RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Article on impotence I found on the web. Bogus??(14 posts)

Article on impotence I found on the web. Bogus??Kristin
Apr 28, 2003 5:32 AM
I was searching the net for info on my knee pain and came across this article. Most of the opinions here seem to hold that there is zero impact from cycling on male reproductivity. Thoughts, opinions? Does anybody know what study is she is referring to?

I'm skeptical because this same website has an article titled, "DEET Still Tops at Beating Mosquitoes" which encourages the use of Deet for the general pupulous with no mention that the chemical has been linked to severe birth defects. So I think the authors of this site are not very thorough in their research. (I use Deet myself--its a lifesaver--but only when hiking.)

http://healthlink.mcw.edu/article/1023994375.html
studies and opinions.Steve_0
Apr 28, 2003 5:49 AM
There have been numerous studies which link cycling to impotence. As with all studies, the results can be questioned based upon underlying assumptions and/or the sample population.

Most of the poster's I've seen here cite the studies as bogus because 'i've been cycling all my life and I have three kids', or 'a lot of pro cyclists have kids'. This is far from scientific; akin to 'smoking doesnt contribute to heart disease or cancer because my great-great aunt lived to 101 years'.

Having said that, the studies I'm aware of link cycling to impotence, not reproductivity. Be careful not to link the two, as they are far different.
The differenceKristin
Apr 28, 2003 5:51 AM
Yes, you are correct. I made the mistake of linking the two. The difference is that with impotence, reproductivity is ZERO fun. ;-)
impotence -- why are you concerned about this? :-) nmDougSloan
Apr 28, 2003 6:17 AM
Well I was wondering if I should get a cutoutKristin
Apr 28, 2003 6:22 AM
Hey, did you delete all of RRP's threads? Sorry if it was a little over-the-top--just having fun.
huh?DougSloan
Apr 28, 2003 6:27 AM
I thought you were a girl?

I was out of town. Gregg must have monitored in my absence. Guess I missed all the fun.

Doug
lol - there goes THOSE fanatasies, Doug.Steve_0
Apr 28, 2003 6:44 AM
you think you know someone... :-) nmDougSloan
Apr 28, 2003 8:38 AM
re: Article on impotence I found on the web. Bogus??MR_GRUMPY
Apr 28, 2003 6:42 AM
As with most "studies", the results depend on who you test. I have no doubts that if you grab an "average" non rider, and have them ride 25-30 miles a day for a month, they will have "problems" by the end of the month. As with any other activity, you've got to move into it slowly and let your body get used to it. Just think, what would happen if a couch jocky started to run 5 miles a day ?
Nerve issuesfiltersweep
Apr 28, 2003 6:58 AM
What is the consensus NOT on circulatory issues, but rather nerve issues (of shall we say "numbness") ? Granted this isn't about impotence...
I find the opposite: Fitter, blood flow, energy, spunk! nmSpunout
Apr 28, 2003 6:45 AM
www.bikesportmichigan.com (azoto review)ZeGopha
Apr 28, 2003 7:14 AM
It doesn't exactly compare saddles, but it offers some wonderful insight from someone who knows what he is talikg about.

The Gopher whose nuts are fine
Well, yes and no.Charlie Amerique
Apr 28, 2003 7:31 AM
As with anything, it's all about the individual involved and their ridign characteristics.

In one of those studies mentioned, the rider tested averaged 10,000 miles per year and was a "seated climber". My guess (and only a guess) is that he sat forward on his perennial artery on a hard saddle for very long periods of time. As with cutting off the blood to anything, it'll eventually stop working.

After several years of riding myself, averaging 4-6000 miles a year on a mountain bike, my "equipment" is still in working order... and it works even better then it did before I started cycing.

Your milage may vary..
From the publicationsmadwiscbiker
Apr 28, 2003 8:31 AM
Anoxia of the penis does cause impotence, by causing fibrosis within the tissue, this is a common problem in diabetics and people with atherosclerosis since both lead to obstructions of the arteries supplying the tissue. There is also a lot of eveidence out that links long distance cycling with decreased blood flow to the penis due to compression of the peranial artery. But very few of these publications make the jump to impotence. There is a big difference between pathological states like DM and atherosclerosis in that they are in that state all of the time. Maybe this is a good reason to occasionally stand on those hills or take a few different positions on the saddle.
Another study looked at bike seats and found that less padded seats that were wider are better than heavily padded seats that are narrow. Now who knows what these researchers consider heavily padded, they did show that a woman's specific seat with a cut out caused the smallest drop in O2 saturation while biking.

I am a fan of the SLR, with about the least amount of padding and seams that I can find, sure on long rides numbness occasionally creeps up on me, especially when working against a big headwind that Wisconsin seems to throw at me everyday but I have never had a problem. Plus, it is the most comfortable saddle I have found. But saddle comfort is personal.

For those of you interested in reading the literature yourself, or at least the abstracts, the NIH has free usage to PubMed, what we use to look up articles, both of clinical and scientific interest. Here is a link, just type into the search engine what you are interested in and, well you know the idea. So know you don't have to take what you see on the internet for granted, go to the source.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/

Cheers
Austin

Live like you'll never get caught.