RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Thinking about getting a set of kysriums...(10 posts)

Thinking about getting a set of kysriums...URcaught
Apr 28, 2003 6:42 PM
(ssc sl 2003).Anyone know the differances from the previous years they were made?
Read in reviews that rear spokes fail!
Also heard they are not aero and heavy!
Sounds like someone joking but not sure.
They dont seem heavy-I dont understand!
I am about 6 feet tall and weigh 160 lbs.
The difference between the 2002 and 2003 is...Bruno S
Apr 28, 2003 7:21 PM
that the 2003 include the magnet for the bladed spokes. A 10 dollar value!
re: Thinking about getting a set of kysriums...rogue_CT1
Apr 28, 2003 7:26 PM
They are great wheels. They are light and extremely strong. I use mine for training and racing and I have never had a single problem with them and I weigh 210 lbs. As for the non-aero rap they have, I also have a set of 30mm "aero" rims and I can't feel any difference between the two. The only wheel that I have used that feels truly "aero" are my Hed H3's.

If you have the dough then I would recommend buying them. I have never actually met anyone that has had a problem with them. Almost everyone I ride/race with really like them.

A word of advice: Don't pay more than $600 for the set. You can find deals on them on the net for less, I got mine at bicycledoctor.net for about $579 but I've seen better prices at totalcycling.com.
re: Thinking about getting a set of kysriums...stew-dog
Apr 28, 2003 10:53 PM
I have a set of ksyriums that came stock on my cannondale. Overall, I think these wheels are great, strong, super stiff for sprinting. I, too, am on the large side (195 lbs). The only problem I had I think was related to the continental tires that came on the wheels. I had the unfortunate experience of actually having the tires roll right off the rim when cornering going very fast. Miraculouly, I didn't die. Didn't even crash, managed to save it. Anyway, this problem has been resolved since I put on michelins.
I have the 2001 SSCs (which don't have thedjg
Apr 29, 2003 6:47 AM
scalloped or shaved sections of the rim).

Never broke a spoke. Never even trued the damn things and I weigh 180-185 pounds.

If you want a deep section aero wheel these are not it. If you want a superlight wheel these aren't it. If you want an all around road wheel that's respectably light, nice and stiff, spins up pretty quick, and is bombproof, this is a really good bet IMO. Good hubs, by the way.
re: Thinking about getting a set of kysriums...Nessism
Apr 29, 2003 6:58 AM
I've been researching wheels lately and have learned the following about Kysriums:

- Fairly expensive $600+ with shipping

- Quite sturdy dispite the low spoke count

- Medium weight by modern standards

- Not very aero - rim is too shallow

- Require special spokes - best to have spares available

Overall, while they are nice wheels, I think they are a fairly poor value. A much better deal can be had by building a standard wheelset using DA or Chorus/Record hubs and the rim of your choice.

Just my $0.02 Your milage may vary.

Ed
My K Elites are Ehhhsidley
Apr 29, 2003 7:42 AM
I am 180lbs - 190 lbs (depending) and my Elites have to be trued every couple hundred miles. Don't race or ride aggressively but the damn things won't stay true.

They are not light and while they have aero qualities, they are not aero.

If you want training wheels, I would rec. open pros.
As mentioned aboveNo_sprint
Apr 29, 2003 8:34 AM
Not a great value. You can pay less for more in my opinion. At $600, not as bad as I last saw, priced at $800, however, still not too good. I've seen Nucleon tubies for as low as $300, now that's the deal of a century if you ask me.
Don't leave out Dave's....coonass
Apr 29, 2003 10:21 AM
Aero Speed Dream wheels out of the considerations....I have the Ksyrium SLs on one bike and Dave's on another...Beautiful wheels, lighter than the SLs and I believe that it was only $540 (2001) delivered...Dave's spokes are flat (2mm wide) and accept a Cateye magnet; Velocity Aero hubs and he replaces their bearings with Swedish sealed-bearings....like 'riding on a carpet'....
http://www.speeddream.com/index.php (He insists on talking to you before you order....CAN NOT/WILL NOT order the wheelset electronically via the Internet....
re: Thinking about getting a set of kysriums...Rlieto
Apr 30, 2003 5:20 AM
URcaught,

Give consideration to Dave Thomas' Speed Dream wheels. I have had a pair for a year. They have never had to be trued!! They weighted 1428g on a certifed scale. Cost 540.00.