RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


crew report, Davis 24 hour time trial(13 posts)

crew report, Davis 24 hour time trialDougSloan
Apr 15, 2003 4:36 PM
http://www.midcalracing.com/2003davis24.htm

short report with photos

Doug
That's dedication!Tommy-Boy
Apr 15, 2003 8:04 PM
That sounds like the most miserable, brutal experience ever encountered on a bike... with certain obvious exceptions!

That is a kind of dedication I will never know.
That's dedication!Jon Billheimer
Apr 16, 2003 7:13 AM
It would be interesting to autopsy the brains of the race participants!:)- For sure some anomalies would show up!!!
brain functionDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 7:15 AM
I'd bet an MRI (or EEG, whatever) at the end would show almost no higher brain function, purely reptilian functions at that point.

Doug
wait a minuteJS Haiku Shop
Apr 16, 2003 7:35 AM
are you saying he packed it in at 196.5 miles and after 11 hours, due to wind, "cold" & rain? i'm not sure from the ride report if he kept going...
yes, stopped; fini; done; quit; retired; pulled a Millar... nmDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 7:45 AM
is there alot of climbing on the Davis route? nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 16, 2003 8:08 AM
a fair amountDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 8:20 AM
The first 110 miles is all up and down, with some 1/4 mile to 3 mile climbs. Range is from sea level to around 3,000 feet. None of it is extremely steep, by California mountain standards. After 110 miles, it's all downhill or flat, but with a strong headwind from 110 miles to 160. Tim actually averaged faster in the hills than he did on the flats back to the start/finish. He averaged about 19.2 in the hills up to 110 miles, (with wind and rain), and last year I recall averaging just over 18 mph when I quit a 130 miles. At around 90 miles, Tim was close to 20 mph, but that's right before the longest climbs.

Doug
different results if better prepared (clothes, gloves, etc)? nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 16, 2003 9:04 AM
only so much you can doDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 9:29 AM
Keep in mind that this wasn't a fun ride. It was a race, and at a certain level, some racers will do what it takes to win or set a record, but suffering in misery for 24 hours and knowing you can't get or even approach a record seems worthless. I think that's why you see some talented racers bail on things like this when you would think they are better able to finish compared to most people.

If Tim had worn gloves and shoe covers, he would have been better off, yes. But, I think he realized that racing / time trialing in all that stuff was almost futile. As it worked out, the winner completed 380 miles, and the record is 426, and the winner did 418 last year. That's way off the pace.

Problem is that when racing with all that garbage on, you get really hot on the climbs, then freeze on the descents and headwinds. And these are fairly long climbs and descents. If you are not burning up on the climb, you will be shivering out of control descending.

To complicate things, when it's that cold and miserable, you tend not to eat or drink enough, too, and averaging 20 mph in the mountains, you better have your nutrition perfect, or you'll bonk or come close to it. I suspect that Tim did not eat or drink enough. Even if he didn't get to a total bonk, you probably know from experience that even being low on fluids or blood sugar causes you to feel depressed, more fatigued, maybe even confuse, and certainly not to excited about continuing for another 200 miles.

So, bottom line, he could have been better off, but it still would have been miserable, if not impossible, trying to ride 20 mph in that yuck for 400 miles.

Doug
different perspective, i guessJS Haiku Shop
Apr 16, 2003 10:00 AM
i've recently been asking myself this:

if my son were following in a PSV, would i quit?

seems to work pretty well, whatever the situation.

that's just me, though.
So....Jon Billheimer
Apr 16, 2003 8:10 AM
since you are obviously of THAT ILK, judging from your former activities and present associations, how with such an enlarged brain stem DID YOU MAKE IT THROUGH LAW SCHOOL??:)- I know, I know, anti-reptile pills and lots and lots of beer! Right?
good questionDougSloan
Apr 16, 2003 8:22 AM
Lots of beer on Friday nights, not much exercise in those days, and plenty of soda and coffee. A BS in philosphy prior to law school didn't hurt at all.

Doug