RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


POLL: favorite de-stinkifying method for those who ride to/at work(24 posts)

POLL: favorite de-stinkifying method for those who ride to/at workjoekm
Apr 22, 2003 9:09 AM
I use a combination of Oxy pads and Axe body spray.
Dry off with a towel and spray my pits with cologne.dzrider
Apr 22, 2003 9:18 AM
Suggest eliminating the word favorite from the question. I'd much rather shower but we don't have one and, since our leadership fears that a shower could increase the likelihood of people having sex in the office, we won't have one any time soon.
Has office sex become an epidemic where you work? if so...joekm
Apr 22, 2003 9:24 AM
can you send me an application? ;)
shower here hasn't helpedDougSloan
Apr 22, 2003 9:34 AM
Unless I'm missing out, the showers here haven't resulted in rampant sex. But, this is a bunch of lawyers...

Doug
lawyer joke in there somewheres....joekm
Apr 22, 2003 9:40 AM
something about people getting screwed but darned if I can think of it ;)
If it has, it has happened without me - nmdzrider
Apr 22, 2003 10:41 AM
re: POLL: favorite de-stinkifying method for those who ride to/at workSoftrider
Apr 22, 2003 9:24 AM
This is what I do for my commute.

I take a good shower before I leave home and liberally apply deodorant. Once at the office, I rinse my hair and face in the bathroom sink, re-apply the deodorant, and dress for work.

Baby wipes work real well for a quick cleanup.
Shower. (nm)djg
Apr 22, 2003 9:54 AM
ShowerRJF
Apr 22, 2003 9:38 AM
Really, nothing can adequately substitute for a shower. Especially when you commute in rain like I do, you just end up covered in road grime by the time you get in. A shower is essential. I'm lucky that everywhere I've worked in the past 10 years has had a shower.

Before working at places with showers, I did the bird bath method of soaping up with a washcloth and using the sink as my shower.
I'll second that...Bonked
Apr 22, 2003 9:44 AM
and I have never had sex while showering either ;(
Baby wipes and stick head under faucetKristin
Apr 22, 2003 9:46 AM
Thankfully, though we have showers with a towel service so I don't have to mess with the baby wipes any more.
Shower!Rich_Racer
Apr 22, 2003 9:50 AM
And being in a research department - it certainly isn't being used for sex!

(btw - I think "don't people get screwed all the time at law firms" was the joke you were searching for).
When riding TO work.funknuggets
Apr 22, 2003 9:49 AM
I try to schedule the TO work on a ride that doesn't require an outlandish effort so Im not sweating all that bad. However, I bought a big pack of these Old Spice "refreshing wipes" which actually work quite well. They have differing scents, but honestly after about 2 minutes they have no scent at all, so it works really well. If my hair (all 1/4 inch of it) is sweaty, I hit the restroom and papertowel it off.

I've also seen 'bathing wipes' which are reportedly designed for camping or truckers, which are larger but also more expensive.

Chris
NIETHER!!Fender
Apr 22, 2003 10:08 AM
no shower or baby wipes for me!! My commute to work is 1.1 miles. I even ride home for lunch when the weather is nice.
1.1 miles. Is that worth even cynching your shoes? nmKristin
Apr 22, 2003 10:35 AM
sweat from cycling will not make you stinkContinental
Apr 22, 2003 10:13 AM
Sweat from exercise doesn't stink. It's nice, clean salt water. The composition of sweat depends on the emotional, mental and physiological condition of the individual. Sweat from a tense, worried person in a hot stuffy room stinks. Sweat from a happy cyclist smells like perfume. Honestly.
Do you think that's really true?Kristin
Apr 22, 2003 10:41 AM
I've always found it true for myself--from the time I was 12 years old. And I suspect that sweat is good for your hair too. I've always tried to let my hair dry naturally after exercise and it seems to be healthier when I do that regularly.

It is true what you say? For everyone? Not sure. Personally, I only wear deodorant to job interviews, singing engagements and on first dates--second dates too, if I really like the guy. Otherwise, as long as I shower at least every 36 hours, I'm good. No de-stinkers needed. (At least I've never had any complaints.)
No wayMR_GRUMPY
Apr 22, 2003 11:13 AM
There is a lot of nasty stuff in sweat. One of them is small amounts of urine. After about two to three hours, the bacteria that we all have on our skin, starts to work on it. That's when the major B.O. hits.
Usually a wash cloth is good enough to remove a good portion of the sweat. Enough to get you through the day as long as you don't lift your arms.
Do you think that's really true?Continental
Apr 22, 2003 12:30 PM
Sweat glands are simple coiled glands found in the skin in two forms. Most sweat glands are eccrine glands, producing the secretion without destruction of the cells of the glands. Sweat glands are most numerous on the palms and soles of the feet.

Those glands in the armpit, areola, labia majora and anal region are apocrine glands. Apocrine secretions are those where the apical region of the secreting cells is lost with the secretion. This type of sweat contains protein and carbohydrates that when acted upon by bacteria on the skin take on an odor. Apocrine sweat glands empty into hair follicles while eccrine glands open at the skin surface.

All eccrine glands do not function all the time but they respond quickly to heat stress. Eccrine sweat is an ultrafiltrate of plasma forming a colorless, hypotonic solution that is 99% water and 1% solutes including sodium, chloride, potassium, calcium, urea, ammonia, uric acid and phosphorus. Aldosterone increases the reabsorption of sodium from sweat.

Regulatory heat exchange is accomplished by the action of the eccrine sweat glands and the cutaneous blood vessel http://www.sweating.net/
Now I really want to have office sex. nmSpoiler
Apr 22, 2003 4:00 PM
nm
you must not have read Mr. Fixx's SECOND book.Steve_0
Apr 22, 2003 11:49 AM
IIRC, in his first book, he made a similar statment. In his SECOND book, he mentioned that his friends and family promply notified him that he must undergo a lot of emotional and mental stress. He changed is opinion on the matter.
Leever wipes and a fresh shot of deorderant nmgreg n
Apr 22, 2003 12:29 PM
re: POLL: favorite de-stinkifying method for those who ride to/at workopcit
Apr 22, 2003 1:23 PM
I am a lawyer and a commuter (6.5 mi). We have no shower at my office, and I make frequesnt court appearances. I leave a few suits at the office, shower before I leave the house, and use baby wipes and deodorant. So far I have had no complaints, even in August.
Shower before going. Only 5 miles ...Humma Hah
Apr 22, 2003 2:28 PM
... if that doesn't work, we've got showers and I keep a towel, soap, and washcloth in the desk drawer.

I highly recommend having a great employer!