RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Yakima fairings(9 posts)

Yakima fairingsBergMann
May 1, 2003 6:18 PM
Does anyone out there have experience with Yakima fairings? For years I drove my old Accord with just the bare rack setup, which howled like a dog at speeds over 65.
I've now got a new car, and am deliberating whether I should spring for a fairing with my new rack setup.

Anyone know from experience if there _really_ is an appreciable advantage to running a fairing, particularly in regards to noise? Also, is it going to eat up my paint where it contacts the roof?
Here's some posts on the issue from MTBR. . .js5280
May 1, 2003 7:05 PM
Shouldn't make a big different if road bikes are on top ;-)

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efa8030

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efa50ae
Thanks!BergMann
May 2, 2003 5:38 AM
Actually, my new ride has a sunroof as well, so the first thread you posted was doubly helpful.

I was also shocked by one poster's claims that racks made a 5 mpg difference in his cars' fuel efficiency.
I think I'll track my mileage for a couple of tanks before mounting up the rack to see for myself.

Thanks again!
re: Yakima fairingsmahoneyjoe
May 1, 2003 7:48 PM
I'd say quieter is about the only advantage, but I think it was significant; the leading edge of my (older/10 years) fairing has a rubber strip that rests lightly on the roof without skratching (dirt collects behind it)--no big deal; cant speak for newer ones but likely better. Attachments from fairing to rack are/were bendable thin aluminum and attached with wingnuts--looks alittle junky, but its solid.
re: Yakima fairingsc722061
May 1, 2003 7:57 PM
I have a 2002 Yakima fairing for my Honda Accord. It also has the rubber strips that rest on the roof. It is sure quieter to use fairing than the rack alone. I found it is best if move the fairing real close to where the glass meets the roof line. I think it is quieter because it acts as a continuance of the front wind shield glass.
re: Yakima fairingsQuentinCassidy
May 2, 2003 6:02 AM
Yes, there is a difference. The sound changes from the howling you described to plain white noise. It's still plenty loud, but better. That's the only way they can get away with charging an arm and a leg for a piece of cheap plastic.

It comes with little clear stickers that go on the roof underneath the contact points so no damage is done. I don't know how hard it is to get those stickers off though.
fuel mileage, and fairingjohnmyster
May 2, 2003 7:41 AM
Regards to the post about mileage, and 5 mpg being a bit questionable.

I commute in a '96 Sable, 25 mpg, everyday, mixed highway with trips into town, with the rack (3 trays, 3 wheel forks, and fairing, yakima) on the car.

Going to races is different. Pure highway style easy driving. With three bikes and three front wheels on top (and three people/luggage in the car) I am lucky to get 21 to 22 mpg at the same speeds. It's usually below 21.

Maybe he meant his drops alot when there are bikes on it. This is my guess.

I do have the fairing, but I have never had the rack without it. Most of the noise I hear, is not so much from the middle of the rack, but sounds like the towers cause quite a bit of noise out at the edge of the roofline at the doors. The fairing probably keeps the trays from "howling" like giant flutes. I'd say go for it. It's not that expensive, helps the rack look a bit better, and gives a place to put your bike brand loyalty stickers.
3 mpg less with bikes, 1 mpg less bare (Thule, no fairing) nmDougSloan
May 2, 2003 2:01 PM
re: Yakima fairingsmapei boy
May 2, 2003 1:54 PM
Like BergMann, I thank everybody for their opinions on this subject, as I've been contemplating getting the fairing, too. As much as I love all the back-biting, flaming and flirting that goes on here, it's threads like these that make me visit this site so often.