RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Just informed that I won the 1upUSA trainer contest!!(10 posts)

Just informed that I won the 1upUSA trainer contest!!jtferraro
Apr 17, 2003 1:43 PM
I come home from work w/this email from Gregg:

"You are the lucky winner of the 1upUSA Trainer Contest on
RoadbikeREVIEW.com!

Congratulations, you lucky dawg!

Please email me back with your mailing information so that I may forward it
to 1upUSA, so they can ship you your new bicycle trainer! And don't forget
to come back to our site and write a review on it, after you've had some
time to log some miles on it!

So, email me back and congrats!

-Gregg Kato, Site Manager RoadbikeREVIEW.com"

This is such great news, especially considering I don't own a trainer, nor rollers! I didn't bother buying one this past fall/winter, after purchasing my first "real" road bike, b/c I figured I'd just go to spinning classes at my local Bally's, which I did up until my knee injury, on my bday - 2/2/03. Fortunately, my knee is doing MUCH better! I've been going to physical therapy and have been riding the bike a little bit, too, including riding to work Tuesday. Now I'll be able to set up this new trainer for some in-house physical therapy!!

WOOO-HOOO!!

Excited,

-Jeff
CongratsMudman
Apr 17, 2003 1:50 PM
Glad to read for knee is doing better.....
Thanks! Yup, had surgery on 3/11 and already back on da' bike nmjtferraro
Apr 17, 2003 2:06 PM
To refresh memories, I had slid into a tree, while snowboarding in the woods, @Stowe, VT this winter, in which I did the following to my knee:

1.) completely severed MCL (Grade 3 tear)
2.) partially torn ACL (Grade 2 tear)
3.) tears to both medial and lateral menisci
4.) 12mm impaction fracture/depression to tibial plateau (bone)

My orthopedic surgeon let the MCL heal on it's own, cleaned up both menisci (by removing torn flaps/pieces), and performed "microfracture" for the ACL tear. He said my ACL was 70% good and he couldn't justify removing it and doing the reconstructive surgery. What he did - microfracture - is the banging of small holes in the bone, near the tear in my ACL. The body responds to this trauma by creating scar tissue in that area...and my doc hopes it will fuse the ACL tear. When scar tissue heals, it shrinks...which, it is hoped, will tighten up my knee, b/c there is presently a decent amount of "laxity", or "play - extra movement" in the joint b/c of the ACL tear/stretch.

My knee still has a way to get yet...but I'm dealing w/it and very happy for it's progress thus far!

-Jeff
OOPS-there's MORE to the above post! Did the "nm" accidentaly!nmjtferraro
Apr 17, 2003 2:12 PM
Congrats! That is so cool...the guy that needs a trainer...Gregory Taylor
Apr 18, 2003 7:31 AM
...gets one. Get that knee back in shape!
Just informed that I didn't win the 1upUSA trainer contest!!allezrider
Apr 17, 2003 2:07 PM
Congrats it is good to hear someone won it that can really use it.

Good luck with the rehab.....and enjoy
BTW...this site ROCKS! The RBR community is the best!! (nm)jtferraro
Apr 17, 2003 2:09 PM
Congrats - good to see such progress in such a short time (nm)KeeponTrekkin
Apr 17, 2003 5:01 PM
It's that guy from Canada SCAM.......I got the same letter.....K-Man
Apr 18, 2003 9:53 AM
Here's what mine said:

"You are the lucky winner of the 1upUSA Trainer Contest on
RoadbikeREVIEW.com!

Congratulations, you lucky dawg!

Please email me back with your mailing information so that I may forward it
to 1upUSA, so they can ship you your new bicycle trainer! And don't forget
to come back to our site and write a review on it, after you've had some
time to log some miles on it!

So, email me back and congrats!

-Gregg Kato, Site Manager RoadbikeREVIEW.com"

Kidding.....Congrats!
KMan (the guy who never wins anything)
Pheww - you had me nervous there for a minute! ;-) (nm)jtferraro
Apr 18, 2003 11:17 AM