RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Do centuries ever get any easier?(31 posts)

Do centuries ever get any easier?tarwheel
May 7, 2003 5:11 AM
I ride a lot of 50-60+ mile rides, but generally only about 1-2 centuries a year. I really like metric length rides, but I can't honestly say that I've ever really "enjoyed" a century. Sunday I rode my first century since last June and I was reminded again why they're not as fun as shorter rides. In my area, most of the "A group" cyclists take off like it's a race and drop everyone who can't maintain a 20+ mph average. That leaves most of the "slower" cyclists riding solo or in small groups. I have no trouble keep an 18-19+ average on long rides, but can't hang with the 20+ crowd. In this particular ride, I was lucky to link up with another cyclist riding about my pace. We finished the 105-mile ride at a 17.5 mph pace, which wasn't bad considering the hilly route and persistent headwinds from the 40-mile point to the end. In a paceline, we easily could have averaged 1-2 mph faster.

I have a few questions for those who ride centuries more frequently:
-- Does it get much easier if you ride more of them, say one a month?
-- Do you use a different saddle? My Koobi saddle has always been comfortable on rides up to 75 miles, but it had me squirming all over the place on the last 30 miles on the century. I think I would have to install a Brooks saddle if I rode centuries more often.
-- Do most cyclists treat organized centuries like races, or is that just the trend in this area?
-- Do most cyclists opt for the metric length rather than full century when given a choice? That seems to be the trend here.

Finally, my hat is off to you guys like JS Haiku and Dale Bingham riding brevets. Judging from the way I felt at mile 105, I can't imagine riding a 300 K or longer route. Or guys like MB1 and Miss M who ride centuries every week. I honestly don't know how your legs ever recover.
check your food intake......cdale02
May 7, 2003 5:34 AM
I'd say centuries are a a combination of mental outlook, caloric intake and fitness in that order.

Don't discount the mental outlook. i.e. at mile fifty, don't think of having just completed a 50 mile ride, think of jsut starting a 50 mile ride. This can help avoid the bail-out factor. Also try to set a goal (realistic time) and keep a mindset that you will be out there for that long.

Make sure your are eating and drinking enough on your ride. One thing that really helped my longer rides was eating enough. I can do a metric without worrying too much about calories, but when I do a century or more, I feel much better during and after the ride.

This really came to my attention durring my first Ironman training and race. In the bike portion of the race I ate one Powerbar on each hour, and a power gel on the half hour..... at mile hundred, I had ridden the fastest century of my life.... with no stops.

As for saddles.... that's a personal preference. I had used a brooks in the 80's and now I am using the Flite on both of my road bikes. I have never had a major problem with any seat other than some initial soreness if my rear is not in shape from consistant riding.

As for treating an organized ride like a race.... to each his own, but usually cnturies are kind of social. I guess I've seen all kinds.... full team kits on $5000 bikes to mountain bikes to high wheelers...

Hope this helps..... don't forget the mental aspect.

John
more than 50% of this game is 90% mental.dzrider
May 7, 2003 6:26 AM
I find the best predictor of how much I enjoy century (and longer) rides is the percentage of time spent on the second half of the ride. The lower the better. The goal of negative splits is a real mental challenge. It takes an enormous amount of will power for me to resist the temptation to hang on with faster riders, but my experience is that ultimately I'm better off pulling slower riders at a pace that's easy for me than I am drafting faster riders.

Going out hard and struggling home sucks. Most of the riders you see are passing you. You drop one gear after another to keep spinning. Going out and riding very comfortably for the first half makes the whole ride much more enjoyable. You can catch people who are suffering and nothing lifts my spirits more than pulling another rider along for a few miles. Sometimes they recover enough to return the favor and when they do you have a friend for life.

I don't know whether doing them regularly makes it easier, I don't do them regularly.

I've use the same saddles since about 1984.

Others may choose to race, I don't and lose sight of those that do in the 1st few miles.

As the distance goes up the numbers tend to go down. Personally, I wouldn't drive more than a few miles to do a metric.

My unsolicited advice is kill your computer, go out nice and easy, eat and drink lots.
Take off your computerpitt83
May 7, 2003 6:44 AM
I ride the same organized century every year, Tiverton, RI. This year was the best I've ever had. My computer was out and I ahdn't bothered replacing it. Consequently, I didn't obsess about what my avg. speed, total distance, remaining distance, etc. were.

Beleive it or not, I simply rode my bike. Quite enjoyable and quite liberating.

Don't get overly analytical about every ride.
Can't answer your question, but....Iamhoosier
May 7, 2003 5:40 AM
you sound fustrated. I have to remind myself to look back sometimes to keep my spirits up.

Reason I can't answer is, just have my road bike for a little over a week with about 100 miles total logged. Have been riding hybrid for 3 yrs. The farthest I have ridden in one outing is 40 miles. And my average was no where near 18. So your performance looks great to me. I have to remind myself that when I took up riding 3 years ago I thought my first 10 mile ride was something. I have gotten better. Looking foward to my first metric and then my first century.

Say hi to me as you pass me! :-)
same boatterry b
May 7, 2003 5:47 AM
Like you, I really enjoy rides in the 40-60 mile range, a typical Saturday/Sunday combo. Rides like that leave me in pretty good shape to have a normal "remainder of the day."

Centuries though, at least for me cross over the boundary from nice Saturday ride to Death Trek. I do them, both solo and organized but they don't leave me feeling like I want to go home and plant Locust trees. Rather, I'm looking to relax after a 100+ ride.

To your questions:

-I think it's a matter of conditioning and what you get used to. Personally, I have absolutely no interest in building the base miles necessary to ride one or more per month. I ride about 6k miles per year now, and I am not willing to let cycling consume more than that percentage of my life. I imagine they would be easier if you ride them more frequently.

-Saddle - either a San Marco Regal or Avocet O2, my regular ones. Tried a Brooks and while it was comfotable I could not get over the looks and the weight. Either of those two work fine for me.

-Every organized Century I've been in has had a racing contingent. Look at El Tour de Tucson for example - it's been won the last 2 or 3 years by a member of USPS. Even the friendly little Santa Fe Century that I ride each year has a group that goes way off the front, and it's not even timed. When you get cyclists together, there is always a group that has something to prove. And, some people just like riding fast.

-Given a choice between metric and full, I will always choose metric for personal rides and full for organized rides. I won't bother driving, paying or entering something that's not beyond my regular weekend outing.

It's really all about a combination of your innate ability and motivation. I know my endurance and speed limits and I'm not willing to train to improve them. I like my bike and the time spent on it, but not to the detriment of the rest of my life. Maybe you're like me and you've found a niche that works. If not, spend more time riding, get a comfortable saddle and cut out other entertainments.
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?cyclopathic
May 7, 2003 5:53 AM
centuries and brevets are social LSD events and actually quite easy and enjoyable if you treat them as such. If you ride at comfortable 50% VO2Max load, avg ~13-17mph there's no problem with recovery. Instead 4-6hr hammering and suffering with following 3-4day recovery you get great training effect. That's the only way you can ride 2 centuries a weekend.

Problem is that on centuries and shorter brevets you get that racer type guys who think that blowing well organized paceline on every hill they see is a must.

My NJ 200k brevet a few weeks back started like that. Route follows local race routes it isn't easy but it isn't hard either. Advertised 127mi/8600' climbing with no sustained climbs just short/steep hills. We went as group with "leaders" putting crunch on every climb. Finally ~30mi into ride on 12% hill I decided to back off, let hammerheads go and ride sensitively. At the end of the day turned out I've finished ~1-1.5hr ahead of them.
my "easy" centuries are when...velocity
May 7, 2003 5:56 AM
I've done them as a group ride. When riding longer distances, the energy saved by riding in a paceline is REALLY noticeable. When I've done centuries solo, I've often felt beat at the end. Riding a 100 miles as a team, though, has felt like a solo metric century. Afterwards, I have the energy to have a normal, eventful evening.

I'd like to hear from the brevet-riding folk to see how they hydrate, how they feel at the end, and how they recover...
that's just it ...tarwheel
May 7, 2003 6:03 AM
I've never ridden a century with a paceline. I've always ridden them with substantial portions of the ride solo or just one riding partner. I know it would be much easier in a paceline, but it seems like most of the organized centuries turn into races where it's hard to find a paceline unless you're fast enough to hang with the 20+ group. I have ridden metrics in a paceline that were much easier than 40-50 mile solo rides.
club rides?velocity
May 7, 2003 7:43 AM
Do you ever do club rides? If there's a club in your area, it'd be worth it to hook up with a group ride that matches your overall goals. My spring training group rides this season have been with a slower A group than last year as my focus this year is to build endurance, have fun, and have a full season. In recent previous seasons, I've peaked too soon. After our rather late start this year, after initial metric century-type rides, our club rides have ranged from 70-100+ miles, and the terrain has gotten hillier and hillier. If you participate in something like this, perhaps you can then arrange to ride an organized century with some of these people?

And, have others said, eat breakfast and be fully hydrated for the start. During: hydration, hydration, eat (something light), hydration, hydration, hydration, a bite (energy bar? gel?) (did I say hydration?). Pace yourself. Enjoy the ride. Conserve your energy so that you have as much or more energy for the last 50 as the first 50.
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?JS Haiku Shop
May 7, 2003 5:59 AM
Tom,

Everything is relative to your conditioning. Many others might post the exact same message above (your original), except reduce all the mileage by 30%. For instance, "Do 50 mile rides ever get any easier? I've been riding 25 and 30 milers, but only 1-2 50+ milers per year, and never enjoy them." Another way to say it is one of my favorite anti-motivationals: "You don't rise to the level of your expectations; you fall to the level of your training." It's all what you're accustomed to riding--it's all relative to your "form".

I'm of the camp that believes to *complete* a long ride, do 1/2 the distance comfortably in training. This means you'll suffer on the target ride, and be sore and miserable afterwards, but complete it successfully. My long ride approaching in 3 weeks (600k, or ~370 miles) won't be prefaced with a 185-mile training ride. I don't have the time or inclination. But, I will ride as much as possible, and get mucho overall saddle time between now and then. 25-50 miles per weekday, 60-125 miles on saturdays, and ~40 miles on Sundays, with one day off per week, and then a slight taper the week before the ride.

In preparation for the series, I've been riding several 100+ mile rides per month, up to a 125-miler, plus ~16+ hours per week in the saddle. A long ride per week is necessary to sort out equipment, logistic, and nutritional issues. Hard riding (spirited group rides, intervals, hill work, bonzo fixed gear, etc.) is also useful in keeping an overall higher average speed, or staying with a faster group. The unfortunate thing about the faster folks on centuries is often inconsistency--they don't keep it steady on hills and through technical stuff, they jump, trying to thin the pack. It's no surprise that this is where many accidents happen.

Answers:

Does it get much easier if you ride more of them, say one a month?

Yes, but if you were to keep a long ride of 70-90+ miles once per week, you'd fare far better.

Do you use a different saddle? My Koobi saddle has always been comfortable on rides up to 75 miles, but it had me squirming all over the place on the last 30 miles on the century. I think I would have to install a Brooks saddle if I rode centuries more often.

My SM Regal does the trick for centuries and double metrics, but any longer and I'm looking for my B17N. There's no rule that says a Brooks or other saddle suitable for your rear for distance riding can't be ridden to the corner store or on a local 30-mile club run. More saddle time with a particular saddle also helps sort-out show stoppers.

Do most cyclists treat organized centuries like races, or is that just the trend in this area?

Most, no. Some, yes. Then there are those others who wish to sit in and make short work of the century, or at least of the first few miles. Dale Brigham said it: mindless aggression. If they want to race, they should go to a race. An organized century is not a race.

Do most cyclists opt for the metric length rather than full century when given a choice? That seems to be the trend here.

Of the two, I'd prefer a full century, if I'm paying for and driving to the event. Any less and--unless I have a vested interest--it's not worth the effort, time, or money. I can ride 60 from my front door and be home in ~3.5 hours. Same with a 100-miler, but in more time. What's the use in doing that for a fee, including a drive, and usually suffering poor organization and a large percentage of poor bike handlers or bad attitudes?

On training rides, I try to carry everything I'll need for the duration. I can get 125 miles without stopping to resupply. One of the draws of a century for me is the support (a recently modified outlook). I can ride from SAG to SAG to refill water and get a bite. This means I can ride light and enjoy the day and the company. For double metrics, double centuries, and longer, you don't typi
(the rest)JS Haiku Shop
May 7, 2003 6:00 AM
On training rides, I try to carry everything I'll need for the duration. I can get 125 miles without stopping to resupply. One of the draws of a century for me is the support (a recently modified outlook). I can ride from SAG to SAG to refill water and get a bite. This means I can ride light and enjoy the day and the company. For double metrics, double centuries, and longer, you don't typically find large groups with which to ride, and the support is either not as good (>125 miles, logistics=more difficult), or there isn't any (brevets).

To sum it up: Want to ride more? Ride more.

And, here's my training plan, which Kristin is yet to buy into:

Ride lots. Good? Ride more. Tired? Rest.

Doug, MB1, and other actual mileage junkies will have better info. I only play one on TV.

:) !

-J
ride more -- that always the answer, isn't it?tarwheel
May 7, 2003 6:20 AM
Wish I had the time, but 7-10 hours a week is about the most time I can devote to cycling except during my annual week-long cycle trip. The trouble with longer rides, for me, is finding riding partners. It is much harder riding distance solo than with a group, both mentally and physically. I rode 75 miles solo a couple weeks ago and was talking to myself by the end of the ride. The guys I ride with are not interested in going more than 35-50 miles generally, and I'm not fast enough to hang with the guys who ride longer distances. So I'm stuck with riding shorter distances or long solo rides. I've managed to add an extra 20 miles to my long weekend rides by cycling from home to the park where my buddies leave from on our usual 35-50 milers. You gotta like riding by yourself, it seems, to tackle longer rides unless you're fast.
ride more -- that always the answer, isn't it?JS Haiku Shop
May 7, 2003 6:36 AM
i'm not fast, but even if i were, that requirement is universal--you gotta like riding alone, to train for these long rides. then, on some of the long rides, you ride mostly alone. talking to and answering yourself is fine. if you start interrupting yourself, it's time to take a few days off.

fyi, the way i started riding longish distances was to start commuting 15 miles each way to the "social" ride start. after a month or two, i was looking for something a little faster and more reliable/consistent. fortunately for me, it seems to be contagious--my training partner whined 2 years ago about riding 50 miles. now he's looking for more after 100. if my plan holds up, he'll be riding his first DC with me in september.
I'm in the same no-man's land...PseuZQ
May 7, 2003 9:28 AM
Vis a vis wanting to go longer than 50, 75 miles, but not being fast enough able to hang with others who typically ride things longer than centuries. I'm gradually moving into longer rides, having done my first double in March and planning on the Davis Double 5/17.

I've learned to love long solo rides, and will typically choose a solo century over 50 miles with a group.

In terms of organized centuries, I pick them carefully now. They'll have to be somewhere I've never ridden, or a social thing, to justify the fee. (Or the Grizzly Peak Century for really good food!) Nowadays, I rationalize paying for a ride based on whether I think I "need" to be supported, like for a double.

So to answer your question, yes, they do get easier. Or maybe they stay difficult and you get faster (to paraphrase a well-known quote).
Where do you ride, btw?
North Carolina, hence the name (nm)tarwheel
May 7, 2003 12:13 PM
Centuries uber allesOldEdScott
May 7, 2003 6:09 AM
Some people just aren't cut out for centuries, whether physically or psychologically or both. But cycling culture kind of insists those people do them anyway. You're somehow not a 'real' cyclist unless you do a damn century.

I say more power to you, but I'm not biting any more. Here's why:

The mental burnout whenever I do a century is enough to put me off cycling for days, if not weeks (and in one case, years). It's one-hundred percent psychological. Even in my dotage, I have no physical difficulty riding a hundred miles in good order. BUT. By the end of that hundred miles, I'm so sick of riding the damn bike that all I want to do is put the thing away and never look at it again. Five-plus hours on a bike just sends me spiraling into black depression. (Sometimes I wonder if it's bonk-related. But it happens even when I shovel food in throughout the ride.)

I've learned if I keep my rides to two hours or less, I can ride six days a week, month in month out year in year out, many thousands of miles a year, as the happiest cyclist alive. When I cave in a do centuries, the bike gets hung up and I get fat.

My point: If centuries aren't right for you, don't feel pressure (internal or external) to do them. The whole point is, ride lots, ride happy, be healthy. You can't do that if you burn yourself out or hurt yourself doing something inappropriate for YOU.
no pressure heretarwheel
May 7, 2003 6:41 AM
I generally ride about like you -- about 5 days a week, 20+ milers on weekdays after work, and longer rides on weekends. I ride the occasional century to push my limits and build my endurance. Also, my brother and I have been riding weeklong, cross-state tours the past few years and the centuries help build endurance and base for riding 400+ miles in a week. On these tours, we usually average over 60 miles a day, with one long day of 80-100 miles. The difference is that on our tours we are riding at a comfortable pace (16-17) that we can sustain daily for a week. We stop to take pictures, look at nice scenery, eat lunch, and even do a little shopping in small towns. It makes no difference if we finish in less time.

Anyway, I feel no compulsion to ride centuries. I just would like to enjoy them a little more when I do.
Understood. I guess I was alsoOldEdScott
May 7, 2003 7:12 AM
speaking to the great silent masses, who secretly wonder if they're 'real' cyclists. I know there's a lot of peer pressure to do centuries.
Yesmohair_chair
May 7, 2003 6:41 AM
The only way to get comfortable at doing centuries is to do more of them. Those 50-60 mile rides might be great for you, but you need to do more 80-100 mile rides. Your body will adjust, including your butt, but it won't be easy at first. But once you break through the barrier, everything changes. Remember, half of it is mental.
where are all the centuries & who has time to ride them?jimmyihatetoregister
May 7, 2003 6:49 AM
Living along the CO front range, I am not aware of that many centuries. Plus, they take up a lot of time to do. Are all these folks kid-less or have a lot of free time?
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?ukiahb
May 7, 2003 7:00 AM
I just had my best one ever last Sunday (also my first this year), was faster and felt much better afterwards than I usually do, and think it is due to riding fixed gear this year and also doing some very hilly 50-80 mile weekend rides in preperation (w/10-20 mile climbs) on my geared bike. In the past have usually been trashed after a century, and had leg cramps during the ride. FWIW am using a Turbomatic III on one bike and a Max Flite Transam on the other, both are very comfortable up to 100 miles...haven't gone further yet. Also finally got the bike I'd always wanted late last year, and that helps too...it probably doesn't make me any faster, but I am cranking out a lot more miles this year as I want to ride whenever I look at it, even after several months.
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?raboboy
May 7, 2003 7:04 AM
ya know... I just saw (or heard) a quote the other day, I can't remember where or who, but they said "it never gets easier, you just get faster".

I like that quote a lot.
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?madstork
May 7, 2003 7:05 AM
Tarwheel,

Something that has worked for me this year - variety. During the late fall/early winter, I rode a lot of fixed gear. I think it helped my leg strength as well as my pedaling motion. The last 4 months I have used the gym at work (a university) on average 4 days/week during my lunch hour. Primary concentration has been on weights to strengthen my skinny body, but I also did cardio work 3 times/week. And starting in June, I will do 1 or 2 mtb rides/week. Probably do some cyclo-cross this winter too. Will my road mileage suffer this year? Yes. Will I be a better cyclist? I think I will be.

Did a century on Apr. 6 and felt fine at the end, even did 20 more miles for my longest ride ever, and my average was one of my best in last ten years. I think the different activities that supplemented my road cycling boosted my mental and physical health.

I agree with you about most of the organized rides, the 20+ riders blast off, the 13-15+ riders hang back, and the rest (including me) hope to get a paceline or partner for the rest of the ride. I just accept that and enjoy the hand dealt to me that day. Some of my best rides have been with the 13-15+ riders because they were there for fun or the challenge of finishing. I get satisfaction by pulling a first-time century rider or a struggling group to the finish and seeing their joy at making it. Plus if I do the work at the front, I get a great workout. Lemons=lemonade.

Madstork
yes, unless you just go faster nmDougSloan
May 7, 2003 7:13 AM
Learning to love (100 mi. rides) again.Dale Brigham
May 7, 2003 7:40 AM
Dear Tarwheel:

Gosh, I have so much to say about this, that I have to hold back. Otherwise, I'll blather on too long, and/or self-combust in seething rage. Where to begin...

1) You are a very strong rider, Tarwheel, having done (by my calc) a 6 hr. century (actually, a bit more: 105 miles). I happen to think of that as the threshold for randonneuring. Meaning, if you can do a 6-hr. century (or near that pace), you can do PBP. You are definitely plenty strong and fast. Nothing wrong there. If you were dumb enough to do so, you could be there with J and me on these crazy-long brevets. I have nothing on you as a cyclist.

2) Unfortunately, centuries tend to attract many riders whom I call the "wrong crowd." Wannabee racers, or worse yet, racers who should know better, use these as opportunities to preen, show off, and generally make asses of themselves. I have seen this for ages, ever since 1972, my first century ride. I have certainly been an such an ass on a century ride, I must admit (and ask forgiveness). Now, I know better.

Anybody who thinks a century ride is a race is very wrong. A race is a race; a ride is a ride. Century rides are rides, not races. No "records," no prizes, no jersey numbers, no classes -- no race. People riding at their own pace is good; groups sorting out to their own pace is good. Trying to drop riders and attacking is stupid. OK, seething rant over.

In other words, just because some of the wrong crowd think this ride is a race, don't be sucked into their stupid world. Enjoy the ride at your own pace. Relax. This is our hobby. Nobody is earning a paycheck from this. Smile, laugh, and make friends, while pedaling along. What's not to like? Ignore (or better yet, destroy) your cycling computer, ride with people you like, smell the flowers (or roadkill), and just enjoy the ride.

3) The last part of long rides are almost always difficult and uncomfortable for me, whether it's a century or a 400K brevet. I am always ready for the ride to be over. I feel your pain, brother Tar, about the saddle issue. I have a Brooks on order, and will report back my findings.

Eating and drink lots in the last third or so of the ride seems to be a big factor in how you feel both during those last miles and how you feel after the ride (e.g., on the drive home). I have to make myself eat and drink properly near the end of rides, when it seems like I'm almost "home." That seems to pay off.

Still, I'm sure the last part of the long rides I do will always seem hard. I'm with Ed, in that I really prefer rides that are no longer than 2 hours duration. But, I do the longer stuff, and enjoy it, partly for the challenge (see Nietzsche) and partly for the nice people I meet on these rides (see J). If you like to do centuries, do them; if not, don't. What anyone else thinks is not worth thinking about. This is supposed to be FUN, dammit!

I hope I have been of help. You are just the sort I like to ride with. Hope I get the opportunity to do just that, someday.

Dale
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?YellowRoadBike
May 7, 2003 1:05 PM
Tarwheel,
I've been lurking for a while on this forum. I was thinking about your questions as I did my lunch recovery ride.

Centuries can get easier, or harder based on expectations, eating and training - sound familiar? If you think they will be hard, you'll need 6 days to recover etc. guess what? They will. I'm in the Big-Dog Century a month Challenge. I am riding 200K solo Saturday - and I can't wait. Instead of the time and aches and pains, I'm concentrating on this building me to the Sequoia 200K next month, I'm weak in my climbing so I'm using this for training. I enjoy the 100 - 200K range. The 100K is now, just a quick placeholder that I find time to sneak in on a busy (Family) weekend. I find that only riding a couple of hard rides during the week mixed with recovery rides and a long ride on the weekend (100K is plenty to prepare for the occasional 100M) that I can maintain family, professional, and personal goals. I enjoy setting goals, seeing new places, and finding new folks to ride with. Centuries are great for that. I've sat in a ditch, legs quivering, doubting my existence, I've ridden in SAG wagons, I've had all the maladies associated with long rides. I think the trick is to not say that I hated it etc, but try to calmly figure out what needs work and set some goals.

The one area that you may get the most benefit from is spinning. Mashing all day on a century is no fun at the end especially if your dehydrated and your stomach has shut down.
Practice riding one gear light and making up your speed with the spin on your shorter rides.
Got a little longwinded, sorry.
Did you do the Sharron Harris ride!the bull
May 7, 2003 2:45 PM
I did that this sunday too.Man thoughs two on the Tandem (Calfee)stayed up front the whole time.They pulled too!
I would not have considered it a race.
I will always go 100 mi if there is the choice.
It feels like a century no matter what!!
yupbianchi boy
May 7, 2003 6:35 PM
The two on the tandem (Smith and Claude) are very strong riders. I've been on hilly rides with them where they outclimbed most of the single bikes. The reason it felt like a race to me is that everyone started out so fast, with no warmup. I get fried on longer rides if I start out too fast, but on this ride the only way to keep up with the faster riders was to start out fast. So, I let them go. If I start out easy, I finish much stronger. Getting old, I guess.

tarwheel
Do a couple of the Mission valley rides!the bull
May 7, 2003 7:33 PM
Talk about starting quick - Gotta keep that average speed up there I guess! Govenors inn rides were like that too!
Where do you ride during the weekend.
Come out some time to spin cycle on sunday morning -good ride!
re: Do centuries ever get any easier?aliensporebomb
May 7, 2003 7:11 PM
Just don't do what I did on my first century:
-30 pounds overweight.
-hadn't ridden all season.
-on a borrowed bike that had broken components.
-didn't bring water or food.

I'll never forget it though. I was a complete idiot but
managed to survive.

Compared to this, you're ROCKING THE HOUSE in my opinion.