RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


25.8mm vs 26.0mm bar clamp: compatible??(15 posts)

25.8mm vs 26.0mm bar clamp: compatible??PaulCL
May 6, 2003 11:20 AM
I'm buying a new handlebar before I have to - OK - some of these crash threads have prompted me to replace my 7 year old handlebar.

I purchased a replacement stem a few weeks ago that has a 26.0mm clamp - can I buy a bar with a 25.8mm diameter?? I assume the 31.8mm are out of the picture.

Apparently, my options on bars are very limited if I can only get a 26.0 or 25.8. Paul
re: 25.8mm vs 26.0mm bar clamp: compatible??spc15
May 6, 2003 12:02 PM
I have Stella Azzurra Stem which is 26.00 and a 3t Prima 199 bar - they work fine together no slippage, etc.
YMMV, of course....

Also, I remember reading somewhere that the difference between these two sizes was due to how each manufacturer measured their tolerances. So, essentially, yes, they are compatible.

I would, however, be interested in how others chime in on this topic.
YMMV ???? (nm)PaulCL
May 6, 2003 12:07 PM
YMMV ???? (nm)spc15
May 6, 2003 12:33 PM
Sorry bout that one, wanted to point out that in my case it worked and from what I have read it would work, but could not account for every combo of bar & stem. Cannot be too careful when working with these components.

A couple of weeks ago I was climbing up a hill, stood up, pulled up on my bars and the face plate snapped off. Luckily, I was not going too fast and managed to grab the stem to regain control. This is partly the reason for trhe YMMV thing. ;)

Good Luck!

SPC
YMMV = "your mileage may vary" just got it (nm)PaulCL
May 6, 2003 6:38 PM
Compatible.jw25
May 6, 2003 12:09 PM
This may have been more of an issue back in the olden times, when Cinelli bars and stems were 26.4mm, and most stems were single-bolt. To fit a 26.0 bar into a 25.8mm stem, you'd need to expand the clamp farther.
Nowadays, with most stems using removable faceplates, I think it's less of an issue. With 25.8 bars and a 26.0 stem, you just run the clamp plate closer to the stem, but there's ample clearance built in. I'm running TTT bars with a Kore stem, and there's still 1.5-2mm separation.
And, if worse comes to worse, you can shim it. Heck, I'm running an ITM Millenium road stem on my MTB. The bars are Answer Hyperlite carbons, which run a little big, anbd with the Easton friction paper in there, it's perfect. No slippage, and light as heck.
Exactly. In old times, with the one bolt,elviento
May 6, 2003 12:20 PM
you have to tighten that one bolt down to account for the discrepancy in diameter, which was more of a problem, but with the 2 bolt face plates, you can consider them the same thing.
Thanks....now bar rec's???PaulCL
May 6, 2003 12:23 PM
Any bars work especially well with Campy's ergolevers??

I'm not interested in scary light...too many horror stories of lost teeth and fused vertebrae.
Bars...Andy M-S
May 6, 2003 12:43 PM
I like TTT Morphe bars with ergos. They tend to run a little narrower than other bars (my 42 c-c Morphes are more like a 40 in other bars) but they're very comfortable.
Bars...russw19
May 6, 2003 1:40 PM
In that clamp, I would recommend the Deda 215. It's light but not scary light, stiff, but not uncomfortable, and not too pricey either. I use the Deda Magic which is about the same thing in the 31.8 clamp. I am super happy with it. But if you have a 26.0 clamp, get the 215

Russ
Another data pointNessism
May 6, 2003 5:59 PM
I've got a set of 215's on one of my bikes and like them. They are quite flexable though in my opinion. I weigh about 160 lbs. so I'm no heavyweight thrasher either. I do use them however and don't find them TOO flexy.

My first choice for bars these days is the Ritchey Pro's. A little more metal in them than some others and a nice shape in my opinion.

Ed
Another data pointrussw19
May 6, 2003 8:27 PM
Hey Nessism, how old are yours? Just curious, because the 2002 and newer 215's they suppossedly made them stiffer. I don't know that for a fact, but it's what I heard.

Anyways, I ride the Magic with the Newton 31.8 clamp. The oversized clamp makes a huge stiffness difference.

Russ
Can't rememberNessism
May 7, 2003 8:41 AM
Can't remember when I bought my 215's, must be four years ago maybe? They were a fairly new model when I purchased them. I don't ride the bike full time but even still, they most likely should be retired considering the milage on them.


Ed
Thanks....now bar rec's???Juanmoretime
May 7, 2003 7:51 AM
I guess these would be considered scary light. I really like the TTT Prima 199's. Great fit,TTT measures outside to outside, so their 44's are slightly narrower. I also have small hands and like the drops and they work great with my Ergo's. I do plan to replace them every two years after I heard the horror stories. The best rpice is wisecyclebuys.com
The "horror" storiesPaulCL
May 7, 2003 9:25 AM
My bars are 6+ years old. No cracks. No squeaks. Nada. Same for my stem. But the combination of "horror" stories, age, fear, common sense, and a $75 Colorado Cyclist gift certificate from Mom are prompting this replacement.