RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.(14 posts)

Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.ol
May 1, 2003 8:06 PM
Just wandering if the upgrade is worthwhile?
re: Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.Nessism
May 1, 2003 8:14 PM
The "upgrade" will be worthwhile if it makes you feel good. As far as performance goes, I don't think you will notice a significant difference between the two.

Ed
re: Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.aliensporebomb
Jun 4, 2003 7:18 AM
Sigh. My LBS wanted to sell me Ksyrium SSC-SL's for $550
on a day when I had no expendable income. Sigh.

I suspect they would beat my 105 hubs/cxp21 rims wheels
handily.
re: Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.russw19
May 1, 2003 8:15 PM
Having riden both, yea, there is a difference. But the price difference is like $500. Is it that dramatic... heck no! Is the upgrade worthwhile.... at full retail price, no. Not in my opinion.

That may sound odd to anyone who reads my posts because I have riden and owned about everything on the market, but I work in a shop and I pay less than wholesale for all these wheels so I check them out, ride em for a few thousand miles and then sell them for about what I paid for them. But if I didn't have this priviledge, would I ride them, probably not.

Russ
re: Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.feathers mcgraw
May 1, 2003 9:18 PM
Just curious. What's the difference?
I've got both.....johnrg
May 1, 2003 10:50 PM
built the OP's for my ti Lemond and have the Ksyriums on my TCR composite. Both sets seem equal to me so far. Built the OP/DA as a low cost set for my ti bike. Ksyriums are old style have over 10k miles and stayed true. Recently busted a pin in the QR is all. Upgrade is nice if you can afford them. They do look nice and hold up well. You should be able to find them for around $600 on ebay.
I own both as well!the bull
May 2, 2003 3:03 AM
Yes there is a differance.
It probally would also depend on how they are laced(Open Pros)
mine are 3x frt and rear.The Kysriums feel lighter slightly more aero and look better.Neither are as aero as say a eurus but they feel stiffer and are stronger then a light weight aero wheel.
I think bike smart has a ssc sl wheelset for 590 bucks and I think that is a good price!The kysriums are the best "all around wheel"on the market.Strong light and slightly aero.
Keep in mind that even though the spokes are bladed they are still as thick as normal spokes.
re: Much difference bw o/pro & durace & Ksyriums SL.EdSned
May 2, 2003 3:27 AM
Probably re-iterating (sp?) what's been said already but...
I've got both OP's on Daytona hubs & K's, and in terms of weight, "spinning up" (whatever that feels like?) and aero (obviously neither are aero), I can't sense a huge amount of difference, despite the fact K's should be a good deal lighter. What the OP lobby often miss out though when they're ranting about the cost/weight advantages is that K's (and some similar factory wheels) feel very different. The OP's soak up a lot more road chatter on rough surfaces, whilst the K's are a much harsher ride, presumably due to the spokes. Personally, I like the harsh ride (maybe it encourages me to keep the pressure on the pedals more to reduce the discomfort through the saddle!), so whilst I bought the K's with the intention of using the OP's for training, I now find myself almost entirely riding on the K's. They just feel more direct & sharper - the bike feels livelier. If you can spare the cash, I'd go for the K's - no harm in having a back-up set of wheels anyway.
Ed
Another guy who owns bothQuentinCassidy
May 2, 2003 5:57 AM
If you have the money to burn, go ahead and do it. You can't go wrong with ksyriums and plus it helps the economy!

On the other hand, you probably won't be able to tell the difference, and one of my favorite John Cobb quotes is that you'd probably get more performance benefit just by zipping your jersey all the way. But assuming your jersey is already zipped and skin-tight, ksyriums have been TdF stage winners so many times it's silly. Who can argue with that?
..32h 3x rims have won more! ;-) nmSpunout
May 2, 2003 6:07 AM
Not a lot, but,KG 361
May 2, 2003 6:06 AM
I've not had to true my K's in over 2 yrs. That in and of itself is worth it for me. The K's also feel "more connected" to the road-I like the way the rear wheel seems to hold the road, especially in turns, when I have my K's on. You can get them for less than $600 @ Total cycling and other websites. I have yet to break a spoke......
One more data pointRay Sachs
May 2, 2003 6:09 AM
I have a couple of sets of DA/OP wheels and have ridden a friends set of Ksyriums (the first version) several times. I'll be damned if I could feel a difference (assuming the same tires at the same pressure). To the extent that there's a measureable difference, there wasn't one I could perceive and since I don't race, I'd save the money.

-Ray
Spoke Tension on Ksyriums????CaliforniaDreaming
May 2, 2003 10:04 AM
Can the spoke tension on Ksyriums SL's be adjusted? If so would this also affect the ride? Not familiar with the ride of Ksyriums, but believe that spoke tension would have to have something to do with the ride. NO?
Spoke Tension on Ksyriums????russw19
May 2, 2003 2:03 PM
That sounds good in theory, but they use bladed spokes... ever riden a wheel with bladed spokes? They always feel sort of harsh. No matter what the tension is. But one advantage is that bladed spokes are much stronger than regular round spokes and they are more aero too. That's the thing about the Ksyriums. If you bought a Mavic hub, an Open Pro rim, and built them with 24 f 28r bladed spokes, you would have nearly the same wheels. Has anyone tried this and compared them yet? See the problem comparing these two wheels is no one yet that I have read a review of Open Pros from has them built up with bladed spokes. Maybe this summer I will get around to building a pair like that to see it they ride like Ksyriums.

russ