RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Race Report: St A's triathlon (bike only)(15 posts)

Race Report: St A's triathlon (bike only)african
Apr 26, 2003 4:03 PM
Watched the ITU world cup race here in St Pete today. Took some pictures of the bike section, here are some of them...
First time taking pictures of a race with my cannon so enjoy and no complaints about quality or lack of it.... cheers.
re: Race Report: St A's triathlon (bike only)african
Apr 26, 2003 4:07 PM
moreafrican
Apr 26, 2003 4:08 PM
still moreafrican
Apr 26, 2003 4:10 PM
and yet still moreafrican
Apr 26, 2003 4:10 PM
and more and moreafrican
Apr 26, 2003 4:12 PM
Reed on a break, he is strong but it was windy and he got caught. He tried another break and another with 4 others and got caught all the time.
and....african
Apr 26, 2003 4:13 PM
the guy on the left (yellow tires) he won.
moreafrican
Apr 26, 2003 4:14 PM
more...............african
Apr 26, 2003 4:15 PM
and yet more.........african
Apr 26, 2003 4:16 PM
and finally.........african
Apr 26, 2003 4:18 PM
I have a few more.......that I might put on the triathlon board.........
What's going on?filtersweep
Apr 26, 2003 5:26 PM
I've never seen a tri with packs of riders like this... was the start done in heats or en mass? These pics look more like a large crit done in tri gear. I'm really curious how this all developed. It almost looks like drafting is acceptable- aero gear isn't the norm... no disc or tri-spoke wheels... have I been living in a cave?

Cool pics-
What's going on?Proboscis
Apr 26, 2003 6:00 PM
Yes, you must have been living in a cave. This is a draft legal race. A rule change that was done to increase spectator and media viewing, in my opinion. It does not seem to follow the original rules of triathlon. Drafting is a bad habit to pick up. In a group ride I will either be out front or way off the back. Drafting gives a false sence of ability. Maybe I am far too selfish to pull anybody. Anyway, draft legal races, do allow you to get a view of the pro's more oftem. Much like a crit.
Looks more like a crit to me.Ken of Fresno
Apr 26, 2003 5:55 PM
Aero bars in a group event? That's pretty scary! No thanks, I'll pass.
about the aero bars....african
Apr 26, 2003 6:24 PM
look carefully not all of them have aero bars. This is a draft legal ITU world cup event. They are allowed aero bars but they cannot extend past the sti shifters. What happened in todays race is that it was very windy so there were no big breaks and the pack stayed together. In the womans race there was a breakaway of 3 that stayed off the front, they shared the work and used aero bars, like a team time trial.