RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on 1997/1998 Cannondale Centurion 12 Speed(9 posts)

Opinions on 1997/1998 Cannondale Centurion 12 SpeedRuss1
Apr 15, 2003 2:02 PM
I have an opportunity to buy this bike in my size in very good condition for $300. It would be my first road bike, and I'm looking to get something which will be a decent bike which I can upgrade. It has shifters on the downtube, which is kind of unfortunate in my opinion. Does anyone know the frame material for this bike?
I'd love to hear anyone's opinions on this bike (at this price) as a first road bike.
Thanks in advance!
-Russell
Perfect for upgrading!phatlizard
Apr 15, 2003 2:31 PM
If you like a stiff frame like that go for it! I am a steel-fan so I wouldn't recommend a bike like that if someone would ask for my "taste" but I think that is a great price for bike like that! The frame is still "up to date" and worth around 800 US$ brand new (not sure about the price I am in Europe!). Upgrade it with a Ultegra 8sp STi Shifter and you should have a butt-kicking bike!
Check the rear dropoutsjtolleson
Apr 15, 2003 2:53 PM
spacing. As I noted below, I think that this bike is around 1990 at the latest, and could have the wrong dropout spacing for upgrading.
Doesn't sound right.fracisco
Apr 15, 2003 2:35 PM
I don't think that 12-speed was still available in '97-'98, and the Cannondale road bikes were known by the R500, R600, etc. by then.

Do you mean '87-'88 Centurion 12-speed? That would make a lot more sense. In that case it is probably steel.

$300 is $300. It probably will not be worth any type of upgrade.
Agreed. The bike is at least 8 years older than that (nm)jtolleson
Apr 15, 2003 2:52 PM
My boss's C'dale is sitting right behind me ...Humma Hah
Apr 15, 2003 3:47 PM
It is an aluminum ST-400, 12-speed (2x6), Suntour der, Sugino VP crank and rings, diacomp brakes. I'm not sure the year but it is definitely way older than a '97-98.

I'd suspect the going price for this bike is below $300. That's not to say it is not WORTH more, just that bikes from the 80's are just not drawing much of a price on the used market. Too old to be current, not old enough to make collectors excited.

And I'd not upgrade it much. It'll work just fine like it is. It could be easily switched to a 7-speed freewheel the next time the chain is changed, which a tad of adjustment of the rear der stops will accomodate. The friction shifters won't care. Put on some fresh tires, tubes, cables, and brake pads as needed, and ride the thing.
re: Opinions on 1997/1998 Cannondale Centurion 12 SpeedLC
Apr 15, 2003 3:16 PM
Worth about $100 max if it is in perfect shape, but probally less than that.
re: Opinions on 1997/1998 Cannondale Centurion 12 Speededdie m
Apr 15, 2003 4:45 PM
If it's a Cannondale, it can't be upgraded because the rear spacing can't be changed. If it's a steel Centurion, and it has horizontal dropouts, it can be upgraded to a fixed gear, but $300 is too much. Six speed disappeared 15 years ago.
Different makersWalter
Apr 16, 2003 3:10 AM
D/T shifters aren't the end of the world contrary to some beliefs around here, awful lot of races won with them.

"Centurion" was/is a Japanese TM name used by,as I recall, Nishiki. Good bikes but as many have pointed out $300 is over current market rates though a clean Centurion is certainly a better bike than anything $300 will get you in a LBS today.

Cannondale is Cannondale and their 12 speed frames, like the first generation one I still have were all called "SR" or "ST" followed by a number like 400 or 600. I've always thought mine a nice riding bike but I built it up to ride in a college club back in 86 right after I stopped playing football and had a bit more bodyweight than most other riders. Again, nice bikes but probably over market price. Same caveat as the Centurion applies.

Take your $300 to the used marketplace first and see what's out and about.