RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Independent Fabrication Crown Jewel price?(17 posts)

Independent Fabrication Crown Jewel price?phatlizard
Apr 17, 2003 1:36 PM
could someone give me the price of the Indy Fab Crown Jewel frameset - can't find it online!
Price with fork if possible!

Thank you!

Christian
re: Independent Fabrication Crown Jewel price?sistinas
Apr 17, 2003 1:41 PM
The retail price I've seen at most of the stores around here is around $1600 for the frame and fork.
re: Independent Fabrication Crown Jewel price?gtx
Apr 17, 2003 2:00 PM
you might contact this guy if you want to pay less than retail.

http://www.hammerheadbikes.com/
re: Independent Fabrication Crown Jewel price?outacontrol
Apr 17, 2003 2:06 PM
$1550 for steel, $1850 w/ ouzo pro fork, & $2800 for Ti. Test road a steel Crown Jewel this week & felt it was heavier than I thought it was going to be. Nice compliant ride but flexed a lot in the BB.
Flexed ... ? Alternatives?phatlizard
Apr 17, 2003 2:17 PM
Then I guess it wouldn't be for me ... (240 lbs.)
Any opinions on Steelman or Sycip? The prices are pretty much the same for a custom bike from all companies ...
oh my ... too many options!
Flexed ... ? Alternatives?IFRider
Apr 17, 2003 3:18 PM
Don't discount it based upon one review from someone online. IF is fully custom at that price, and I am pretty sure they can play around with ride characteristics. I find no issue with my Club Racer, but be your own judge.
Totally agree.purplepaul
Apr 17, 2003 3:21 PM
Any custom builder should be able to take your weight and riding style into account and build you the stiffest frame you want. That's one of the benefits of going custom.
Your right.outacontrol
Apr 17, 2003 5:48 PM
Don't discount the bike based on my opinions. The LBS did tell me the BB could be stiffened up with a stiffer seat post which to me means more weight. The frame I road was a stock geometry 57cm w/ouze pro fork, ultegra gruppo, & shimano dura ace wheels. I didn't weigh the bike but I did ride a LS Tuscany which frame weighs 3.4lbs in a 57cm the Tuscany felt much stiffer and lighter than the CJ. I wanted to go with a custom steel frame & had it narrowed down to IF or Strong. I think after my ride though I will start looking at Ti. But thats just me, some people like chocolate, & some like vanilla you choose your own desert. I'm glad I had a opportunity to test ride one, I think it's a very good bike but I would have been disapointed if I had ordered it.
Stiffen BB......Rusty Coggs
Apr 17, 2003 7:47 PM
...with a stiffer seatpost.LBS bull sheit.
That's a good one...geeker
Apr 18, 2003 6:38 AM
Remind me to avoid that LBS! I suppose the engineering analysis behind "stiffen BB with stiffer seat post" can be found in the _Journal of Irreproducible Results_.
I wouldn't buy a custom frame from that particular dealer.Ambishawn
Apr 18, 2003 7:54 AM
When you know what you want, who cares if an idiot has it for sale. But when you need guidence and advice then you have to be careful. Keep in mind that bike shops like to sell complete bikes. From a business stand point it's got the biggest profit margin. Boutique frames have a smaller frofit margin and require more time fitting the rider and on the phone with the company. If you buy a Steelman, Brent Steelman will fit you his self if you go to his shop. He will also sell you all the parts if you need.
heavy?gtx
Apr 17, 2003 3:56 PM
The IF is about 3.5 pounds in size 56 for the frame only. That's within a few ounces of most ti frames in that size. If you go with a steel fork I think you pay a weight penalty of about half a pound over a light carbon fork.
not heavy!the bull
Apr 17, 2003 5:01 PM
Heavier than he thought.I got a friend who has a IF built up with and it weighs about 17.5 lbs!
I guess thats heavier than most people would think a steel bike should weigh!Although I think thats pretty light!
A Crown Jewel is ment to be a completely custom bike.Ambishawn
Apr 17, 2003 8:15 PM
When you get a Crown Jewel you need to be profesionally fitted and inteviewed by the selling dealer and IF. They take in to account your cycling goals, weight and riding style. If you want stiff they will give you stiff. If it's for Crits then you will get a qiuker steering bike with twitchy handling, They ask you questions like do you climb seated or standing, to you pedal through corners, They will even make it single speed if that your thing. The whole idea of a Crown Jewel is an application specific bike for the rider. I recomend the Special Edition with the Reynolds Ouzo Pro fork and Sterling Silver head badge. The Ti ones are really nice but more suited for lighter riders and the steel crown jewel is what put IF on the Map. My frame and fork was $2100 after I did custom paint. Highway Robbery but if My bike were stolen I would build the exact same bike all over again with out hesitation. A big part of the sucess of My bike was in part of the professional fitting procedure involving the Serotta size cycle and an experienced fitter.

My wife now wants a Crown Jewel but we think it may be too expensive considering how much she plans on riding it. We are looking into a nice Steelman Stage race with a custom top tube option and Mabey 525 tubing instead of 853. Our goal is to get simular results and take advantage of Steelmans considerably more affordable pricing. Her bike should cost us about $2500 with full cenatar and the Ouzo pro fork. My Crown Jewel is pushing 5k with full Chorus and a Record Crank.

My Jewel weighs 19lbs, a full record jewel can go as low as 17lbs easy with a lighter wheel set. A Ti Jewel would be even ligher. I'm not a weight wenie and opted for lower maintenece bulit proof parts.
This is true of all good custom builders including Strong...miposy
Apr 18, 2003 9:37 AM
Steelman, IF, etc.

As a big guy it's good you are going custom. Any good builder is going to give you a stiff BB if you ask for it, and they will do it in Steel or Ti.

Your frame will come in around 3.5 lbs if it is steel, and closer to 3 if it is Ti. Frankly, it's so close you should choose simply based on the ride you are looking for, unless you really prefer a particular material.

Even then there are choices. Strong Frames builds with three different types of Ti, and has just about every steel you could imagine.

Find a builder you like, talk with them, and if they seem to be listening, have a good reputation, and you have the $$, buy your new frame.

Good luck.
I have a landshark track framejustina
Apr 18, 2003 4:45 AM
Super ride, light, stiff in the BB, great looking paint job, dedacciai zero uno steel. You can get them through GVH bikes fully built with Ultegra for $2k, custom builds available at this price. I like the Crown Jewel. But having ridden both I'd get the Landshark based on the value of this package. Check them out at gvhbikes.com.
Lots of choicesNessism
Apr 18, 2003 6:47 AM
There are so many choices in custom frames that it's hard to know where to start. I suggest you check out any local builders if there are any. Contrary to what some may think, building a frame is not all that difficult. Working directly with the builder is the best way to get what you want in the frame. And at 240 lbs., don't worry about frame weight!!! Focus on getting a frame with the proper stiffness for your intended usage. The frame will weigh what the frame will weigh.

Good luck.

Ed

PS: TET (aka Tom Teesdale) has one of the best values in custom frames. He is very experienced and will make you a full custom for about $800 depending on what tubing you want.