RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


continuation - ebay and prices are low - less sellers why?(14 posts)

continuation - ebay and prices are low - less sellers why?CORONADO FLYER
Apr 23, 2003 1:04 PM
Actually I have seen aluminum road frames selling at under $200 each. Nothing higher. No one is bidding on eBay.

I did contact Leader Bike USA www.leaderbikeusa.com about buying a bike for my girlfriend. After our discussion we came to this conclusion.

I will buy a complete Simano Dura Ace ld-785r carbon rear bike with Deda bar, stem. Mavic open pro's with dura ace. Full carbon ld-i901 and carbon ld-sp2 seat post. Selle flite gel saddle. all for $1899. This is an excellent deal brand new. I told them they should list these bikes on eBay for this price. They would sell fast considering the quality and reviews they have here on road bike review.

I in return will buy a smaller ld-715r frame and transfer my old ultegra parts to it for my girlfriend.

I know this is a great deal on a brand new dura ace with Italian accessories.

I will take a picture of it when I get it.
all the scams killed it IMHOkenyee
Apr 23, 2003 1:25 PM
ebay took too long to hunt down the low-lifes that did all these private auctions and suckered people...
dude, you're smoking crackdante
Apr 23, 2003 1:43 PM
Proof: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3604003318&category=7298

A used bike with 300 miles on it (and an extra cassette) went for $13 less than what Supergo was charging for the same bike. No-name alu frames are going for under 200 b/c that's all they're worth. Bikes that are several years old are getting 3/4 of what they were new. That's no bargain. Older bianchi eros donna's were 1000 new and were going for $650-700, and that's with bottom level Campy and a steel fork.

If *anybody* has "killed" ebay, it's companies like Leader and the bike stores that are selling the Iron Horses and stuff online, people selling one bike are lost between the 20 other postings of THE EXACT SAME BIKE.

Peace
dante

(can you tell I was looking for a 47cm road bike for a LONG time?)
danjte this bike has 105, used, steel frame.CORONADO FLYER
Apr 23, 2003 2:26 PM
this bike has nothing to do about what i am talking about. it is used with 105 parts and steel frame. my discussion is about aluminum frames.

as far as leader and other sellers on ebay. they are a blessing for all buyers. read the reviews leader has here on road bike review and then say what you think ablut them.
"No one is bidding on ebay"mwood
Apr 23, 2003 2:01 PM
Not that I disagree (I really don't have any knowledge/opinion on the subject), but it is kind of interesting the Wall Street Journal had an article on ebay just yesterday.
The storyline was that the stock is "priced for perfection", having retained much more of its value since the bursting of the internet "bubble" and that the analysts on the street were starting to become very polarized in their outlooks...some factoids like 1 out of 3 Americans would have to be active on ebay by 2010 to justify current growth projections (whatever).
Anyhow, sounds like a great deal on your new bike, enjoy!
Why not ebay? Too much hassle!pitt83
Apr 23, 2003 4:50 PM
eBay is just too much bother. Like the other poster said, $20 less than Supergo. You don't even know you're going to get it; automatic over-bids; having to be there for the last 10 minutes of an auction to bid sucessfully; forget it!!! With the 20% off Nashbar coupon from this board, I bought what I needed for less than used was going for with all the crap of simply trying to get a good price. I'm not going to bother even looking again. Inflated prices for what you get and difficult to deal with? Hardly a good businees model; if this were a bricks and mortar store, would you buy there?
nashbar coupon expired march 12CORONADO FLYER
Apr 23, 2003 5:13 PM
ebay is an auction site. somtimes you do get lucky and save big bucks. those last ten minuts could save you a bundle. remember nashbar does not have everything.
But conventional retail is straight uppitt83
Apr 23, 2003 5:27 PM
You know what you're getting and what price you're paying; straight up. Prices for what I've looked at on eBay are damn close to what you find retail. With so many choices and immediate, large scale negative feedback if a retailer shafts you, it's hard to miss. Coupons make it even a better deal.

I just don't understand sitting clicking that reload page button during the last 5 minutes and hoping that you might save very little real money when all is said and done. I tried 6 or so times to buy USED STI shifters and never could get them for less than 90% of what NEW full price was on-line. Would have saved me about $12 to go that route to buy someone else's crap, if I tried another 6 times. Not worth the hassle.

Therefore, I'm one of those non-bidders and, as the bumper stickers say, "I vote".
I find good deals on ebay all the time.elviento
Apr 24, 2003 8:00 AM
Things I have found recently:

Vince Shox shoes $26 retail $100+
Deda Newton bar/stem (slightly used) $60 retail $220
Campy Nucleon wheels $350 retail $700
19" monitor (off lease) $40 Retail like $200+

There are good deals, there are bad deals. That's the fun part about ebay.
nashbar coupon expired march 12pitt83
Apr 23, 2003 5:36 PM
OK, real world example and this took 2 minutes to figure out. This auction has 1h 5m left and are going for $152.50
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3604742167&category=36140
Taking an unknown guy's word that they're new and you have no recourse once you're screwed.

2 other offerings of Buy it now at $169.99.

Performance has new for $119.99 + 20% coupon and possibly 10% if you're a points member. Therefore, as cheap as $83.99. Like performance or not, you know it's 100% legit. I didn't check supergo,pricepoint of Jenson, but you get where I'm going.

I'm sure you may get a few deals, but it isn't for me.
nashbar coupon expired march 12pitt83
Apr 23, 2003 5:38 PM
My Bad, price is $149.99 @ performance. 104.99 after discount. Still, no bargin for eBay.
performance out of stock.CORONADO FLYER
Apr 23, 2003 6:32 PM
I see your poihnt but read this:

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=11616&Store=Bike

Sorry, This Item is currently Out of Stock.
We expect to receive it by 05/09/03.
You can still order it and we will ship it to you as soon as it comes in.

Even ordered some parts thru supergo. a day after the order I get an e-mail asking if I wish to cancel because my order is being backordered and it may take more than 30 days to get.
These web sights may have great prices but that does not mean they will have the item. They may not ever have it. You are left with 30 days of waiting time wile your buddies out there are passing you by. At least on eBay you get what you win. If you don't them get kicked off.
That guy probably knows little aboutelviento
Apr 24, 2003 8:05 AM
online mailorder price comparisons. so he could have spent an hour online to get those levers for $152. For you to get familiar with all the online mailorder stores and hunting down the coupons, you must have spent hundreds of hours. Good for you if you have this much time, but other people may not have so much free time.

When I was at school, I took tons of time to hunt down terrific deals but these days if I can get a reasonably good deal without too much research I am happy.
nashbar coupon good until 4/28SpecialTater
Apr 24, 2003 5:45 AM
KenS "Nashbar 20% Coupon, good until 4/28" 4/21/03 10:34am