RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bike lust poll(56 posts)

Bike lust pollelviento
May 1, 2003 10:16 AM
How do you rank the desirability of these frames? Please take price into consideration.

C40
Prince
TCR Carbon
Fondriest P4
5900

For C40, consider non US prices. Has anyone ACTUALLY paid $3800 for a C40 frame anyway?


Fondriest........nmafrican
May 1, 2003 10:21 AM
I wouldnt say no to a C40, but my Meraks are all I need. (nm)onespeed
May 1, 2003 10:23 AM
re: Bike lust pollBruno S
May 1, 2003 10:27 AM
5900 - not interested, very common frame, everybody has one.

Giant Carbon - nice but you can now get them at Performance. Not what I would call an exclusive bike.

Fondriest Carbon - I just can't live with that smashed top tube.

The Pinarello and Colnago - Now you are talking. I would probably choose the C40 because I'm not very fond of AL.
re: Bike lust pollgtx
May 1, 2003 10:30 AM
I'd maybe like the C40 if it was cheaper and had joined the 21st century with a 1 1/8 hs. And I'd like the Giant more if I wasn't somewhere between a M and L in terms of size. I never liked the OCLV and don't really care for the others. The only high tech/throw-away Euro bike I really lust after is the Merckx Team SC. But I take a Richard Sachs or tons of other US handbuilt steel frames over any of these.
Pinarello Prince, hands down (drool) nmJS Haiku Shop
May 1, 2003 10:35 AM
re: Bike lust polltoronto-rider
May 1, 2003 10:35 AM
C-40, if I won the lottery, great paint job, but delicate
TCR -my next bike, great reviews and cheap
Trek - to many people on them, boring paint job(except for project 1)
P4- best value for $ considering it's original price, unique as they no longer make them
Prince- don't like the paint, look of the tubes, apart from Trek the ugliest one.
Why IS the Fondriest's top tube like that anyways?lampshade
May 1, 2003 10:35 AM
Let me guess- Increased Stiffness?

My totally arbitrary rankings:
C40, Prince, P4, TCR, 5900
I would probably take a Dogma over all of them.
Fell off the truck................................. nmMR_GRUMPY
May 1, 2003 10:39 AM
Oversized TT squished for knee clearance? nmSpunout
May 1, 2003 10:43 AM
They use Dedacciai tubing...No_sprint
May 1, 2003 10:52 AM
it's a style thing and nothing more from my understanding. Ciocc also uses Dedacciai carbon tubing for their newest carbon model. Same squished thing. I'll take a Parlee and a Sachs, thanks.
Weird. It's not for me, but thanks for the info....(nm)lampshade
May 1, 2003 10:59 AM
I don't like it either. Fondi Top Carbon doesn't have it. nmNo_sprint
May 1, 2003 11:04 AM
None of the above...52-16SS
May 1, 2003 10:43 AM
If I had to rank them however, it would be:

Prince
P4
C40
5900
TCR

That said, if I had to spend that kind of money on a bike, this would be it: Pegoretti CCKMP (Cocaine Can't Kill My Pain) Art on wheels
..that would be a beautiful Marcelo, EOM steel, drooool. nmSpunout
May 1, 2003 11:08 AM
Second that or a GGM nmgreg n
May 1, 2003 11:51 AM
C40 Non-HP: sizes, colours, history, Colnago. nmSpunout
May 1, 2003 10:44 AM
Of those named, Princegeeker
May 1, 2003 11:01 AM
but in practice I'd probably go for the cheaper 5900. My own fantasy frame is either Pegoretti Marcelo or custom lugged steel. I'll decide if/when I actually get close to spending the $ ;-).
None of the aboveflying
May 1, 2003 11:21 AM
This is made for me
Hey flying, where is that pic from??Ride-Fly
May 1, 2003 1:07 PM
looks like an interesting bike vacation.
Hey flying, where is that pic from??flying
May 1, 2003 1:50 PM
That is the Volcano National Park
Volcano Hawaii ( The Big Island )
I ride around that crater most week day mornings before work ;-)
Hard to believe but even though it is here in Hawaii it is at 4000' elevation so it can get cold ( 30's ) but I know thats nothing to complain about after seeing what some of you have to ride in.
re: Bike lust pollFTMD
May 1, 2003 11:29 AM
Can't say I'm crazy about any of them, but that's probably the best looking 5900 I've seen in a while.
first dump the american bikes off the list...sievers11
May 1, 2003 11:32 AM
First of all you have to dump all the american bikes, these are not muscle car, they are road bikes. Only the stylish can be considered and the stylish are from Italy.

From there you need to consider the classic nature of a fine road bike. It need to look good 10-15 years from now...no passing fads only collectors.

1 - Colnago (champaign and supermodel lust)
2 - Pinarello (wine and cheese lust)

4 - Fondriest (cool, but a little too fruity with the sea hourse top tube.)

9 - Trek (TDF history)
10 - Griant (TDF history, but dorky geometry)
Changed my mind, nobody's got one of these...sievers11
May 1, 2003 12:25 PM
Can we drill that crank like we did with super records?n.m.koala
May 1, 2003 5:56 PM
C-40RJF
May 1, 2003 12:22 PM
I wouldn't refuse any of 'em, but for lust factor I'd rank 'em:

1. C-40
2. Pinarello
3. Fondriest
4. Trek (very nice bikes, but the lust factor of a Ford Taurus)
5. Giant (also very nice bikes, but the lust factor of a Saturn sedan)

My current personal lust is handmade american steel (a locally-made Vanilla, to be specific).
The fires of lust have cooled to glimmers of curiosity.djg
May 1, 2003 12:22 PM
Lots of things are cool, but the CT1 is keeping a reasonable lid on the true bike lust for now.

On your list I'd be happy to pick up any of them for free, and I'd probably go C40, Fondriest, Prince, Giant, and Trek, in descending order of curiosity, if not desire (had a 5200 for a while and sold it--liked it but didn't love it).

Others you ask? Spectrum Ti, Pegoretti GGM, and for pure, man-that's-purty-appeal, a custom from Richard Moon, with the deep blue paint and contrasting white lugs, like the one on his web site.
Well these two and a few more!!!Morgan
May 1, 2003 12:26 PM
Fondriest P4, like the out of the box thinking. The C40 is nice also, But if I had my choice I would go with a Merlin CIELO!!!

"Thus, was born the CIELO - a unique fusing of sophisticated carbon fiber with finely crafted titanium to produce a bicycle worthy of its name, which by the way, is Italian for the heavens."

I would also have to give a look at the Eddy Merckx Team SC.
re: Bike lust pollMellowVelo
May 1, 2003 12:28 PM
The 5900 you've got there is my bike.. how can I lust over it ;)

I don't really have any great deal of lust for any of the others though.. I am currently lusting over an Orbea Starship Carbon, w/non sploping geometry and record components. I can't justify the purchase so that will pass.
Why not one of these?ClydeTri
May 1, 2003 12:38 PM
My fave..getting my first gold one built up soon....have a red and two versions of blue already!
Yaaawn! They're all NEW! (nm)Humma Hah
May 1, 2003 12:40 PM
nm
agree. wouldnt look twice. nmSteve_0
May 1, 2003 12:55 PM
My 2 cents...bicyclerepairman
May 1, 2003 3:20 PM
A mid to late 1970's Carlton, Claude Butler, Bob Jackson, or a Raleigh International/Professional (with the Carlton frame). From this side of the pond, an Albert Eisentraut or a Mikkelsen. Or a Schwinn Paramount. And if there are any Volares being given away, please let me know.....
From now on, just call me 'Bike lust troll' nmbicyclerepairman
May 1, 2003 3:23 PM
My 2 bikes ...Humma Hah
May 2, 2003 5:51 AM
1971 Schwinn cantilever cruiser and a 1974 Paramount fixie/SS with lots of chrome. Those excite me. New bikes ... well, all bike gotta start out new at some point, and some of them are quite fine machines, but there are so MANY of 'em, and they've not got any stories to tell.

Give me a bike that's old enough to drink! The cruiser's old enough to run for the Senate.
Don't want nothin' but a nice, comfy Ultegra Rivendell (nm)cory
May 1, 2003 12:58 PM
Fond TOP CARBON=1, Prince=2, C40=3, Giant/Trek=nope (nm)terry b
May 1, 2003 1:50 PM
Fond TOP CARBON........I agree, and mines should be here soon!lanterne rouge
May 1, 2003 3:52 PM
Can't wait, Campy Record with carbon cranks and Bora G3's, will post pics after the build up!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
Would trade them all for strong legs and a Huffy. That would be fun! (nm)rockbender
May 1, 2003 1:56 PM
Would trade them all for strong legs and a cantilever Schwinn.Humma Hah
May 1, 2003 2:27 PM
... That IS fun! ;-)
re: Bike lust pollHeron Todd
May 1, 2003 2:20 PM
I agree with the suggestions for a Richard Sachs, a Vanilla, or a Rivendell. Classic, American steel from top builders.

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
couldn't care less; I just want time to rideDougSloan
May 1, 2003 3:41 PM
I just sold two $5,000 bikes because I don't have time to ride. Time is far more precious than any bike.

Doug
time is precious indeedridingthegyro
May 1, 2003 6:16 PM
it seems ironical that time seems to pass much faster now that I'm retired, probably because I'm spending more time on things I love to do, like riding
You're just bitter...CHRoadie
May 2, 2003 6:52 AM
...because a Celeste Bianchi wasn't on the list. :-)
maybeDougSloan
May 2, 2003 6:56 AM
I could fix that, though.

When/if I get another expensive bike, it's going to end up Celeste, even if it says Colnago or Cervelo on it. :-)

Doug
Marriage and bikesmickey-mac
May 1, 2003 3:58 PM
Since getting my Strong Foco, I feel like one of those husbands who swear they never even look at another woman after getting married. In my case, I mean it . . . at least when it comes to lusting after other bikes. ;-)
I thought the same thing with my Dean,sn69
May 1, 2003 5:02 PM
and then the lug-bug bit hard. In order to satisfy The Boss, however, I have devised a plan. I'm going to get her a Riv. Romulus before I spring the "requirement" for the new bike. ...Either that or I'll buy something as a frame/fork combo and build it up while she's still in NOLA (I'll be in SD a month ahead of her). Carl does lug work too.....
I thought the same thing with my Dean,mickey-mac
May 1, 2003 5:33 PM
Carl makes lugged frames. Though I haven't seen one in person, they look pretty nice on the site. I think if I had 10 seconds to choose a frame other than Strong, I'd pick a Steelman. I've never met a Steelman owner who was less than ecstatic with his frame.
Agreedsn69
May 2, 2003 5:41 AM
Steelman has amassed a quiet, almost cultish following, and his bikes have some of the nicest TIGing I've seen. I thought the SF bank robber/Steelman guy was hysterical...dumb as hell, but funny nonetheless. If one really wanted a "blend-in" getaway bike, I'd say C'Dale, Trek, Spec. or Giant would make a better choice. Steelman though? Not a chance, particularly not in persimmon orange.
Actually I am starting to lust after one of these!!!!!the bull
May 1, 2003 7:10 PM
..now if that was a fixie, we'd be talkin! nmSpunout
May 2, 2003 3:51 AM
Fondriestpeter1
May 1, 2003 7:37 PM
Then Trek, Prince and Gint...Five years ago I would have said the Prince first, but frankly Pinarellos are so common around here (NYC) that it takes a lot to turn my head these days...on any given Sunday, there are more Pinarellos on 9A on the way to Nyack than there are in the pro peleton...
re: Bike lust pollzippi
May 1, 2003 8:24 PM
the c-40 is great, but more of a retirement bike. rich old mans bike. prince is also nice if you weigh over 200lbs, otherwise it ride like a clunky truck. the p4 has potential. i just can't live with that dent in the top tube. i think that's the reason cc got 'em so cheap. no one was buying them. and of course the trek...everyone has one, like driving a ford. no offense, i have a ford.
my choices:
carbon: eddy merckx gx2 or de rosa's king (fragile)
ti: litespeed vortex (durable)
al: carrera hercules, casati mu2 or colnago dream b-stay
steel: pegoretti
re: Bike lust pollpina
May 1, 2003 9:40 PM
Not interested at all in the Trek or Giant. Prefer the Fondriest top carbon and C40. As far as Pinarello, i would like a Dogma or an Opera carbon bike. Fondriest doesn't make any of the twisted top tube frames anymore because they didn't get exclusive rights for it from Deda.
re: Bike lust pollmackgoo
May 2, 2003 4:43 AM
Sorry, I'd go for a simple relatively practical Bianchi XL carbon, or maybe one of those Kuboto's or what ever they are, they really look nice. But I'm a Bianchi guy so I guess my choice is made for me.
Calfee Dragonfly for me!theeatkins
May 2, 2003 7:32 AM
I ride a Luna Pro now.