RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Carbon Wheelsets?(10 posts)

Carbon Wheelsets?doctorbarth
Apr 28, 2003 4:57 PM
Any opinions about Mavic Cosmic Carbon vs Cane Creek's carbon wheelset. Thanks-
re: Carbon Wheelsets?swvegg
Apr 28, 2003 6:00 PM
Mavics are an aluminum rim with a carbon or whatever deep V. Not very light, but they're pretty aero, supposed to be pretty stiff, and look pretty crunk, too. I dunno much about the Cane Creeks, but they are lighter. I know a few people with them and they seem to be fine. I've heard bad things about the Ti spokes on all Cnae Creek wheels, though. I have no first hand experience, so take what I say as you will.
re: Carbon Wheelsets?zippi
Apr 28, 2003 6:05 PM
what are you gonna use 'em for? general riding or racing? my vote goes to the cosmics. if your racing, i think there are better choices, reynolds, velomax, and zipp come to mind. mostly because of the rotational weight. but if you just want to look cool, that they are. i'm gutsy and love the really cool stuff, but i wouldn't show up on a sunday ride with 'em. although i'd love to have a pair just to p***-o** some friends.
re: Carbon Wheelsets?Franchise
Apr 28, 2003 7:08 PM
I don't have any experience with the Cane Creeks, but I do have the Carbones and Zipp 303's(tubulars). I love the Mavic Carbones. They are a little heavy, but they are very aero. Also, the carbones are bombproof. I haven't had to true them in the past two seasons I've had them, and I've hit my fair share of potholes,etc.. They are great for flat rides or rolling hills for either road racing, time trials, or multi-sport events. I use the Zipp 303's for the hills along with a set of Mavic Ksyrium SL's.

My recommendation would depend on use. If you are going to race on them in flat and rolling terrain, go for the carbones. If not, go with another option. The only drawback to the carbones is the weight, but if it is such a big deal, there are other options!
re: Carbon Wheelsets?doctorbarth
Apr 29, 2003 3:42 AM
Thanks for all the info. I'm leaning toward Mavic.
READ THIS !CARBON110
Apr 29, 2003 6:06 AM
I have owned both and you would be CRAZY! to take the mavics over Cane Creek. First the build quality is much better on the cane creeks. They are 600 grams lighter then Mavics ! 600! Next, the mavics don't have real carbon, its Carbone and is very VERY easy to damage if you crash or your bike falls. A stone kicked from another rider on a group ride will crack it. The mavics have fewer spokes and a MUCH harsher ride. The Cane creeks are smooth, MORE aero, absorb bumps and are nearly Indestructable. I saw a cat 1 hit a curb head on on a pair of Cane creeks and they didnt even go out of true...he was flyn too. The Cane Creeks have much better resale as well AND if you ever need them replaced Cane Creek is in North Carolina. Maivc doesnt replace wheels usually and if it does it either requires you to buy a whole new wheel or it takes forever to come back from France. Dont be silly ...get the CCs you wont regret it
I wholeheartedly second this opinion 100%.... well said Carbon!russw19
Apr 29, 2003 9:31 AM
Zipp 303, 404, is what I'd get. nmDougSloan
Apr 29, 2003 6:38 AM
Zipp Makes Cane Creek Carbon Rims Still "nm"CARBON110
Apr 29, 2003 7:07 AM
perfect, then nmDougSloan
Apr 29, 2003 7:09 AM