RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wide Cycling Shoes?(8 posts)

Wide Cycling Shoes?nicholasdunford
May 3, 2003 8:31 PM
I need some help. I am new to road cycling and searching for a pair of shoes. So far the only thing that seems wide enough for my feet are Side megas, and even those I have to get one size to big to fit my freaky toes. I have tried shimano and carnac. Wondering if there is anything else I should try before I spend $190 on shoes that are technically too big? Or maybe I should just get cages and ride old school? Any suggestions, opinions greatly appreciated.
re: Wide Cycling Shoes?zooog
May 4, 2003 2:13 AM
http://www.rocket7.com/

Custom made.
It's A Tough One...Everything Is Differnt =(BigLeadOutGuy
May 4, 2003 3:40 AM
It's tough finding a wide shoe, I've found that the sidi megas are about the best fit for me (size 48)...still I always get a shoe size thats a size bigger. Ive tried on just about every shoe...sidi megas, nike poggio and shimanos feel like they are the widest shoes. Even differnt model shoes from teh same company vary in width and size...your best bet is to go to your LBS and try on every shoe in every size and just see whats the best fit, youll find something...and when you do, ride them till they fall apart =)
Lake CX201Walter
May 4, 2003 4:01 AM
They work pretty well for my wide feet in sz 46. Cost about $100. I don't know the numbers but they feel kinda heavy compared to other shoes but I don't race. At least for now I'll take proper fit and an affordable price and be happy.

I've also had luck with some Specialized (forget the model), but they were wide in both the toe box and heel. Combine that with the fact that the shoes are "laced" with only 2 velcro straps and I experienced quite bit of heel slip. The Lakes have laces and straps.

Good luck.
don't worry about nominal sizeBergMann
May 4, 2003 7:21 AM
I wouldn't worry about shoes that are "technically" too big.
Every manufacturer's size run is a bit different anyway, so shoe sizes are merely a convenient fiction.

In my opinion, the most important aspects of shoe fit are that you have a nice, snug fit at the heel with no slippage, and the rest of the shoe conforms well with your instep and forefoot. Depending on the taper of the toebox, you probably won't even notice a couple extra milimeters of space at the end of the shoe. I actually prefer a bit of "wiggle" room, as long as it doesn't compromise the fit to the aft of the ball of my foot.
don't worry about nominal sizeBaadDawg
May 4, 2003 8:07 AM
search this froum this has been discussed many times. Use my name as a search topic I have posted a few on how I got wide shoes and what there is.
re: Wide Cycling Shoes?Kary
May 4, 2003 1:23 PM
I also have a wide foot. I just got a pair of Lake shoes in Wide. They fit me well.
look for sidi's on ebaywolfereeno
May 5, 2003 5:44 AM
I bought a brand new pair of geniuses for around $130. And I just bought a lightly used pair of dominators for $40. Can't beat that.

I'm a size 40 Mega. It's usually hard for me to find shoes too.