RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Forgot Helmet, Should I ride anyway?(12 posts)

Forgot Helmet, Should I ride anyway?Lowend
Apr 28, 2003 7:22 AM
It is a beautiful day and I left my helmet at home. Should I go for a ride without one?
I try to ride at lunch when the weather is nice. I don't get anytime when home, can't commute because I must bring son back and forth from Daycare.
Yesmackgoo
Apr 28, 2003 7:26 AM
If you aren't in heavy traffic- maybe-rwbadley
Apr 28, 2003 8:33 AM
I don't want to suggest you risk injury, but if you will be riding in a low traffic area, I would give her a go. As a kid I never rode with a helmet, and survived. I will (generally) always wear one now, but have on occasion gone without, and enjoyed it.

Like Doug says, weigh the risk...

RW
odds vs. riskDougSloan
Apr 28, 2003 7:40 AM
It's a cost/benefit/risk analysis.

The odds of needing it are very remote. On the road, I have had one accident in around 40,000 miles, maybe, and that's when I was not being careful.

The benefit is getting one ride in, right? Probably not a big deal.

The risk is that you are killed or rendered a vegetable if you do crash the wrong way. Pretty extreme.

Before I had a kid, I probably would have. Not now. He needs me too much.

Doug
I have to agree with Doug on this onePaulCL
Apr 28, 2003 7:54 AM
You are talking about a one hour ride. It isn't much to give up.

As a father of three, I wouldn't do it. But then again, I'm the same guy who puts on his seatbelts to drive a mile up the street.
Only if your life isn't worth much. nmRJF
Apr 28, 2003 8:10 AM
Easy Answer: NO! n.m.CaliforniaDreaming
Apr 28, 2003 8:15 AM
Nopekjr39
Apr 28, 2003 8:21 AM
I hear learning the ABCs the second time around is harder...
Thank you!! I changed my mine...Lowend
Apr 28, 2003 8:53 AM
I was going to ride anyway, I just wanted to here your comments. But then you brought my family into the picture. I have a wife and two kids that really need me. It has been over 10 years since a rode on the street or in the woods without a helmet. I'm not going to start now.

One more day without riding will not kill me. One crash without a helmet can.

Thanks again
Jim
Take it easy ...Humma Hah
Apr 28, 2003 9:05 AM
... I was in the same situation a few weekends ago. I rarely carry the bikes any place to ride, but instead ride from home. So after driving 20 miles and realizing I didn't have my helmet, I rode anyway, taking it easy.

Downside: serious cyclists, who always wear their helmets, won't talk to you.

You feel exposed, self-conscious, and guilty for the whole ride.

But you probably won't forget again!

Here at work, I keep a spare helmet.
Keep an old helmet in the car.pitt83
Apr 28, 2003 9:29 AM
I wouldn't, but the key here is that it is YOUR CHOICE...miposy
Apr 28, 2003 12:31 PM
...at least it should be if you are a consenting adult in a free country.

BTW, if we were talking about an organized race/ride, vs. something you are doing on your own, I might have a different opinion. I also have a different opinion regarding minors.