RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help I need Tires !(18 posts)

Help I need Tires !huntzdux
Apr 15, 2003 8:09 PM
Can anyone recommend a 700x23 general purpose road tire, that has a little more resistance to flatting? I rode 190 miles in the Houston to Austin MS ride last weekend and had 5 flats on my Michelin Axial Pros. They only have about 300-400 miles on them, and I checked my rim tape, which was OK.I don't know if it was just a run of bad luck, or if someone else has a better suggestion. Thanks for the input.
Axial Carbonsmickey-mac
Apr 15, 2003 9:01 PM
They roll almost as well as Axial Pros but they rarely lead to that problem that you mentioned in your message. You know, the f-word. They last forever. I just wish they'd start making an all-black version.
I'll second Carbons, but I don't mind the yellow stripe :) nm.JL
Apr 16, 2003 4:49 AM
ditto Axial Carbons, even with the yellow stripe! Great tire! nmnoveread
Apr 16, 2003 7:09 AM
Vredestein Fortezza top pick by RBR review(er)steamsloppy
Apr 15, 2003 9:57 PM
Check out the reviews section here:
http://roadbikereview.com/Tires/PLS_2489crx.aspx

The Vredestien Fortezza road is the top pick.

I use the Fortezza TriComp with great flat resistnace most of the year and a Fortezza Road during goathead season (late summer and early fall).
Say moreCrankist
Apr 16, 2003 5:39 AM
From NM. I'm ready to buy some Specialized 'flak-jacket'-belted "Cipo" tires in an effort to avoid goathead flats without using the nasty thorn-proof tubes. Just how well do the Vredesteins protect? Tried the Specialized?
Mike
re: say moreteamsloppy
Apr 16, 2003 2:03 PM
The Fortezza Tri-Comp (the mult-colored high end version) is not goathead resistant. The very center tread seems to be, but the goatheads easily pierce and stick into the brightly colored rubber on the sides of the center contact patch. You can seem them spin round and round stuck in the rubber often before you notice the flat or hiss. The bright colored smooth rubber does make identfying the puncture quite easy. I've mastered the pull a section of the tube out and patch without removing wheel from bike, or tire from wheel (saw that in Vietnam).

The all black Fortezza Road seems relatively goathead resistant. I can't remember a goathead flat with them, but that is anecdotal. I definitely had flats. Maybe the goatheads don't stick in the this rubber compound as well. I switched to them in July of last summer and noticed far fewer flats using the Fortezza Road vs the TriComp. I read a rumor that the Puncture resistant layer goes wall to wall in the Fortezza Road, adding weight.

Never tried Specialized Cipo.
Thanks (nm)Crankist
Apr 16, 2003 2:55 PM
Something differentboneman
Apr 16, 2003 12:18 AM
from the usual Michelin Pro Race, Vredstein, Conti axis would be the Schwalbe Blizzard Neo Pro. I've ridden the others but the Schwalbe gets my vote for best ride, rolling resistance, controllable traction in the west and protection against punctures.

I've ridden them for the last 2.5 seasons and give them a high recommendation.
did same ridetxcross
Apr 16, 2003 4:41 AM
Something must have been wrong. In our group we had a set of Michelin Axial Pros, Gommitalia Calypso K's, Conti 3000's and some new Specialized and nobody had a flat. We rode the standard route and went through the park.

For me, I have had very good luck with the Gommitalias. They role great and I have not had a single flat in about 1000 miles. http://www.gitabike.com/cgi-bin/shop/sc_searchz.cgi?user_id=26432&database=dbase_shop.exm&template=sr2_shop_gom.htm&0_option=1&0=gt-caly

On a side note, did you get lost? I only logged 178 miles and I took the long route, maybe my odometer is wrong.
re: Help I need Tires !pitt83
Apr 16, 2003 4:53 AM
Try the Vittoria Open Corsa CX. They're $$$, but really nice. Very sticky side walls for cornering, low rolling resistance on the crown. Kevlar beaded and kevlar skinned. Only been running these 1 month, but love them. Much better than the Michelins and don't even ask about Conti's.

PS: Check your pressure. Go 5-10 higher than typical and you may not pinch flat as much. Also, could be a presta problem. Those valves get abused, especially from freezing CO2 cartridges.
Conti GatorskinsLeroy
Apr 16, 2003 5:02 AM
Change to heavier tubes.
My favorite iscoonass
Apr 16, 2003 5:06 AM
The Panaracer Stradius Pros......I also have a (free) set of Conti 3000s which have been good but, IMHO, the Panaracers out perform the various brands/models that I've tried....ride smooth as silk, virtually no slipping, don't 'cut' like the Michelins and are rated 150psi & 220g for a 700x23 tire...
same here - why they aren't bigger, I'll neverknow.jw25
Apr 16, 2003 6:18 AM
Over in the MTB world, Panaracer's a big name thanks to their Fire XC Pro tires, but it seems like no one knows they make road tires, too.
I've seen 2 other pairs of Stradius tires (1 Pro and one Extreme) in 3 years of riding. Both their owners were very happy, and neither one had any problems to report.
I've ridden a set of Pros for around 600 miles with no problems, and virtually no wear.
Maybe I should keep my mouth shut, though, since you can buy the various Stradius models for half the price of comparable big 3 tires.
Panaracer Stradius -- Good ChoiceGregory Taylor
Apr 16, 2003 9:21 AM
I'm on my second set of Stradius Pro's -- 3000 miles on the first set. Sticky, long lasting, and good in the wet.

I use the cheaper Stradius Elite wire-bead tires on my commuter bikes. I got about a year out of the first set. Nashbar has them very cheap. I like cheap.
I just put them on my KG 361.look271
Apr 16, 2003 9:32 AM
So far I'm very pleased. Great traction wet and dry. Roll nice, too. We'll see how long they last, but @ $15 for a tire (special deal from this board earlier this year), I don't think you can go wrong! Besides, I refuse to pay more for my bike tires than I do for car tires! BTW-I bought the Stradius Pros.
Me too.RJF
Apr 16, 2003 7:24 AM
I seem to get flats in bunches and on Saturday's ride I definitely got a bunch -- 3 flats in 100 yards. First got a pinch flat when hit a poorly signed construction zone going too damn fast. Then, picked up glass in the rear tire, followed by glass in the front. On the plus side, my tire changing skills have improved drastically.

Made me want to put on some puncture resistent tires, with tuffy strips and thick tubes, weight be damned.
michelin axial kevlar. $19 each. nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 17, 2003 5:33 AM