RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Are most roadies anal?(33 posts)

Are most roadies anal?ClydeTri
May 1, 2003 6:33 AM
YOu go for a ride, do you make sure you start your computer, check the mileage and average speed frequently? Base your rides on how much mileage you can accumlate?

Did you do this a kid or did you just ride to have fun? What is really more important for example, getting that average speed for a known ride up to a new mph, or, stopping and watchign those deer cross the stream?

My point, dont loose sight of what really is important in life. I stopped last night while riding to watch the fish in a creek from the bridge. I identified bluegill, bass, and others. While doing this several "roadies" in their pro-looking kits zoomed by...maybe they should have stopped and reflected also? Just my thoughts on this pretty morning...
Yes and...PEDDLEFOOT
May 1, 2003 6:42 AM
you capitalized the o in you on your first word of your message. :-)
LOL:-) nmDave Hickey
May 1, 2003 6:44 AM
re: I am incredibly anal abougt mileage, but....TNSquared
May 1, 2003 6:43 AM
that also doesn't mean I don't take in the scenery and enjoy myself as well. I want to know how far I ride, and I like to train hard some days because I compete in tri's, but I also attend social rides for conversation, frienship scenery, etc. Heck, we often stop for junk food.

So when you see a "roadie" zoom by, don't assume that is all they ever do on the bike.
the forest, the treesmohair_chair
May 1, 2003 6:55 AM
Perhaps those roadies in their pro-looking kits stopped to look at fish at some point down the road. Or maybe they stopped to look at fish earlier. Or maybe they just don't care about fish at all and prefer sheep or cows.

What is important in life is to live your life. Equally important is leaving everyone else alone to live theirs. If you get contentment from looking at fish, that's great. Others might get contentment from riding as fast or as far as they can. Maybe it was the first ride of the year for these folks. Maybe they were on brand new bikes. Just smile and wish them well and go back to identifying fish. But don't claim that your means of contentment is better than theirs. That's the height of arrogance.
me thinks..ClydeTri
May 1, 2003 7:02 AM
you are possibly reading way too much into my post..it wasnt meant to denigrate or insult...just observations....
FunnyKristin
May 1, 2003 7:06 AM
Just about the opposite of your first post on RBR.
perhapsmohair_chair
May 1, 2003 7:18 AM
A lot has happened in my life since then.
A lot has happened in the world.

I'd like to think I've mellowed somewhat, but what I'm afraid of is that everyone else around me has become more uptight!
re: perhapsKristin
May 1, 2003 8:38 AM
That's good--not that you were extremely obnoxious before, the difference just struck me. Mellow is always good. I'm trying to mellow myself. The world does seem to be getting more tense. I've considered moving, but I fear I'd have to leave the planet to find what I'm looking for.
a top fave quote that I like..ClydeTri
May 1, 2003 8:57 AM
"My mother used to say to me, 'Elwood' - she always called me Elwood - 'Elwood, in this world you must be oh-so clever, or oh-so pleasant.' For years I was clever. I'd recommend pleasant - and you may quote me." -- Elwood P. Dowd
Yes and noSpecialTater
May 1, 2003 7:02 AM
I live in urban Memphis and many of my rides are full of scenery (as well as stop lights and stop signs). It's hard to really put together a long stretch of "stop-less" riding, which is sometimes frustrating, but sometimes enlightening. I stopped for a hs rugby match last week. Last night I rode the Riverwalk MUT (mostly peds) and watched the set up for Memphis in May on the river. That was interesting, but I get frustrated when I get home and my avg is 14 mph.
I'm not...does that disqualify me as a roadie?Kristin
May 1, 2003 7:02 AM
I tried to be a roadie, but I'm not. The past 2 weeks I've really enjoyed my "base" miles. I ride when I feel like it, and I leave the computer at home. I head up to the Fox River Trail where I go at my own pace which is sometimes over 20 MPH and sometimes under 10 MPH. I smile and say hello to all the poeple I pass--ignorant to the brands and textiles that adorn them--and they smile back. I'm often engaged in short races with children and love to see the elderly gentleman and his schitzu--who rides like a queen at the front of his Schwinn cruiser.

The other day, as I rode under an overpass, I heard a little girl call out from above, "Look, look! Its a bicyclist!!" That made my day, and finally I discovered the value of my $51 club jersey, $45 Voler shorts, $.0 Addidais shoes and $1357 road bike.
A little girl's admiration - priceless (darn M/C commercials)wilki5
May 1, 2003 7:34 AM
are you threatening me, bungholio?JS Haiku Shop
May 1, 2003 7:10 AM
(from dictionary.com. check out the antonym!)

anal

adj 1: of or related to the anus; "anal thermometer" 2: (psychoanalysis) a stage in psychosexual development when the child's interest is concentrated on the anal region; fixation at this stage is said to result in orderliness, meanness, stubbornness, compulsiveness, etc. [ant: oral]
generally yes, but not always nmDougSloan
May 1, 2003 7:26 AM
Do you mean...PsyDoc
May 1, 2003 7:30 AM
...anal-retentive or anal-expulsive? Also, is "anal retentive" hyphenated?
retentative.. nmClydeTri
May 1, 2003 7:34 AM
nm
Yes, but only about bikes and cycling. The rest ofOldEdScott
May 1, 2003 7:38 AM
my life is total chaos. It's wierd, but I think the bike is where I find order. Apparently I need a couple of hours of orderliness a day, or at least know here to find it.
Order in a chaotic life...Fredrico
May 1, 2003 1:20 PM
Yeah, that's me, too, OldEd. When nothing is going right, I hop on my bike and get going, and all of a sudden everything pulls together: legs "on top of the pedals," heart beating purposefully, all systems opening up and jamming in unison with the bike. The world passes by in a stately rhythm, and I effortlessly connect with all of it. What a life! That sure isn't anal.
prefer the missionary position..colker
May 1, 2003 7:41 AM
my only computer is the one i'm writing on. my bike takes me to places. it's a mode of transportation. i don't know how much it weighs neither how fast i rode. don't know about cadence either.
ride a road bike because it's smooth and fast. it looks good too although every good bike, be it road, mountain, touring etc.. looks good.
re: Are most roadies anal?Spoiler
May 1, 2003 7:47 AM
Cycling: Push down with your left foot, then push down with your right foot. Repeat process. Anything beyond this is convolution and a recipe for anal retention.
You can't get anal over rocket science.
I checked my logbook, averaged out my daily "anal-retentive"....ryder1
May 1, 2003 7:56 AM
rating, plotted it in Excel, and yes, I am anal-retentive 98.4356% of the time.
dinner and beers, my friend. dinner and beers. nm.Steve_0
May 1, 2003 8:06 AM
re: Are most roadies anal?, No, all of us are. nmJuanmoretime
May 1, 2003 8:10 AM
Not alwaysvelocity
May 1, 2003 8:10 AM
ClydeTri I think you're raising a good point.

When I ride my better bike, I answer (most often) in the affirmative to your two questions in your first paragraph. When I'm on my beater, I tend (well, usually) to take things a little slower (it doesn't even have a computer!).

The thing is, though, the rush from riding a road bike comes from the speed, the smooth and brisk turning of pedals. It's hard not to want to go fast most of the time. And when you riding fast, it's better and safer to pay attention to the road than to sightsee.

That said, this year I'm devoting some rides, or portions of rides, to miscellaneous fun on the bike. An off-road turn here, a diversion to the beach there, etc. For me, measuring every minute of every ride, drains the fun out.
I tend to be anti-analMR_GRUMPY
May 1, 2003 8:20 AM
I always get a kick out of the actions of some people. I've got one guy that I race with. If he has a 2 1/2 hour ride planned in his training log, and he gets back in 2:20, he will ride around the block for 10 minutes. If I have a hard ride planned, and somebody I know is having trouble, I'll drop back and ride with them. The way I see it, I can get just a good workout pulling someone along at 21 mph as I can riding in a pack at 25. If I have to cut a ride short, so what, there is always tomorrow.
Not me - definitely oral and phallic. nmdzrider
May 1, 2003 8:26 AM
re: No need to stop--Pick longer bridgeselom
May 1, 2003 8:33 AM
I too choose to reflect in my pro kit--the other day I spotted a largemouth bass while crossing a bridge, luckily I have 20-10 vision. It was darting around in the shallow water. The key is picking longer bridges clyde--then you can still hammer and see the fishies.
It's "lose" not "loose"............;-) nmTower
May 1, 2003 8:36 AM
There is a time and place for everything.the bull
May 1, 2003 8:52 AM
I do what I want at any given point in my life.
I try not to plan things out to much.
I like to ride my bike.
Once I start to ride I dont like to stop until I am done!
I'm more vaginal. nmeschelon
May 1, 2003 9:05 AM
LOL.nmtoronto-rider
May 1, 2003 10:24 AM
some are even penile.moschika
May 1, 2003 9:24 AM
some i hear won't give you the time of day unless you have campy record or dura ace.

but most of whom i've met have been very nice.