RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Regarding this whole "Nick thread" mess(28 posts)

Regarding this whole "Nick thread" messAhimsa
May 2, 2003 4:57 PM
I'd like to point out one simple fact that seems to be lost on everyone for some reason:

WE ARE THE FORUM.

This forum does not exist without our collective input.

Not for Roadbike Review's advertisers.

Not for RBR itself.

Not for Doug.

Not for Greg.

And not for any one single person here.

This site would be nothing but another review source board with a bunch of ads otherwise. Most of us would likely not come here if it were not for the forum.

Since we as a whole constitute the be-all and end-all of this place, then we should call the shots. In my opinion that means hands off from the moderator until it gets way beyond hectic and the majority can't keep order. Otherwise I think it's silly for a few blowhards to force Doug into pre-emptive action simply because they think the thread is out of hand. Get over yourself. Lay off the sensitivity pills. Doug is already enough of an eagle scout without you playing the Dudley Do-right card on him.

So, before we go about arguing over whether we have the right to complain about a free service...

Or whether we should move posts around...

Or what the definition of a personal attack is...

Or whatever the gripe du jour is around here...

Remember...

It ain't a party if nobody shows up, folks.

We are the forum.

A. (Encouraging self-policing whenever and where ever possible)
Harumph. Well said, A; now, go on another bender...sn69
May 2, 2003 5:10 PM
and write another one of your brilliant stories, por favor.

Scott
Bender? Who, me?Ahimsa
May 2, 2003 5:23 PM
Brah!

Got one planned for tonight...

There's a little bar I know of in a run-down end of town that's got a great crowd and a nice bottle of Jameson with my name on it.

Now where's those cheap cigars I bought today?

Cheers!

A. (Got il dentista on speed dial nowadays.)
Are you for real?...Bruno S
May 2, 2003 8:05 PM
When I lived in Mexico City there was this "dentista" that I would call most Fridays after work. It kept my friends and I going all weekend. Then (because of work) I moved to the US and had to give all that. Now I spend all my extra energy (and money) in cycling.
Word to the wise:sn69
May 3, 2003 7:49 AM
Carta Blanca (x2) +
Sierra Nevada Barley Wine (x2) +
Corona (x1) +
Ardbeg (x1.5) =

a slow morning indeed.
Wordmickey-mac
May 3, 2003 7:58 AM
At 9.5% abv, two Bigfoot Barleywines would be enough to do in many people. At least you didn't throw a Dixie into the mix. I went with a Cantillon Vigneronne Gueuze last night. It's tart enough to pucker every orifice in the body. I feel fine this morning. Unfortunately, it's been pissing rain all morning. However, a bit of blue sky is starting to peek through. Maybe I can squeeze in a ride before the hell of other kids' birthday parties starts. ;-)
Hell takes many forms.sn69
May 3, 2003 8:08 AM
Surely you will earn some karmic credit today.

I'm going to go find an IV to rehydrate my body before the wife-spousal-unit forces me into a day of yard work.

Have a great ride!
Bigfoot...rwbadley
May 3, 2003 8:39 PM
Whoa, I agree about the Bigfoot. I usually buy a case of it to age, and a case to drink now. It ages well for up to 2-4 yrs. S Nevada puts out a Pale Bock that is really nice. We have a hard time getting it in Reno. I happened to be down there last month and bought the town out, we came back with 45 cases for the locals...hehehheh

I like your taste in Cantillon, good unusual beer. You won't find too many folks that know of it or have tried it 'tho. Amazing that it can still be a 'lawnmower beer' at 8% abv? Nice, refreshing tart stuff.

Instead of riding today, I walked about 9miles for our beer clubs annual Pub Crawl. ( I walked to the first stop which added 4 miles) A tremendous cold/wet blustery day spent walking, eating and drinking. Not much interesting beer to report, but we had a good time.

Mickey-mac we should get together sometime for a ride and post ride tasting... Cheers

Ron B
Bigfoot...mickey-mac
May 4, 2003 5:16 AM
I'd love to share a ride and a few beers. I'll bet some of your homemade stuff is better than anything found in the shops. If your travels ever bring you to the LA area, let me know and I'll take you for a ride and then escort you over to Father's Office or the Library Alehouse in Santa Monica. If I remember correctly, you're in Reno, where I haven't been since I was a kid. However, if I do get up that way I'll bring the bike and look you up. I'll try to bring as much of the SN Pale Bock as possible. ;-)
uggtx
May 3, 2003 10:04 AM
Those micro brews are too sludgy for me and make for wicked hangovers. I generally stick to Budweiser and J&B.
A., I'm waiting to finish 'Il Dentista'....nmSpunout
May 4, 2003 3:15 AM
all trueDougSloan
May 2, 2003 8:11 PM
Despite the anarchist tone, everything you say is correct.

Doug
Good call; Party on dudes! (and dudettes) nmrwbadley
May 2, 2003 8:31 PM
I easily agree on all pointsCrankist
May 3, 2003 9:31 AM
But most important: it IS enough to drive a man to drink.
But so is rain. (And sunshine).
Mike
re: Regarding this whole "Nick thread" messThe Human G-Nome
May 3, 2003 11:52 AM
and i'd like to point out that in actuality, you ARE NOT the forum. you and people like you are simply what makes the forum a worthwhile place to visit. minus so many worthwhile patrons, the forum would most certainly still exist, it just wouldn't be as nice a place to visit. IMO, the owners and creators of this website are the ones who "get to call the shots" and if the participants think their shots are misguided and unwarranted, they're free to leave.

further, i'd like to point out that the job of "moderator" is completely thankless. people only have gripes with the moderator and seldom any praise. whether he stands back and leaves a situation alone or tries to take a step to change things for the better, folks will get bent out of shape and take it personally. i have had to play "moderator" on other boards and let me telly you: it's not any fun. i have gotten absolutely no personal satisfaction from it. it's akin to baby sitting a bunch of people, most of whom you don't even know and will never meet. i for one think Doug does a fine job and i also think there's absolutely nothing wrong with moving a post from one forum to the next if you feel it might alleviate a pointless flame war.

and finally, everyone who participates here has a right to get pissed and mad that a moderator is taking action on something, just like anyone else has the right to criticize you for complaining in the first place.
I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS ABOUT DOUG ALLLazywriter
May 3, 2003 2:30 PM
ALONG. Brilliant post as you essentially point out that any group of people create a personality that is unique. Everyone may not like what each individual has to say, but there are many others that may find humor and truth in it although it may be a little "cruel" in some people's eyes.
Doug has always annoyed me for his self rigtheous stances. He cannot even agree with you here without calling you an "anarchist". Hate to say it Doug, but I was right about you. You seem like a "good christian", but your sense of humor sucks. I even noticed that you pulled some posts down already because you deem them "inappropriate". One was mine, but not all of them. Shame on you. You are not good for this board even though I admit I have been over the top at times.
I want to be the moderator!!!the bull
May 3, 2003 5:45 PM
We should have an election!
Actually we could have 2 or 3 moderators like the senate!!!nmthe bull
May 3, 2003 5:49 PM
I guess I just don't get it.MR_GRUMPY
May 3, 2003 2:58 PM
If it's alright to hammer somebody's results in a National caliber race just because you don't like them, are we going to start making fun or riders who are "only" cat. 5's? If we dislike someone so much, are we going to start to ridicule them when they can't get out of cat 3?
In this case, I think Doug is right. If you don't like the way Doug and Greg want this site run, you can go to the Google sites and hammer people all day.
My opinion only................
I guess I just don't get it.The Human G-Nome
May 3, 2003 3:33 PM
well now that Lazywriter has taken the exact opposite stance of myself, i feel like my opinion must have some truth in it. i agree with Mr. G, but just not for the same reasons. Nick deserved "chiding" which is what i think he got rather then just outright ridicule. if you have been following his threads, you'd realize that folks aren't making fun of Nick's place in the race, but rather his vision of himself as a primadona even though he's only an "average" cyclist by many standards. if it was anyone else that got 21st place in that race, people would be cheering like crazy. heck, folks come on here and proclaim "i just finished my first metric century" and get 12x the praise Nick received. they chide Nick because he's mastered the are of shamless self promotion (emphasis on shameless).
My point is beyond any one thread and the generalLazywriter
May 3, 2003 4:52 PM
determination by one person the "appropriateness" of what other's say. I never, NEVER attack someone who posts an accomplishment like their first century or the like. Nick deserves to get ridiculed. Sorry, but where I come from, if you talk too much Sh$%, you are gonna get it.
If there are some people here that like to give other's the "business" to keep them humble, let it be. Doug was the worst choice to have as moderator as he "policed" the board when he was just a member. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO SEES THIS. Doug presents as someone who must have all control over his own environment but he has to realize that he shares this envoronment with others. Notice how Gregg rarely posted responses to our posts, but Doug feels compelled to do so. Velonews and other boards don't have such censorship, only this board since Doug took over. People have senses of humor, just let it be.
and i would add..colker
May 3, 2003 5:05 PM
nick, trolls, weirdos, nuts, immature narcisistic out of hand egos make half the fun of the place. i'd rather waste bandwidth then see a "correct" technical posts page only everyday.
it's like streets of any big city, it's like democracy. we take the insanity and bull sh$t and it's still the best alternative around.
Agree 100%!!! I like all you guys!the bull
May 3, 2003 6:03 PM
If I want bland technical info I would go look up service manuals on campy site!I enjoy the witty fun of this site!Cyclists in my opinion are the most clever of all human life forms.
There is not a cooler place than here to be serious joke around or meet cool people all over the world that have the same interest that you do!
And to all the people out there that dont understand me I am sorry bet let me tell you this-there is not one of you that I would not ride with or sit down and buy ya a beer!!!
Sorry if anyone has ever missunderstood me in anyway!!!
bull, you are full of sh*#climbo
May 3, 2003 6:47 PM
you go from blasting responses on the original "Nick-result" post for "not telling it like it is" etc. to then agreeing here that it's fun to joke around on the forum and have witty banter. You're right, I 'm not understanding you.
I would never attack or insult someone who did not attack methe bull
May 3, 2003 7:26 PM
first.Also I dont think you should pick on Nicks race results!Esp. while he is not around to retort!
I would never attack or insult someone who did not attack meclimbo
May 4, 2003 4:48 AM
So he's not around, how do I know that. When/if he comes back I'll re-post it for you. Then I should be in accordance with the "the bull's rules of engagement" for the site.

FYI, Day 4 results came in.

Event 81: Men 1 Lap Time Trial Final
Avs.

1 Mark French (Vic) 18.494 (48.66)
2 Lazaros Skoumpas (Gre) 18.618 (48.34)
3 Anthanasios Mantzouranis (Gre) 18.697 (48.14)
4 Damien Keirl (Vic) 18.800 (47.87)
5 Wade Bootes (Qld) 18.840 (47.77)
6 Ryan Bayley (WA) 18.847 (47.75)
7 Lampros Vasilopoulos (Gre) 18.972 (47.44)
8 Ben Kersten (NSW) 18.986 (47.40)
9 Jason Niblett (Vic) 18.992 (47.39)
10 Daniel Beatson (NZl) 19.029 (47.30)
11 Leigh Sunderland (WA) 19.071 (47.19)
12 Jono Hamlin (NZl) 19.188 (46.90)
13 Andrew Taylor (NSW) 19.204 (46.87)
14 Carlo Barendilla (WA) 19.206 (46.86)
15 Sean Dwight (NSW) 19.265 (46.72)
16 Mark Jamieson (TAS) 19.370 (46.46)
17 Ben Rix (Vic) 19.418 (46.35)
18 Alex Bird (ACT) 19.800 (45.45)
19 Clint Johnson (Qld) 19.805 (45.44)
20 Gavin White (SA) 19.972 (45.06)
21 Paul Dimitri (NC) 20.001 (45.00)
22 Adam Coker (NZl) 20.012 (44.97)
23 Stephen Rossendell (TAS) 20.017 (44.96)
24 Richard Bowker (NZl) 20.175 (44.61)
25 Warren Scott (NSW) 20.185 (44.59)
26 Logan Caulfield (NZl) 20.418 (44.08)
27 Nicolas Schneider (NC) 20.544 (43.81)
28 Nick Scaife (SA) 20.587 (43.72)
29 Nick Corcoran (CAN) 20.695 (43.49)
30 Xavier Latoupie (NC) 20.796 (43.28)
31 Matthew Schriek (NZl) 20.982 (42.89)
32 Joseph DePasquale (SA) 21.232 (42.39)
33 Luke Horjus (SA) 21.241 (42.37)
34 Christopher Rouse (WA) 21.287 (42.28)
35 Christopher Wood (SA) 21.828 (41.23)
DSQ Sean Hennessy* (SA)
by the way...the bull
May 3, 2003 7:36 PM
Arguing with you is fun for me.I am not pissed!I type all this stuff with a big sh*t eating grin on my face.

DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME NOW !

I will be pleased with any response you give me.
The people I like the most on this site are ones I might have had it out with!
by the way...climbo
May 4, 2003 4:45 AM
well if you use CAPITALS and are being tongue in cheek, it's not easy to tell by reading it on a forum. That's why they invented emoticons, so you can show a bit of context in your posts !!!! ;)