RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any experience with HID bike lights? What's best? nm(10 posts)

Any experience with HID bike lights? What's best? nmJuanmoretime
May 6, 2003 12:16 PM
L&Mmohair_chair
May 6, 2003 1:14 PM
Light and Motion makes great HID lights. I have the L&M ARC and it is bright as day.

As far as HID goes, there is simply no comparison to non-HID lights. The beam is extremely bright and much wider than regular lights. It is literally night and day! With HID lights, we ride our mountain bikes at night deep in the forest in pitch black conditions on some pretty technical stuff with no worries at all.

Night riding is so much fun, but you are missing half of the fun without HID. Once you go HID, you will never go back.

If all you are doing is riding an MUT on your commute or on already lit streets, HID is overkill. But deep in the jungle, you shouldn't be without it.
Very happy with my Niterider HID StormAztec
May 6, 2003 3:07 PM
It's the helmet mount version and I bought it for 24hour racing (MTB). As the previous post said, there is no comparison between HID and non HID lights, especially out in the middle of the woods. It's probably overkill for road use although it will certainly get people's attention. Last time I was out on the road at night I had people flashing their high beams at me if I looked directly at them.

Niterider has received some poor reviews and some have complained about their customer service but I've had no problems so far.
Like grandpa says, "it only costs a little more to go 1st class"shawndoggy
May 6, 2003 3:56 PM
Buy one, you won't regret it. For 24 hour MTB racing they are essential. I also do lots of training on the road at 5:00 a.m., and I can't believe that I didn't get this before. YOU can see with this light rather than my 10W halogen which seems to be more for others to see me.

If you go onto MTBR there are lots of Niterider bashers who complain about customer service as the prior poster stated. My answer to that is buy it from performance since they have the satisfaction guarantee.

Also since performance will price match and you can then use the 20% off coupon, you can get a NR HID light for around $260 (+$26 in performance points, but who's counting?).

If you go NR, I'd recommend the Storm (helmet mount) because it comes with a smaller battery pack. You can buy the bar mount for another $20 and then have both options. Going the other way is harder cuz you have to figure out what to do with your H2O bottle sized battery pack while you are running the light on your head.
re: Any experience with HID bike lights? What's best? nmHereford Flyer
May 7, 2003 2:51 AM
take a look at the British Lumicycle HID. see:-
www.lumicycle.co.uk
Another vote for Light & MotionAllUpHill
May 7, 2003 3:45 AM
Read the MTBR.com reviews on the L & M ARC, and it's pretty obvious which product to buy. I got mine only for road riding and it's been a pleasure to use for the past 3 months.
I have the NR Storm too...biknben
May 7, 2003 5:18 AM
I got it for MTB night riding but I use it more for my bike commute in the winter. I've owned four lights form NightRider and been happy with all of them.

No matter what you end up getting I'd at least look for something with a smart charging system. It increases the life-span of the battery.

I don't think an HID is overkill for the road. It's nice to see where you are going and it certainly gets the attention of motorists.
Light and Motion vs. NiteriderIan
May 7, 2003 5:52 AM
They are going to cost the same.

The Niterider will run a bit longer, 4 hours, vs. , 3 to 3.5 hours for L & M.

The L & M uses a better charger. They measure the change in temperture of the battery instead of measuring the voltage. Battery manufacturers recommend the temp method, it is better for battery life. I think they charge in the same time, 3.5 hours.

They both use the same bulb, but L & M uses a better reflector, it throws a better beam of light without spots.

If you get the helmet mount, the L & M weighs about half of the Niterider. Which is why I like it better. I used the Niterider, but it was too heavy on my helmet and kept pulling my helmet forward. I can't tell the L & M is up there.

Ian
Thanks for the input everyone. I agree about HID not....Juanmoretime
May 7, 2003 6:37 AM
being overkill for the road, although I do some night time mountainbiking. I think the HID for training in the dark a necessity. I have a Marwi 12 watt helmet spot but when your going 20 plus you run out of light and hit potholes and other debris. I think it's going to be between the Light and Motion Cabeza and the new HID Marwi. The Marwi can be used on the bar or helmet and I've had good experience with their products.
re: Any experience with HID bike lights? What's best? nmclintb
May 7, 2003 8:28 AM
I have the L&M ARC and wouldn't trade it for anything. Before purchasing it, I had close calls all the time. Afterwards, auto drivers must've thought I was a motorcycle because they just sit and wait for me to pass. I'm guessing they see one light and assume it's an MC and thus traveling faster than I really am. Whatever the case, it keeps me alive and that alone is worth the price of admission and more.

The beam on the ARC is perfect. It's a well defined circle and a spot in the center. Two lights in one. I also like that it doesn't require any external switches/control boxes. Nice and simple, clean and compact. Very lightweight as well.