RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Climbing never ends ??? (double century ride report w/ pics)(10 posts)

Climbing never ends ??? (double century ride report w/ pics)PeterRider
Apr 28, 2003 11:31 AM
On saturday I did the Devil mountain double century. This is supposed to be the most difficult double century organized in California. 205 miles, 20,000ft of climbing. This is really above my level, I finished in 20:50 hours. I heard that one guy broke the previous time record, and finished in less than 12:20 hours !!

Nice ride, fantastic support (didn't even count all the checkpoints, maybe 10 checkpoints+rest stops ?). But those climbs were never ending ?? After the steeeeeeeep Sierra road at mile 155, I thought I was done. But no, there was still 2 canyons after mile 190 !!

The complete ride report with pictures is on
http://www.vision.caltech.edu/pmoreels/DevilMtnDoubleApr03/index.html

Below: they gave us a bandana with the map, isn't this neat ? I already have a coolmax headsweat so I won't use the bandana, but I've put it on the wall in my room.

Pierre
Congrats! That's the toughest double of them all (IMHO).Lon Norder
Apr 28, 2003 11:42 AM
Beautiful course, eh?
Thx. Do you know how hard is the Davis 600K next sat ?PeterRider
Apr 28, 2003 11:57 AM
beautiful course, yes ! but I could have done with a few less hills. Was good it was dark when I arrived at Sierra road, and couldn't see how hard it was :-) And looking down to the silicon valley at night was nice as well.

I just hope I won't be crazy enough next year to do it again.

Pierre
Thx. Do you know how hard is the Davis 600K next sat ?Lon Norder
Apr 28, 2003 12:24 PM
The Davis 600K is a continuation of the 400K, which had about 10,000 ft of climbing. I'd guess about 15,000 ft for the 600K. It is a scenic ride and very well supported. There were 160 riders for the 400K, so there were plenty of people to ride with. I plan on doing the Davis 600K (In fact, the reason I didn't do Devil Mountain is because I didn't think I could recover in time.) It looks easier than the Planet Ultra 600K which includes the Heartbreak Double (pretty tough from what I've heard). Probably easier than the SLO bike club 600K as well.
I won't have recovered :-( Will try to shoot for 39.5 hours....PeterRider
Apr 28, 2003 1:44 PM
what clothes do you pack, if any ? I was glad to have an extra thermal underwear, to change at the top of Sierra road. .. Also, what do you bring for sleeping, where do you sleep, how long do you sleep, how do you wake up ? Do you take one of the small thermarest pillows ?

Pierre (not prepared at all)
I'm not really prepared either...Lon Norder
Apr 28, 2003 2:50 PM
They'll transport a small drop bag to Ukiah, which you reach at around 220K and 380K. I recall they said they'll have some motel rooms booked there. I've never done a 600K so I don't have a strategy other than riding the 380K to Ukiah and then determining whether I need to sleep. I'm not sure yet what I'm going to put in the drop bag, other than a change of cycling clothes, Sustained Energy, Hammer Gel, and batteries.

The weather web site says the weather will be kind of cool, 45 to 65F, similar to the 400K. In that I brought arm warmers, leg warmers, a thin vest, a thick vest, a single-layer rain jacket, and a headband. That kept me plenty warm.
Congrats!! I did TOTDPseuZQ
Apr 28, 2003 11:59 AM
Wasn't up for spending 20+ hours on by bike this weekend so I "opted" for the double metric. (I say that kind of jokingly because quite frankly I don't think I'm trained enough for the full double century.)

Flatted three times -- twice before I even got to Diablo then again on Morgan Territory.

TOTD was fun...definitely hard enough to be interesting.
Great report.noveread
Apr 28, 2003 12:20 PM
What a ride. Congrats!

Buddy didn't want to give you your money back so he bought your entry! Too funny!

And of course, after you travel all that distance on your bikes, both vertical and horizontal, your car has a flat tire and you can't get out of the parking lot! The irony!

Noveread
Thanks for the pictures.Hope to do a double someday nmPEDDLEFOOT
Apr 28, 2003 12:30 PM
I might have passed you going the oppostie waylaffeaux
Apr 28, 2003 1:15 PM
I did the Mount Hamilton Challenge (124 miles and 8,500+) of climbing the same day. We rode through the San Antonio Valley and Calabazas Canyon in the opposite direction to the Devils Mountain Double, passing many riders.

Congrats on finishing the ride. That's a long one.