RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Totally unannounced by the Moderator, our critical(23 posts)

Totally unannounced by the Moderator, our criticalOldEdScott
May 2, 2003 7:51 AM
comments about his handling of the Nick thread have been jerked over to the ghetto of Site Suggestions. You might wish to join us. Hope this doesn't get pulled before people get a chance to know what's happening.
posted a link at top of this page, tooDougSloan
May 2, 2003 7:58 AM
DougSloan "Please weigh in on Forum suggestions -- Moderator" 5/2/03 8:52am
awww, c'mon...take it easy on Doug...besides...gregg
May 2, 2003 8:15 AM
...he moved it because of the potential for the thread degrading into flames and it did EXACTLY that.

-gregg
Site Manager RoadbikeREVIEW.com
gkato@roadbikereview.com
I always take it easy on Doug! Sometimes I pretend I AM Doug!OldEdScott
May 2, 2003 8:21 AM
Doug, if Scotts saysKristin
May 2, 2003 10:59 AM
panywaste again, can you please ban him? Yucky mental images.
I'm hurt, Kristin. :-{OldEdScott
May 2, 2003 11:03 AM
Awww. Didn't know lefties could get hurtKristin
May 2, 2003 12:41 PM
Don't bullets bounce off you guys? Well, don't worry. If Doug ousted you, your absence would create a vacuum that would lead to the destruction of civilization as we know it. He wouldn't allow that to happen. :-)
re: Totally unannounced by the Moderator, our criticalThe Human G-Nome
May 2, 2003 10:52 AM
it's hysterical that anyone would complain about that. this site is 100% free. no one pays anything to come here and either enjoy themselves or get their frustrations out (whatever floats your boat). if they yanked every other post and said "all of you road bike fans can just go piss yourself because we've joined the nazi party" you still wouldn't have anything to complain about it. if you didn't like it, hopefully you'd be smart enough to leave. that being said, the moderator is more then generous in how how handles these situations, which by the way (i'll remind you one more time) is done for FREE. geesh.
what's money got to do with it?Frith
May 2, 2003 11:16 AM
That, in my opinion sets a dangerous slippery slope arguement. I am a regular user of a free service I have not paid for it but because I haven't opened my wallet my opinion is thus rendered moot? Perhaps those living on social assistance should be stripped of the right to vote because afterall they didn't pay enough to complain. I realize I'm stretching your arguement into something it is not however I fail to see what the cost of the service has to do with my right to voice my opinion.
That said I don't care that doug moved the thread, If it were me I would probably do the same thing. But I will pay nobody for my rights.
A little side-note. I do feel we have all paid to some extent for this site. Our visual space is constantly bombarded with advertisement. We click links. Money changes hands. Again, not complaining, I would run it the same way....it's the principle of your arguement that disturbs me.
Read carefully53T
May 2, 2003 11:20 AM
He didn't say you had no right to complain. He said that your complaining about free services speaks to your character.
I read it twice my arguement still stands (nm)Frith
May 2, 2003 11:24 AM
Somebody has been drinkingSnowBlind
May 2, 2003 11:37 AM
a little to much of this stuff!
LOL...yes but it was free so it doesn't count (nm)Frith
May 2, 2003 11:55 AM
Caution:contains a remark that is for adults or whatever!the bull
May 2, 2003 6:39 PM
Also this remark may offend someone on this site!
But I cant say who it is or I might get my remark removed!
Hopefuly it is not going to get removed for saying that it might get removed by pissing off the person who removes things from the site.

They might be drinking DEMON SEMEN!
CAUTION!!!Contains a hand drawn picture of satin flipping u off with his "thing in his hand "on bottle adults only!wow I also figured out how to make this thing go on and on and on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!the bull
May 2, 2003 6:49 PM
In case you dot get what I am talking about!
That's a specious argumentMel Erickson
May 2, 2003 11:50 AM
TV (off the airwaves) is free too, but not really. It's paid for by advertising, just like this site. We pay by renting our eyeballs to the sites sponsors for the minutes (hours?) we're on this site. It's a pretty valuable commodity, companies pay millions (not here but just look at the superbowl for an extreme example). Besides, complaining is the american past time and guaranteed by the constitution, whether we've bought the right or not. Anyone who visists this site has bought the right to complain.
I'm sorry, am I not shouting loud enough?53T
May 2, 2003 11:56 AM
Of course you have the right to complain. The poster simply points out that it makes you less of a person to do so.
Not exactlyMel Erickson
May 2, 2003 12:10 PM
He's saying that because we don't "pay" for the site we shouldn't complain, not that we don't have the right to complain. I'm simply stating that we do pay and therefore his argument that we shouldn't complain because we don't pay, is false. We not only have the right to complain, but the responsibility. I support complaining/critical comments. I try to make them without the name calling and "my bike is better than your bike" type of comments. Construtive critisism improves virtually everything we do.
i agree sort of...Frith
May 2, 2003 2:01 PM
I agree that we are, in a manner, paying for this site, and I definitely see where your coming from. It's not as quantative and direct as many will need it to be in order justify complaining, but that's just a case of the forest blocking their view of the trees.
I however fail to see how paying for this site, be it directly or indirectly has any bearing on our right to make comment.
And for the benefit of 53T's blood pressure, I'm also unsure how failing to make a mothly cheque out to RBR while being in disagreement with a policy should bring my character into question.
It's quite simple53T
May 2, 2003 7:34 PM
The argument is quite subtle, so I can appreciate your desire to deflect my argument with such a blunt linguistic instrument.

It not your lack of payment that adds color to my image of your character, as none of us has been asked to pay or been presented with the opportunity to reimburse our benefactors directly. Neither is it your state of disagreement that sours my interest in further exploration of your position. We are all slaves to our thoughts, our likes and dislikes no less an inheretance of our experiences than the hue of our eyes is granted by our ancestry.

I submit, we are nothing if not our actions, and it is your action, sir, that draws my ire. Your act of complaining, of insulting the color of the box that contains a gifted fortune. Pray, for what fortune can be more valued by free men than a forum to voice one's own views?

Fear not for the state of my health, but for the constitution of your spirit. Take up the yoke of the worthy argument, fight the good fight of ideas worthy of resolution, but waste not your good name deriding those who work to assist you in your endevour to be heard.

Alas, with all my resources, it is not within me to be more clear than I have already attempted, and so with this, I rest.
yes it is.Frith
May 3, 2003 7:48 AM
I have yet to put forth any disagreement with this site or doug's handling of the post in question. I am, if you'd "read carefully" in agreement with the actions of both. It is only the concept of pay-to-complain that I take issue with. You need not worry, I'll rest comfortably tonight with neither my spirit nor my character marred.
It's quite simpleThe Human G-Nome
May 3, 2003 11:40 AM
if you're not standing on a soapbox, they're currently selling i nice titanium used one on roadbikereview.com.

ps. everyone has every right in the world to complain if they don't like something. just like i have every right in the world to think said person is uptight and unrealistic for bothering to care if that stupid nick thread was moved to another forum.
I dont think anything should be moved!the bull
May 2, 2003 6:29 PM
I think it was fine where it was at!Even if I think someone is wrong or whatever!
"and thats all I gots ta say about that"-Forrest Gump