RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any advice on how to handle this situation???(25 posts)

Any advice on how to handle this situation???abicirider
Apr 30, 2003 10:24 AM
Try to make this as short as possible, anyways on one of my regular training ride routes, more than one time now there are these high school kids that are trying to impress there friends a few weeks ago they threw a empty 20 oz coke bottle at me no big deal to me, well last night same kids came up behind me in ford explore didn't know it was them. I had a slight tail wind and was doing between 26-28 mph next think I felt something crashing into my left thigh looked and this time they nailed me with a 20 oz coke bottle about 3/4 full, my main concern is hey I can live with it hitting me in the leg but what happens if it gets thrown into my front or rear wheel,I have a feeling it would not be a pretty sight. and not only if it happens to me but there are a couple other guys that ride this route as well.
I think what really gets me, is yes I lost my cool and started yelling as they went by, well up the road a few hundered yards is a cemetary they have the nerve to pull in the cemetary wait untill I'm just about there (I was going to not be nice) then they take off right before I can catch them laughing their heads off. I couldn't get all their tag plate number.
After the first time this happened a few weeks back there was a sheriff down the road a few miles parked I told them, basically they couldn't care a less.
Anyways just any advice on how you would handle this situation I know they are high school kids and I know what high school they probably go to, guess I could look for their car there at the high school but I have better ways to spend my time.
Oh well part of the territory I guess I'm just afraid if they keep it up somebody is going to get hurt pretty bad.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Be Safe Out On The Roads!!!!!!!!!
Ray Still
Mooresville, NC
P.S.
I refuse to change my riding routes and let these kids win just another one of my thoughts.
Thanks again
re: Any advice on how to handle this situation???russw19
Apr 30, 2003 10:36 AM
This may depend on the laws of NC, but in Florida where I live that could be two things.. attempt to injure with a missile, or burglary of a conveyence. The way it can become burglary (a felony in Florida) is because they struck you while attempting to commit another crime, throwing of a missile in public. I would carry a pen and a piece of paper, or even better, a camera and get the license number. If you are in county boundries, take it to the local sheriffs office, city goes to local police (in my area at least) but take it to the locals that have authority over where it happened. Maybe the last time it happened in city jurisdiction so when you told a county sheriff, he didn't want to intervene... stupid, but some cops think only about the paperwork.

If the cops don't do anything, take your evidence to the district attorney's office. Keep the bottle they throw at you. If you have a pen, write down the license plate, desricptions if you can get it of the kids, how many what time, where, did you crash... everything about the incident you can think of, even if it seems irrelevent to you... go straight to the DA's office and tell them you ARE PRESSING charges, not you want to, but you are. Make them aware that you were injured, your life was threatened, and this is not an isolated incident. If they don't seem helpful, let them know they work for you and you are pressing charges...

That's about the best thing you can do.

Russ
Fully agreewilki5
Apr 30, 2003 11:40 AM
Have to agree. Get there license and go after them. Once you're in high school you know what's right and wrong. If you're stupid enough to do something because its "cool" then too bad.
couple thoughtsDougSloan
Apr 30, 2003 10:37 AM
First, this thread may interest you: http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efcbb32

I would go the the sheriff's office and make a formal complaint. The fact that they are repeating what amounts to assault and maybe assault with a deadly weapon, harrassment, littering, and wreckless driving might get them interested.

Some states allow you to run a license plate number for the owner's name and address; I would do that if I could, and then contact the parents.

Take along a camera and get pictures, if you can.

Doug
D-cell batteries.PseuZQ
Apr 30, 2003 10:45 AM
No easy answer...If it were me I probably *would* look for their car in the high school lot. Then find out who they were from school administrators, then find out who their parents were. Their parents probably won't care, but it's worth a try.

Failing that, I'd stalk them.

(BTW, I spent three years in boarding prep school. My senior year, one of the most "popular" kids in school was involved in throwing some stuff at a cyclist from a car. He got expelled two weeks before graduation. [insert Nelson Muntz "Ha-Ha!" here.])
re: Any advice on how to handle this situation???Beaver
Apr 30, 2003 10:56 AM
I have kinda the same problem. I live about 1 mile from a high school and about 2 miles from an elementary school. After a few near misses with high school kids and moms picking up their children at the elementary school, I've decided to not ride until school is out. Meaning 3pm or later. I'd rather take my chances with rush hour traffic. I didn't change my route, just the time I ride.
Where's you creativity and guts?Spoiler
Apr 30, 2003 11:59 AM
This is sad. Back in my day, when bikers had a notion and a sack, this situation would be money in the bank. Of course, we knew how to take a fall, get some good WWF "juice" flowing, and aside from a good mechanic, our best friend was a sheister lawyer.
Why, any member of our gang, on any given day, could have staged an accident in any police parking lot. These bikers nowadays are too worried about time off the bike, doing the right thing, and avoiding unnecessary surgery. Sure, they dream of the big money settlements, but they aren't willing to put in the time and sacrifice.
Give me directions to this "dangerous school zone" and I'll show you punks how it's done.
You're no son of mine.
ROTFL (hate to encourage you, Spoiler) nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 30, 2003 12:04 PM
you sound like my kind of client ;-) nmDougSloan
Apr 30, 2003 12:58 PM
What are the local laws on carrying a handgun?purplepaul
Apr 30, 2003 11:48 AM
It's dicey but it sounds like a case could be made for defending yourself in a potentially deadly situation, especially if the police will not take your complaints seriously.

I would call the principle of the high school and notify them of what is happening. It's possible that they will know who drives what car and will be willing to contact the parents.

I'm much more into getting even, though that sometimes isn't in my best interest. I'd find the car and put a potato in the tailpipe. According to a relative of mine who is a mechanic, that'll really screw up their day. Sand in the gas tank is another possibility, depending on how much you want to screw them.
I'm with ya...No_sprint
Apr 30, 2003 12:02 PM
Depends upon who you're mixin' it with... High school kids with cars and gang mayhem mentality could be trouble if they see ya on the road again on the bike. Trouble enough for them to make a really big stupid mistake and hit ya.

more *anonymous* fun includes sugar in the gas tank, brake fluid across the hood, brick in window.

Just a couple weeks ago I noticed a rock in a cactus planter of mine, various cactus broken, etc. I figured it was kids from a local school, some of whom use my street as a route home. It had been going on a few days so I decided to *hang out* one day for another possible occurance. Sure enough two little f#$ks break a huge one. I proceeded to give these two one heck of a mighty big scare. My SO says I can be VERY scary, I agreed. I also followed them to their homes after scaring the crap out of them. They not only stopped bugging my stuff, they now take an entirely different route home.

Good luck, I hate this type of stuff. :)
Or vaseline on windshield wiper bladesspeedisgood
Apr 30, 2003 4:46 PM
They won't see it till it rains. Er, hopefully, they won't be behind you when it rains . . .
Now you're talkingSpoiler
Apr 30, 2003 12:07 PM
Make an example out of them. Once words gets out among those bastards that "Senior Soup" is on the menu, you'll get a wide birth.

Sand is for surfers. Plus, it settles out of solution to the bottom of the tank. Sugar dissolves. Pour some in an old lawn mower and see the results.
Partial tag # + vehicle type = dead to rights....MrDan
Apr 30, 2003 12:03 PM
If you know any of the digits, plus the model plus color,
it's very easy to track down the vehicle owner... the police should do this and contact the vehicle owner...
If the police are not helpful, you have to get their attention... as one person said, the D/A office. You owe it to yourself and other cyclists to pursue. Perhaps scaring them (the kids) of the implications will have a long-term positive effect... eventually. Also, ride with the other guys on the route when you can... (safety in numbers) until you clear up this cr--.

Good luck
-D
while i'm all for stalking and midnight ops,...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 30, 2003 12:14 PM
it won't teach them anything, and they'll continue, either with you, or the next unlucky cyclist, pedestrian, etc.

agree with other posters--get make/model of car. that doesn't mean go out and ask to be harrassed again. check into the school parking lot while they're in class. not sure how far school principal would help, but take it to the law. i'm unfamiliar with processes as relative to the DA, but i've found that constant dogging of the local PD most successful.

the bad thing about sticking to your guns is that they will keep at it until they're stopped. the bad thing about not handling the situation early (now) is that it will get worse, and not just their interaction with you--they'll branch out, eventually (for sure). perhaps the worst thing is that these hateful kids will become hateful and malicious adults with larger cars, more insurance, and kids of their own to corrupt. a lesson now might save *many* incidents down the road. IMHO.

good luck and be safe. of course, remember to keep the "stalking and midnight operations" in reserve until after the situation is well under control. and, as i've been reminded on this board, it takes a looong time to deflate monster truck tires.

don't get arrested.

-J
Sort of reminds me of an incident from a few years ago..PseuZQ
Apr 30, 2003 12:23 PM
Where a group of high school kids thought it would be funny to steal a stop sign from the intersection of two rural two-lane highways. Funny, that is, until there was a fatal accident there and the kids got sentenced to like a Bazillion years in prison. They were all over the television news magazines: "Wahh wahhh wahhh!..It was just a prank. Why should we go to prison??" (That sentence has probably been changed so some BS community service sentence.)
Sort of reminds me of an incident from a few years ago..c722061
Apr 30, 2003 12:43 PM
Man! I want to live where you are at. Just a few weeks ago at where I live, two spoil brats stole a stop sign at the intersection and caused one fatal crash, 2 injures. They were put into jail for a few days but were not charged because the locals thought it would be too much for their "harmless" prank???
Link:PseuZQ
Apr 30, 2003 1:08 PM
http://www.cnn.com/US/9706/20/stop.sign/index.html
Sort of reminds me of an incident from a few years ago..FTMD
Apr 30, 2003 5:30 PM
This will probably fall off the board and not get read, but where did you hear that they were not charged? As far as I've heard, they were released but charges are still pending. What they are to be charged with is up in the air. Again, that's what I last heard. Moreover, the dead victim's father is asking that charges not be pressed. Sad, sad, sad. I ride in that area all the time. I'll ask around and see what I can find out.
I didn't -- was just speculating.PseuZQ
Apr 30, 2003 6:53 PM
Hadn't gone back to read the story before I posted that speculation.

Admittedly, the story has nothing to do with cycling, but seemed appropriate.
re: 'deflating monster truck tires'QJ
Apr 30, 2003 12:38 PM
remove valve stem cover, drop BB (or similiar size rock) into valve stem cover, screw valve stem cover back on, walk away.

Some ah.. 'kids' uh, told me that, in my younger days.
re: Any advice on how to handle this situation???QJ
Apr 30, 2003 12:33 PM
Man that really sucks, I feel your pain! I was riding home from work here in Portland, OR when some kids in a car decided to get within 2 inches of me and honk their VERY loud car horn, then screech off laughing. The adrenalin rush let me keep up with them for about a quarter mile, and I realized I was going to catch up with them at the stop light (ready to climb through their open window, too) I noticed a cop car parked in the parking lot of a safeway at that intersection so I thought I'd do the 'mature' thing and pulled in and told the cops. They just laughed at me, asked what I wanted them to do, and rolled off in the opposite direction laughing. I guess I'm glad I didn't catch up with them, I'm against violence but I was in a rage at that moment, and I probably would have hurt one of them and then gotten stomped hard. I still dunno what to do when people honk... when I rode my motorcycle I carried pennies in my pocket to huck at cars that didn't see me and tried to cut me off (more to let them know someone was there than to mess up their car - pals I know carried large bolts and stuff) but on a bicycle I feel slightly more fragile :D
tell their mummy and daddy...Frith
Apr 30, 2003 12:48 PM
seriously..stake them out follow them home and if their parents are at all concerned about the actions of their son/daughter then the kid will lose any car privleges they once enjoyed.
That said of all the sensible options that may be available to you, questions like these always invoke a little voice inside my head that says..."suggest a good $h!t kicking!" I'm afraid that if anything like this were to happen to me, my first instinct would be to convert my displeasure into the offenders severe discomfort.
Write a letter to the Sheriff explaning what happened.MikeBiker
Apr 30, 2003 5:37 PM
I had something thrown at me from a school bus and observed an object thrown out of the same bus at another rider who was ahead of me. I saw a sheriff's deputy along side the road a short time later and informed him as to what I had seen. He took a report and to my susprise called me the next day to relay what he had done. He had contacted the school, found out what bus was on that road at the time I saw the problem and talked to the bus driver. Although the culprit was not identifible, the deputy recommened to the school that if they could not control the students on the bus that they weld the windows shut!

Mike
R E A D T H I S................2melow
May 1, 2003 6:38 AM
You owe it to yourself and other cyclists to get these kids arrested so they will learn a lesson. In my town of Fort Collins, three kids thought they were being cute and almost killed several people.

http://bicyclecolo.org/site/page.cfm?PageID=331

http://bicyclecolo.org/site/page.cfm?PageID=332

http://bicyclecolo.org/site/page.cfm?PageID=349

http://bicyclecolo.org/site/page.cfm?PageID=310