RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


USED or NEW???? EVERYBODY join in !!(14 posts)

USED or NEW???? EVERYBODY join in !!Nomatt
May 7, 2003 8:01 PM
i am buying my FIRST road bike, and i cant decide whethet to go with a new or used bike. we have a great used bike store (they claim it is the largest in the US), but i still keep thinking i should just get a new bike that will last me a long time without having to upgrade any time soon, and surely wont have any problems with it. what are all your opinions? nice used, or cheap new? i am looking to spend aroud 350-600. thanks
re: USED or NEW???? EVERYBODY join in !!blakester
May 7, 2003 8:04 PM
Only that much money, you could hardly get anything at all new, I'd think you'd have to buy used. (I found what i wanted shopping at retail places, then got a $2,000 set up for under 1K on ebay, so used would be my recomendation regardless.
re: USED or NEW???? EVERYBODY join in !!slide13
May 7, 2003 8:08 PM
Go used.

New road bikes start at $600 for the low end and just go up from there. On the used market you will be able to get yourself a much nicer bike for your money. I would look for something with 105 componentry and in good shape. You should be able to pick up something like that for around $600 I would think.
USED if you are willing to look, you will find a jem eventuallyrussw19
May 7, 2003 8:22 PM
I just paid $600 (when you add shipping) for a Campy Super Record Eddy Merckx... assuming I don't get scammed off ebay. But I also work in a shop and will fully overhaul the bike once I get it. So the extra cost of labor and replacing cables and housing and bar tape and all that is a non-issue for me.

Russ
some added info . . . another question . . .Nomatt
May 7, 2003 8:33 PM
i know the bike store has some FUJI LEAGUE bikes for CHEAP! (they are only like 359 new ... even less used) but is this just TOO basic? it has shimano 2200 stuff. is this really bad? are there some features i should make SURE the bike i get has? how important are the following :

Non Down-tube shifters (like sora etc)
Threadless headset (what are advantages?)
??????
?????
??????

i know this stuff is sort of subjective, but i really dont want to get something TOO cheap that wont work well for me (rides of about 25 miles 3 or so times a week) i am really in a conundrum about this you are all very helpful. thanks.
Just curioius -- where is this used-bike dealer? (nm)mja
May 8, 2003 3:50 AM
Madison, WI. College City, so lots of trade-ins. . .Nomatt
May 8, 2003 10:43 AM
im PRETTY sure they call themselves the biggest used bike store in the US, or maybe it was just one of my dumb friends hehehe. but it is pretty huge, nice selection of older/newer/cheaper/more expensive road/hybrid/mountain/cruiser bikes. a big warehouse full. its called Budget Bicycle Center.
I purchased 1 new and 1 used in the last 3 yearsContinental
May 8, 2003 5:12 AM
I've been road cycling for about 30 yrs, so I had a good idea what I wanted. Bought a beater on Ebay 3 years ago. It served it's purpose and is now my fixed gear. I bought a new Fuji Finest steel for $450 last year at LBS. I have no regrets. I need at least a 64 cm frame and wanted STI and a triple. Got tired of waiting for something to come up on Ebay or local used bike store. There are many good quality new road bikes for 450-600, and you can choose what you want instead of settling for what's available. Sora works great for me. A 23 lb bike is light enough.
IMHO, go used.RickC5
May 8, 2003 5:15 AM
As long as you have the basic abilities to determine the overall condition of the frame and its components, and not buy something that's been ridden to death. At your price range, replacement of several worn-out components could come close to equaling the cost of the bike. Get help if you can't tell.

Yes, where is this "used bike shop" located.
My StoryScot_Gore
May 8, 2003 6:12 AM
I was a road rider in the 70's & 80's, didn't ride for a few years, then got a steel hard tail mountain bike and rode it for a few years. I decided to get back into road riding.

I figured my knowledge from the 70s & 80s would still serve me. You know, go to the LBS and look for the good Sun Tour stuff, things like that. Well, I soon learned that I needed to re-learn most everything I ever knew. I spent at least 3 months learning about road bikes (it was winter in Minnesota, so the road was not calling like it is now).

How'd I learn, I lurked on this board mostly. I learned quite a bit here but also picked up:
1) On-line fit calculators - the good, the bad, and the ugly
2) Where to find Sheldon Brown's stuff
3) Where to find the strong opinions held by the folks over at Rivendell and read it.
4) An artical about the lay mans guide to frame materials.
5) Where to shop for used bikes
5) Bunch of other stuff.

After that process I felt confident enough to be able to buy a used road bike. If I hadn't been able to make that investment in the learning curve, then I should have relied on the competence of my LBS.

I ended up picking 3 models of bikes, learning the fit for those 3 models for me, and waiting and watching for a used bike to surface at a fair to good price. When I saw it, I bought it.

Given my state of mind at the time I could have never invested in the learning curve in the spring, and watch the best days of summer go by with no bike, but if you can go used, if you can't buy new.

HTH

Scot
My .02 cents - If only looking to spend $350-600, go used. (nm)jtferraro
May 8, 2003 7:12 AM
go usedboyd2
May 8, 2003 7:24 AM
The biggest problem is that you have to know exactly what you want. I shopped for a road bike for about 8 months before I had sucess on e-bay. And wouldn't you know it the guy was right around the corner. He let me ride it and I bought it on the spot for cash. Even a blind hog finds a nut every now and then!

You will have to spend alot of time riding bikes at your LBS to narrow down the search. You will get far more for your money, but you have to take the risk. Like one poster above I rebuild all my own bikes, so labor is not an issue. I spent 8-10 hours rebuilding my last used bike, and it only had a few hundred miles on it.
re: USED or NEW???? EVERYBODY join in !!peter1
May 8, 2003 8:32 AM
For your first bike I'd think that fit would be the most important thing, esp. if you've got 600 to spend. That's the peril with buying used, sight unseen. But since you have a good used bike store, no worries. Since bikes seem to depreciate (unless it's rare or extremely desirable) down to about a third of their value after two or three years, you can't go wrong buying used.

Just make sure the fit is as close to perfect as you can get. I'd think the store would swap out stems, seatposts and bars etc., since its in their interest to make you happy...as for components life, as long as it shifts and brakes relatively crisply, don't worry. Chains and derailleurs are pretty cheap. Chekc the wheels, though. If they're baadly dented or out of round, I wouldnt buy the bike. As someone else noted, they are one of the parts that can easily cost as much as your bike!

You shouldn't have to upgrade for a long time if youchoose wisely. I would say just focus on the frame and wheels, and general fit, of course.
THANKS EVERYBODY. i have a few more questions though, sorry :)Nomatt
May 8, 2003 10:55 AM
I should go with used, apparently. my only worry is how will i know if a used bike is priced correctly????? i dont know enough to judge how much a bike is worth in such and such a condition. its easy to go see the MSRP on a manufacturers website and know you arent getting taken, but how do you know with used? Especially with bikes that are more than a few years old.
p.s.- they have some barely used Fuji Leagues that i believe are from this year or last year. is this bike just TOO basic? seems like it is a bargain even at its retail price . . . heavy and has downtube shifters and shimano 2200 components, i know, but will it work well enough for me for a few years? for my 25 mile rides? thanks