RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?(38 posts)

What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?tigermilk
May 7, 2003 2:55 PM
Now before you say Colnago, there are some caveats:

1) The bike must be somewhat rare - how many Ferrari's do you see on the road compared to Vette's, Camaros, Civics, etc? The same should apply to the cycling world as well - no Treks, no Cannondales, and no Colnagos. Colnagos are the Porsches of bikes here in Houston - exotic feel without the scarcity.

2) The bike can't be the most expensive - Ferrari's are not the most expensive exotic out there. There's plenty of competition for highest priced car out there - Lambo, McClaren F1, the new Jag, Ferrari Enzo ... Clearly it must be in the top 5-10% of price, but by no means should it be the most expensive.

3) The bike can't be too rare - Ferrari produces some 2000-3000 cars a rear. Not a lot, but more than Lambourghini and other exotics, maybe even Lotus. No custom jobs or one-offs. Can be built by hand though.

4) Must have soul - when you drive a Ferrari, the sounds immerse you in the driving experience. The handling is like no other. The straight line acceleration may not be the best, but the machine corners like a dream and you and the car are one. Give me a bike like that.

So what would you pick? De Rosa, Pinnarello?
re: What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?The Human G-Nome
May 7, 2003 3:00 PM
well, since they already make a Ferrari Colnago, the question really isn't very relevant... it's called a CF3.
re: What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?tigermilk
May 7, 2003 3:12 PM
I said BRAND. There are too many other Colnagos out there to truly qualify as an exotic. Sure the CF3 is rare, but it's still a Colnago. When Ford releases the new GT40, while a darn nice car, it's still a Ford. Give me an exotic with rarity, price, and handling.
Youre just too damn silly!the bull
May 7, 2003 3:34 PM
I thought I came up with some crazy @#$% but this is silly!
What is the flav-o-rich of bikes!ahh Litespeed cause they got the milk!And I was listing to the Bose of Ben and Jerrys
Ahh---supertomatos!yeah thats it ahhhhh kraft maccarroni is the independet fabrications of fast noodles!
re: What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?The Human G-Nome
May 7, 2003 3:34 PM
Give me an exotic with rarity, price, and handling.>>>

there's about 20 of them. the point of my post is you can't ask "what's the Ferrari of bicycles?" when Ferrari already makes a bicycle. that's like asking "what's the Honda of motorcycles?" but for the sake of your pole, i'll throw Fondriest in the hat.
well, Ferrari is owned by FIAT...gtx
May 7, 2003 3:39 PM
and Enzo is dead, so is your question what high end bike company has a dead founder and is owned by a huge bike company? Does it have to be Italian, too?
who would be the aston martin of bikes?colker
May 7, 2003 3:53 PM
forget ferrari. except for few models, it's a bad taste car.
who would be the aston martin of bikes?The Human G-Nome
May 7, 2003 4:05 PM
ya, but Vic Ferrari from Taxi was pretty tough.
Bianchi !Indurain 03
May 7, 2003 5:26 PM
How many other bicycle companies can boast the history that Bianchi can? It is synonymus with excellence and tradition just like Ferrari. Bianchi is instantly recognizable by the color celeste, much like Ferrari is with red. Other Italian manufacturers are nice but the "Ferrari of the bicycle world" is without a doubt Bianchi.
re: What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?lanterne rouge
May 7, 2003 3:42 PM
My pick would be..........Fondriest (particularly the Top Carbon model).

1) Rarity........I think it would qualify. Colnago's are plentiful in Southern California also, whereas you rarely see Fondriest, especially Top Carbons. If you did I am sure it would draw a crowd as do Ferraris.

2)Price. Definitely in the top 5 to 10%. Enough said.

3) I have actually seen Fondriest's out here in LA LA land, even a Top Carbon.

4)Can't speak from personal experience.........yet. But I have heard they offer an incredible ride. Made from F1 carbon in Imola so the material is exotic, maybe it translates to the ride.

P.S. My second pick would be Cyfac. (I have one of those and they ride incredibly well. Handling and acceleration, especially, are out of this world.) Comparable in all other areas also, even though it is made from aluminum and carbon which is ubiquitous these days.
MootsFender
May 7, 2003 3:46 PM
Only one choice... Moots. How many of you have seen one on the road? Having lived in SoCal and NorCal (where I currently reside) have only seen 1.
Talk about rarity!
WHO GOVES A RAT'S ASS!!!!!!!!!!Lazywriter
May 7, 2003 4:02 PM
Seriously, I have never seen such an elaborate multi-part question on such a ridiculous topic. No offense, but you have a lot of time on your hands to dissect that issue so extensively.
WHO GIVES A RAT'S ASS!!!!!!!!!! (nm)Lazywriter
May 7, 2003 4:02 PM
Mootslonghorn
May 7, 2003 10:11 PM
Great call. I've been drooling over a Vamoots for a while now.
taken this picture last week....PeterRider
May 7, 2003 11:43 PM
nice rear suspension !

Pierre
Calfee? nmopencl
May 7, 2003 4:11 PM
nm
None.elviento
May 7, 2003 4:22 PM
Because the customer supplies the motor. In that sense, no bike is like a farrari.

Besides, I have not driven a Ferrari, but a rich friend says it's not really a great car adn 99% value is in the name.
Pegoretti (nm)terry b
May 7, 2003 5:00 PM
It's not a bout the f--- bike!MrDan
May 7, 2003 5:00 PM
It's the rider. Got a few in mind, but most recent is a guy that whipped a close call with cancer, and is a hard-riding guy.
-D
Good call, but here's one anyway...rwbadley
May 7, 2003 6:01 PM
Only one made. Like a Ferrari, I wish I were worthy...

RW
It also has to win races!!. Pinarello would be my choice nmBruno S
May 7, 2003 5:47 PM
With a wink and a nod, Pegoretti claims (or, has others claimbill
May 8, 2003 7:43 AM
for him) that his bikes have won "every" major race. The strongest rumor may be that Ulrich's Pinarellos actually have been rebadged Pegorettis. Pegoretti started building at Pinarello, and the theory is that he continued building Ulrich's bikes after Pegoretti left Pinarello. Now that Ulrich is riding for Coast, who knows?
Eddy Merckx MX Leader nmbill61
May 7, 2003 6:11 PM
I just bought the Ferrari 250 Daytona GT California of Bikes!russw19
May 7, 2003 7:01 PM
Check this out... seller takes credit cards so that should protect against fraud... but this was way too sweet to pass up...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3606630701&category=7298

My first bike was Campy Super Record Derailleurs, but the rest was a mix of off-brand stuff. But my first bike was a Bianchi Super Corsa and ever since I owned it I always wished I could have afforded the full Super Record Eddy Merckx the shop had.... so I just fulfilled a 16 year old childhood dream. I hope it looks as good when it gets here as it does in the pictures... otherwise I will just have to restore it. I really don't plan to ride it that much.. just look at it hanging on my wall like the piece of art that it is!

I wonder what the heck I am going to do 10 years from now when I have a real mid-life crisis?

Russ
COOL BIKE! You gotta ride that beauty! (nm)carpe_podium
May 7, 2003 7:50 PM
COOL BIKE! You gotta ride that beauty! (nm)russw19
May 7, 2003 7:54 PM
Like if I owned a Ferrari... it would get pulled out of the garage to make an appearence or two at the local club ride, but it's more for show than for go.

Give me about 10 minutes and I will post some pics of my everyday bike...

Russ
My everyday ride....russw19
May 7, 2003 8:36 PM
I thought I uploaded the pic already, but it didn't show up... guess I messed it up... here's try number two.

My Pinarello Paris. Campy Record 10 shifters and derailleurs, FSA Crank and BB, American Classic 420's, Moots Post, Avocet saddle, Deda Newton stem, Magic Bar, King headset. I have Dura-Ace brake calipers on it now while I wait for my Cat Claw brakes.

Russ
hmmm...oooh...aaahh!colker
May 8, 2003 8:00 AM
fast. it screams speed.
nice!gtx
May 7, 2003 9:32 PM
yeah, that was the bike I wanted back in the day, too (I really wanted a Molteni one). Nice work and nice price. That's my size, too, wonder how I missed it. I wonder if that is the geometry he used in the 80s--before he switched all the bikes over to the century geometry. I bought a Merckx Century 653 frame a few years ago and built up with 7 speed DA as a rain bike. They are cool bikes!
nice!<--- check this one out then....russw19
May 7, 2003 9:58 PM
I think you missed it cuz I kept this one to myself! I didn't want my online friends here at RBR trying to get MY bike! There is another one on there pretty cheap from a guy in Jacksonville Florida. It's a Columbus TSX frame... Shimano 8 speed Dura-Ace (non-STI) Also a 57...it doesn't say in the auction, but I emailed the guy and he sent me the specs...

Here's the URL if you are interested...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3606867691&category=7298

The owner's name is Ray if you want to email him questions.

He has one negative on his ebay feedback, but it's obvious retaliation feedback if you read what he and the other person wrote... looks like he bought a watch and it was broken so he left neutral feedback and the seller left negative in return.

I just hope this seller is legit for my bike though... it's a helluva deal. Someone else just sold a Merckx 10th aniversary frame for $735 and I got a full Super Record Bike for less.

I think I may have mine repainted by someone like Joe Bell in the next few years... I seem to remember Merckx frames as having suspect paintjobs.

I will let everyone know when I get this...after I clean it up I will post more pics.

Later,
Russ
nice!<--- check this one out then....gtx
May 7, 2003 10:20 PM
Merckx frames have very decent paint jobs--at least for a Euro rig. ;) And I think Joe Bell would charge $500. I'd leave it.

That paint scheme on the other bike is not my style. And it's too small. Sounds like it's a 55 (the seller doesn't seem to know exactly--not a good sign).

To be honest now that I finally got one I kind of got the whole Merckx thing out of my system. I think I'll still with US built steel from here on out.
Russ, you bastid!!!JS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2003 5:16 AM
man oh man, i was droolin' over that one yesterday. nice catch!!! enjoy, and give us a pictoral and ride report when it arrives.

niiiiiiice!
re: What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?wielerpret
May 8, 2003 1:43 AM
There are a few candidates but some don't fit all the criteria. Over here in Europe other rules may apply. I like to think of my carbon Trek as a Ferrari or at least a Porsche, and my red Richard Sachs as a Rolls Royce of bikes. Pricewise I don't think I'm too far beside the mark this side of the pond.
Italian? Red? Carbon? Rare? Soul? Apart from the abovementioned Pegoretti (no carbon?) and De Rosa there are Tommasini and Masi. (Pinarello? and) Bianchi also produce for the lower end of the market...
Race winners depend on sponsorship which is usu. too expensive for the smaller brands.
Good riding. Luke. Amsterdam. www.iwaarden.com
Pinarello Prince SL gets my vote..........ATLien
May 8, 2003 5:12 AM
My reasoning according to your rating system?

1.) The Prince SL is brand new, so I haven't seen too many, but the standard Prince always draws a crowd. That's rare enough.

2.) It's definitely at the top end of bikes as far as costs, but it's not so ridiculous that it's unobtainable.

3.) Pinarello makes enough of these so that it's not "too rare." Ridden by multiple pro-teams (Fassa Bortolo, Telekom, Banesto), much as Ferrari is still driven by several F1 teams, so it's functional too.

4.) Soul? Giovanni Pinarello gave up his spot in the Giro to focus on making bikes back in the 1952, and the frames are still hand made in old-world Italy. As far as riding/handling, the reviews speak for themselves: unparalleled performance.

And it's a damn fine looking bike!!
TommasiniTommasini
May 8, 2003 8:05 AM
Exclusive - available stock or custom order - top of the line materials, construction, and exceptional finish quality.

This recent arrival is one of the 4 customs I have ordered over the years.
beauty! nmJS Haiku Shop
May 8, 2003 8:37 AM
re: What brand is the Ferrari of bicycles?Rob Sal
May 8, 2003 9:51 AM
I would still say that Colnago is the Ferrari of bikes, just as Ducati is the Ferrari of motorbikes. Yes Colnagos are more common than some owners would like but they all still seem to turn heads.

That's not to say Colnagos are the BEST bikes just as Ferrari are not the BEST cars.

But just as Testa Rossas (and now the Enzo) are featured in feature on bedroom walls the world over so must plenty of Colnago creations of the past, be it a plain old Sarroni red steel thing, or an Arabesque (which featured on my wall in my formative years!!) through the C35 (love it or hate it!) to the current CF3.

Just the logo is all that is needed to identify the brand to cyclists the world over (just like the prancing horse in the car world).
RaySport ..nm..pben
May 8, 2003 11:08 AM