RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


UCI helmet requirement final and in effect(17 posts)

UCI helmet requirement final and in effectDougSloan
May 5, 2003 12:22 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/sc/news?slug=reu-rule&prov=reuters&type=lgns

Done deal. Helmets for everyone now.

Doug
actual ruleDougSloan
May 5, 2003 12:27 PM
http://www.uci.ch/english/news/news_2002/20030502i.pdf
The hammer comes down...........nmMR_GRUMPY
May 5, 2003 12:48 PM
SPOILER!!! I was waiting to hear this on OLNdante
May 5, 2003 1:10 PM
damn, where's a moderator when you need one????

dante
Laurent Brochard's reason for no helmet now I've heard everythinabicirider
May 5, 2003 1:18 PM
I have heard of a lot of excuse(none reasonible in my opinion) for not wearing a helmet but Laurent Brochards reason has to be the wose I have ever heard again thats just my opinion
Laurent Brochard says" The helmet often prevents me from breathing" come on geeze.
Guess you can tell I'm 150% pro helmet nobody should ever ride without a helmet anywhere again just my own opinion.
Be Safe Out On The Roads!!!!!!!!!!
Ray Still
Mooresville, NC
Laurent Brochard's reason for no helmet now I've heard everythinpnitefly
May 5, 2003 3:39 PM
Brochard is just pissed because he can't show off the lame bandanas he wears all the time. Oh well, it took martial law to finally get the helmet rule, now let's all move on.
Trauma-Induced Brain Swelling Prevents me from Breathing (nm)serbski
May 5, 2003 5:00 PM
Laurent Brochard's reason for no helmet now I've heard everythinal0
May 6, 2003 2:08 AM
> Be Safe Out On The Roads!!!!!!!!!!

b My
safety is
b not your
business in any way!
Laurent Brochard's reason for no helmet now I've heard everythinoldschool
May 6, 2003 4:42 AM
On two occasions, I've been out with folks who smacked their heads on the ground...and weren't wearing helmets. In one case, the guy actually left it in his car on purpose - something to do with the fact that he was a cat-2 and most of us were 5's or non-roadies. He had blood dripping out of one ear; I called 911 and left him there (a couple from our group stayed behind, but most of us left). Like you say, it's not my problem, right? If you don't wear a helmet on a group ride, you put evrey on around you in a difficult and uncomfortable situation. Period.
Laurent Brochard's reason for no helmet now I've heard everythinal0
May 6, 2003 11:49 AM
> Like you say, it's not my problem, right?

Absolutely. And your mail is the best provement of it.
What about time trials? (nm)blanchaa
May 5, 2003 1:23 PM
"during competitions on the road..."DougSloan
May 5, 2003 1:33 PM
...the rule reads. Looking back at the main rule that is being amended, Rule 1.3.031, looks like timetrials are not exempted.

http://www.uci.ch/english/about/rules/ch01_general.pdf
Good news and bad newsMR_GRUMPY
May 5, 2003 4:50 PM
Because they will want the "best", the "lightest" and the most aerodynamic, helmet manufactures will have to gear up to make some super helmets. Everybody will want these super helmets, which will probably cost $200-$300. Ouch......
Safety requirement?CHRoadie
May 6, 2003 8:29 AM
I'm far too lazy to actually read the rule, but do they have safety requirements as well? Lance wears a helmet during time trials, but it's an aerodynamic fairing only, not designed for safety.
Curiousflying
May 5, 2003 5:53 PM
I wonder how many pro cyclist have died from lack of a helmet?
Im not saying that even 1 is not too much but I just wondered. Does anyone here know?
Hey Teo, can you pick me up a nice helmet at the bottom of a hill finish ? NMScot_Gore
May 5, 2003 6:48 PM
I know it is all for the welfare and safety of the racers, butLive Steam
May 6, 2003 1:02 PM
I am a little sad in a way. I felt the same when hockey changed their helmet rule. The stars become less identifiable and I guess there is some tradition being left in the past too. Bandanas streaming behind the head of a racer on a lone breakaway like Jackie Durand, the turned up brim of a cap on a stage winner crossing the line with his arms extended upward and flowing hair like the pony tail Fignon wore, were always a part of the peleton's colorful picture. I guess time moves on and nothing ever stays the same :O(