RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


J was the poser getting dropped last night!(31 posts)

J was the poser getting dropped last night!JS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 5:48 AM
of course, wearing "racerware" and on an "expensive bike" in an "area populated by cyclists", i was "all show and no go" on an easy, sub-tempo 20-miler. first time on the bike since last weekend's longish ride, and wearing whatever was at the top of the drawer ("decked out in team jersey(s) and shorts").

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efcb722

i'd like to thank everyone who's instinctively aggressive when chancing upon another cyclist on your ride route. it's refreshing to be the recipient of arrogance and rudeness, especially in a town with such a small cycling community. i do tire so of that "friently community spirit".

wow, i have so much to learn!

-J

disclaimer: no offense intended except to those i intended to offend. i'm not targeting "t-moore"; T's post was just the most recent of a long history of "dropping the posers" posts. if you fit the mold, try being a little friendlier--not everybody's going full bore to drop YOU. use your head and your mouth before using your legs. "hello" and "nice day" go a long way. things are not always as they seem. WAKE THE #$%& UP!
Bah! Stick to your ride goals, be proud and pose! nmSpunout
Apr 29, 2003 5:58 AM
re: J was the poser getting dropped last night!seejoy
Apr 29, 2003 6:20 AM
In the same vein. I went out Sunday for my 4th ride of the new season,(ok, I'm slow getting going!!) a pleasent 24 miles at an easy pace.I was in a great mood, the weather was fantastic and the trees were in bloom. Said hello to every one I passed on or off a bike and it was the "decked out" roadies going in the other direction that snubbed the greeting every time. They were not going any faster than I was so they could not have been out of breath on the flat section of road we were on, they just looked at me without expression,if they even bothered to turn their head, and it did feel like a snub.Geezz,at least smile if you can not say hello in return! Last season was my first on a rode bike and I really love it! Yet,I wonder sometimes where all the "friendly" roadies are...
re: J was the poser getting dropped last night!JS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 6:24 AM
"They were not going any faster than I was so they could not have been out of breath on the flat section of road we were on..."

Remember, everybody's different.
On snubs.Steve_0
Apr 29, 2003 6:52 AM
99 percent of my riding is done on an crusty-old, 15 year old FG with moustaches. I often ride in jeans or camp-style shorts (who knows when I'll stop for dinner or beers). Almost always snubbed by the roadies, despite the fact that I can hang, if not drop many of them.

On the other hand, There's about 2 or 3 weeks in May/June that I pick up the race-bike from folks house, and get the go-fast muscles ready for tri seacon (5 races spread over summer). These rides are purely training, so Im always dressed in my cycling shorts, jerseys, etc. Suddenly, on a some-what modern carbon fiber and 'appropriate' clothing, I'm more accepted by the roadie pop. I've even had chuckles passing the same group 2 nights in a row; being snubbed by all one night, getting waves and nods by all the very next.

Happens every year. Funny breed, these 'fellow' cyclists.
"who knows when I'll stop for dinner or beers" LOL! nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 7:01 AM
not uncommon.Steve_0
Apr 29, 2003 7:18 AM
There are many friends and family I would hardly ever see if i didnt stop by while riding through their eighborhood. Friendship is more important to me than any given ride, so I often change my plans when offered dinner, beer, tickets to the game tonight, or whateverthecasemaybe.

I've stumbled onto the Core States national, dog shows, motorcycle shows, county fairs, college keg parties; Crew races; and many other fun and memorable activities while out riding. I first met my wife while on a ride and held an improptu date. Cant say we wouldve gone for lunch if I was wering spandex. Heck, she probably wouldnt have talked to me.

Dinner and beers are quite common, for me.
Too funny... too!seejoy
Apr 29, 2003 7:56 AM
I was remiss when I did not mention that I was wearing a plain baggy cycling jersey and baggy shorts, both mtb. style. My "behind" was not fashioned for spandex and I do not want to offend folks coming up behind me on the road! :0 So, I doubt I will ever look the part of a true roadie.In response to my hello, a wave is always welcome, or a nod.I am encourged tho by every rider I meet on the road, friendly or not. We are all doing the same thing at one level or the other....
Too funny....biknben
Apr 29, 2003 6:52 AM
Just cuz they are on a bike doesn't mean they will be friendly. I wish that were the case because I always give someone on a bike the benefit of the doubt. I don't cross paths with riders too often but I make a point of at least being nice when it happens.

I did have a refreshing encounter a couple weeks ago. I had stopped to adjust the saddle on my bike. I was bent over looking under my seat for a few minutes. I didn't even notice a woman riding on the other side of the road coming towards me. I happened to glance up and saw her. She had slowed to a near crawl and asked if I needed a hand. From across the road, I said no thanks and she continued on. Due to traffic noise we didn't say anything else. I glanced up again as she rode away and noticed she was on a hybrid type bike, wearing sweats and sneakers. I'm all decked out, wearing everything but a race number. It was nice that, even though we looked like we were from different ends of the cycling spectrum, she offered to help. For many people, a wave would have been too much to ask for.
if you cared what people thoughtDougSloan
Apr 29, 2003 7:06 AM
Not sure if you are telling us whether you care what other people think or not.

If you don't care, then it doesn't matter what you wear or what others think.

If you do care, then take that extra step to dig down through the drawer and put on your best "Fred" outfit, the Nashbar plain solid color jersey or one from the last charity metric century you did. Then, you can ride slowly and not worry that anyone will think you a poser. (No offense intended, btw, as I do this frequently.)

Or, just pull that child trailer everywhere you go. A perfect and obvious excuse for going slow.

Doug
that was not the pointJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 7:23 AM
the point was--i'm sick of all this "drop the roadie/poser" sentiment. it's ironic (tho not surprising) that a thread was active yesterday re: same with the obvious response re: "what if they were on a recovery ride". this type thing doesn't happen very often on rides, so when it happened yesterday, i became motivated to bring it up.

the point is not if i'm impressed or insulted by someone else's opinion. it's that attitudes as such are unnecessary, and many times, actions & results **are** based on _incorrect_ assumptions.

just an example that "LOL! i dropped a roadie in full BDU whilst i was riding a 105-equipped bike and not wearing a shirt" is really based on the process of only relying on what's in one's head, not actual circumstances (solipsism?).

this type situation may be rampant in a more heavily populated place like CA metro areas or NY/DC, but in Memphis there are few folks on the road, and those who are, are either really friendly, or complete a**holes (mostly really friendly). the community is really too small for this behavior--and that's probably one of the reasons it remains so small.

you know very well by now that i'm not out riding to fit a set of others' expectations--thus i would not be bothered if this guy thinks i'm "euro", or a weekend warrior.
this board is a vehcle that can carry thoughts to many readers. why not give an alternate perspective? sure, it's novel to give outside consideration to the possibility that you just dropped some guy in full regalia because he's "all show". but, why not be friendly? maybe there's more than casually observable at work.

all stuff you already know.

:)

-J
missed the other threadDougSloan
Apr 29, 2003 7:46 AM
Sounds like I missed the excitement, but of course that has come up about a thousand times here.

The entire concepts of "Fred" and "poseur" are pretty childish to me. If some people need ego boosts only at others' expense, that's unfortunate.

On the other hand, I did pass a guy on a big climb on a Merlin once when I was on my Milano... :-)

Doug
yeah, i forgot to mentionJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 7:54 AM
that all that equality sh!te is out the window when i'm riding the fixie. :)

just kidding.
something else -- everything is different if you know peopleDougSloan
Apr 29, 2003 8:16 AM
When you actually know the other riders, all this stuff is meaningless.

For example, there is a local Cat 1, maybe even a pro now, who can kill almost anyone, anytime, around here. He's a nice guy, even though he rides only in full team stuff all the time :-)

On day, I was out for a quick/hard 22 miles, and 3 or 4 miles into it, I came up and blew by him going a good 10 mph faster. When I realized who it was, I almost felt stupid. I did little wave and said "hey, Chad", but kept going. Obviously, he was on a slow recovery ride, and I was not. Rather than feel "superior" some how, I felt sort of silly for not slowing and chatting for a few minutes. But, that was not my deal that ride.

Point is, I know this guy, and since I do, there was absolutely nothing felt in passing him, since I know full well that his 400 watts would beat my puny 225 any time, any place.

Doug
yup, agreed. good point! nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 8:27 AM
Plus; child trailers are "chick magnets" =) nmKG 361
Apr 29, 2003 1:08 PM
as mentioned before, beware calling out the poser....funknuggets
Apr 29, 2003 7:24 AM
as you may be the one getting whacked by the aforementioned poser... making you something... inferior to the poser. Whatever that may be... haha

Nice post J. Id be tired too after that ride you did.

Chris
as mentioned before, beware calling out the poser....The Human G-Nome
Apr 29, 2003 7:39 AM
good point. it also stands to reason that cyclists may be in other states as well besides just "recovery". if i'm on the second day of back to back 85 miles rides, on mile 70 on the last climb before home my legs are probably jelly and completely spent. it wouldn't take much for some guy on mile 30 who's been off the bike for 3 days and has fresh legs to take me on a climb.

on group/club rides, some riders seem to make it a point to be "the first one up the climb" even to the point where they'll take a 300 yard headstart on the flats just to get a headstart. i still don't understand the point of that one. you can't measure yourself against other climbers if you're starting WAY ahead of everyone else.
It's ALL about the ego.Spoiler
Apr 29, 2003 8:18 AM
If you have the self-discipline to grab your own ego my the collar and yank it behind you, you can take advantage of everybody else's ego.

Does anybody know the tv car commercial that's been airing lately? The one where the father is in a hurry to get out the door and drive to work while at the same time his son is hustling to get out the door and ride his bike to school or whatever? The father runs to the car, whips out the driveway, and proceeds to "race" his son who's riding his bike on the sidewalk at about 7 mph? He makes his son believe he's really racing him, gripping the steering wheel with both hands, constantly looking sideways, to see if the son has is gaining on him.

I'm going to try this on my bike. I'll get all decked out in my race gear, not Euro poseur full Saeco kit, but a "real" local racer outfit, and ride along trolling for the competitive dreamers. Let them suck my wheel, maybe fake breathing hard, maybe actually be breathing hard, keep looking over my shoulder with a half-worried/half-frusterated look. Pull them along for a while. Maybe get out of the saddle like it's my last ditch effort to loose them. Let them pass. Struggle and wheeze to hold their wheel, and finally give up watching them pull away, giving them the thrill of their cycling life.
Then, scan this board to see if they posted the experience here.
sounds like alot of work nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 8:28 AM
Man...wish I'd been aroundSpecialTater
Apr 29, 2003 7:52 AM
in my Canari plain top and mtb shorts (w/ camo socks). I would have really enjoyed letting you pull me up 'dem hills again.
I've never owned a full team kit, but now I have an idea.dzrider
Apr 29, 2003 8:20 AM
I'll get a budget one from Long Cycles or Bike Jerseys just so people can feel self-satisfied from dropping me without saying a word. After all, I'm grey-haired, fashionlessly dressed, and over-weight so passing me can't offer much satisfaction. If, however, I were outfitted in some helmet to sox team wear I could really make somebody's day just by being passed and I could feel smug about posing as a poseur.
LOL !!!!! (nm)seejoy
Apr 29, 2003 8:45 AM
re: J was the poser getting dropped last night!The Human G-Nome
Apr 29, 2003 9:15 AM
what i REALLY enjoy is taking it easy on a climb and watching some guy pass me and then continuously look over his shoulder to make sure he's completely dropped me. sometimes he'll wait till he's 100s of yards away before giving one last glance back just to see how bad he's "whipped" me. you just have to laugh. i guess because i'm on a nice bike and i'm not immune to kit wear (although i'll never wear the full kit), it gives people the extra satisfaction of which i'm more then happy to provide.
Hah! Same thing happened to me weekend b4 last....PseuZQ
Apr 29, 2003 11:49 AM
On Mines road. This guy did the exact same thing! It was pretty funny, I kept thinking, "Wow! You dropped a fat chick on a hill! YOU DA MAAAN!! Whateverdude."

I did, of course, see him come back *down* the hill...I guess he just didn't feel up to doing the same 105 mile loop I did ...

Bottom line, some are faster, some are slower, some are rude, some are nice. I just try to ride my own ride and be an ambassador for the sport, whether it's to other cyclists, motorists, peds, cops, whomever.
re: J was the poser getting dropped last night!Mike Prince
Apr 29, 2003 9:18 AM
Wow, sounds like fun. I think I brought a full Festina kit with me this week, maybe I'll wear that and ride my ancient Centurion on the Hightailers' Thursday group ride this week since I'm here.

Could be fun. See you at the BPACC Thursday night.

Mike
well it's about time!!!JS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 9:31 AM
alas, most of us are going to chattanooga this weekend for some climbing fun, so you'll be stuck with either a leisurely pace, or chasing our cat 3 guests, on thursday eve. it will be an enjoyable ride, though. do you have fenders or raingear?

see you there. i'll ask the others not to laugh at your fashionless kit. :)
btw, are you still here this weekend?JS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 9:34 AM
you might enjoy chattanooga. it's ~4 hours away, and we've extra space in the van. either that, or you could sit at home and poke yourself in the eye with a stick for 8 hours. it's the same as climbing burkhalter gap at mile 80.
well it's about time!!!Mike Prince
Apr 29, 2003 11:05 AM
No fenders, hopefully the rain holds off but with the 80 degree temps in Elvisville so far this week it shouldn't be too bad regardless of a little precipitation. Any ride will be good though. I've got my own fun ride in NC this weekend with 6000' of climbing, so I'll have to do Chattanooga another time.

Come to think of it, I think the helmet I have here at the hotel will even match the Festina stuff...maybe I'll ride like I'm on EPO!!! See you Thursday. 5:30 right?
yepperJS Haiku Shop
Apr 29, 2003 11:11 AM
5:30 *rollout*--be there and clipped in at 5:29.

if rain threatens, it may be just us chickens.

memphis=fair weather cyclists.

:)
This chicken will be there rain or shine (nm)Mike Prince
Apr 29, 2003 11:58 AM