.
re: please explain your handle / screen name.comedy-tragedy
May 9, 2003 1:01 PM
I been acting for fun for the last 17 years. Mostly comedy, but a few dramatic things too.

It's also kinda like life. Jimmy Buffet got it dead right, "If we didn't laugh we'd all go insane."

Oops, to late...........
Len J............Len J
May 9, 2003 1:02 PM
Blame my Dad. I'm the first born son of the first born son going back 37 generations and they all have been named Leonard.......My Father would have come back from the grave if my son was named anything else. (He's the 38th).

Re Screen name.......I yam who I yam.....so I thought why hide behind an anonomous name.

What you see is what you get.

Len
first name 'steve' - lastname z-something (nm)steve-z
May 9, 2003 1:04 PM
I ride a Tommasini Sintesi. I know. ZZZZZZZZZZZZ nmSintesi
May 9, 2003 1:14 PM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmmackgoo
May 9, 2003 1:18 PM
WhenI was a kid, did alot of dope, did alot of acid, did alot of drinking. When you do that you do alot of stupid things. My last name is MacKenzie, nick name Mack. When I did those stupid things one of the guys I hung around with would say "oh magoo, you've done it again." So I've resurected it and modified it, mackgoo.
Heck the other nick name was smack, I like this one better.
Two Treks why else? nmTREKY
May 9, 2003 1:27 PM
As has been mentioned before...Ahimsa
May 9, 2003 1:52 PM
...with regard to my screen name:

Ahimsa is a Jainist term that transaltes roughly to "non-hurting". The idea in a nutshell of simplicity is to harm nothing and no one as you walk through life. Some Jains are very serious about this and go to great lengths to avoid harming anything, including carefully sweeping insects out of their path and eating fruit after it has fallen from the tree.

I respect the concept of going to great lengths to avoid leaving undue harm in my wake.

As for me, it is a reminder. I have been...ah....less than nice in the past. It serves to remind me that life is too short and to try not to allow myself to get wrapped up in the anger that leads to loss of control and thus serenity. Especially when riding, or in this case, chatting with others.

I'm still working on it though ; )

Cheers!

A. (My old screen name might have been Misanthrope)
JS= Initials, 5280 = feet in a Mile, Denver = Mile High City (nm)js5280
May 9, 2003 2:13 PM
My ole neighbors started calling me the bull.the bull
May 9, 2003 2:28 PM
I was born in May.Taurus (bull)
last name Gabele(gay-BULL)
There was some gangster named Tommy the Bull.
My name is Tommy it kinda stuck after my neighbors saw this gangster on documentry on tv.

Also I talk allot of Bulls^&*
Thats a good one huh!
I love gear and toys and stuffshamelessgearwhore
May 9, 2003 3:47 PM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmkoala
May 9, 2003 3:56 PM
The receptionist at work called me koala, saying I looked like the fuzzy beasts. Here I thought I was cute.
Mine's kinda dirty. Have to look inside.bnlkid
May 9, 2003 6:24 PM
Ok. It's not really dirty. I was a huge fan of Barenaked Ladies back in the early 90's when no one had heard of them. So when I started using the internet I decided on BNL and put a kid after it.(Even though I am well into my 30's now). So there you have it...bnlkid
I live on the Upper Westside in NYC (nm)Uprwstsdr
May 9, 2003 7:18 PM
Is an explanation really required?!?! (nm)Iwannapodiumgirl
May 9, 2003 7:27 PM
NoCharlie Amerique
May 9, 2003 7:36 PM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmKeeponTrekkin
May 9, 2003 7:58 PM
Came to me as a juxtaposition of: 1) encouragement to keep riding; 2) my Trek and 3) the old expression "Keep on Truckin". Probably does a better job of betraying my age than demonstrating my wit.
e-ticket. best ride at disneyland. nmE-ticket
May 9, 2003 8:53 PM
I can spell it. nmACE-
May 9, 2003 9:42 PM
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmEl Caballito
May 9, 2003 9:43 PM
Here goes...El Caballito, Spanish for horse. My wife sort of thinks I look like a horse. She also thinks when Im on my bike it looks like a horse. Or maybe that Im hung like a horse;)
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmaliensporebomb
May 9, 2003 9:58 PM
I'll try to explain:

http://www.zebox.com/aliensporebomb

and

http://www.mp3.com/aliensporebomb
Lance, yeah that one,...lancezneighbor
May 10, 2003 12:11 AM
has some land on my street. Ok, so he doesn't live there but I see him ride on my street about once a year. It's pretty cool to pass by him when I'm just riding around the block.
re: please explain your handle / screen name. nmyellowspox
May 10, 2003 3:15 AM
yellowspox for the Spinergy wheels on my Cannodale
I think my name says it all!!! (nm)Rusty McNasty
May 10, 2003 5:51 AM
You are a red haired, filthy Irishman? nmSintesi
May 10, 2003 7:11 AM
Live Steam - I also love trains :O) nmLive Steam
May 10, 2003 2:49 PM
52-16 = gearing on SS = single speed (nm)52-16SS
May 11, 2003 7:24 PM