RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cycling Shorts - Then vs. Now(24 posts)

Cycling Shorts - Then vs. NowFez
Apr 15, 2003 10:57 AM
Cycling short pads used to be just a chamois. Not a whole lot of padding, but it worked just fine for me.

Then Pearl Izumi started making a purple chamois with pressure relief technology. They were too thick and look like a diaper.

The new 2003 Microsensor shorts this year are a little better, but still not great.

Anyone here recommend a good pair of shorts with just a chamois inside and none of the silly padding that is 3 inches thick?
re: Cycling Shorts - Then vs. Nowfiltersweep
Apr 15, 2003 11:24 AM
The WORST: De Marchi's "gel pad"- now you can have gel not only in your seat, but also in your pad?

The BEST: IMHO- Castelli's PY2 Progetto pad- unfortunately the bibs attached to them are too short (in both the inseam and the braces)
Performance Gel shorts...biknben
Apr 15, 2003 11:31 AM
The worst shorts I ever tried were the Performance Gel shorts. Not only did it feel like a diaper but the heavy gel made it feel like you had a dump in them.
these have to be the worst...anything else come close? (nm)ColnagoFE
Apr 15, 2003 12:34 PM
Had a pair of Nashbar HFS shortsKristin
Apr 15, 2003 2:40 PM
They make crinkling sounds when you walk, which makes other people wonder what you got in your shorts.
Ditto on the Performance Gel shorts...DINOSAUR
Apr 15, 2003 5:16 PM
When brand new, it felt like I was floating around on my saddle. They also get HOT during hot weather. After a couple of months the gel started oozing out in little gobs.
I contacted performance and they said return them and they would replace them with another equally priced short. It took forever (about 3 weeks) but they replaced them with the Elite Multi-L short, which just so happened to be on sale. These shorts are working out great and if you can get them on sale for around $30.00, they are a good buy.

I might ad that I have never been a big fan of Performance, but you can't beat their 100% customer satisfaction guarantee. I was amazed that they would replace a clothing item that had been used for a couple of months. Or maybe they are having problems with the gel shorts....
I like the Performance Elite lineColnagoFE
Apr 16, 2003 9:01 AM
The bibs are pretty good and can often be had for about $40 a pair. All their other shorts are crap though. You're right about the return policy though. I bought a cheap pair of performance MTB shoes to use for Spinning class and after about a year the sole broke in half. I took them in and they gave me store credit (at current sale price) even though I didn't have a receipt.
that's funny! (nm)jtferraro
Apr 16, 2003 6:59 AM
Etxe Ondograndemamou
Apr 15, 2003 11:52 AM
Try Etxe Ondo. Nothing fancy just a bib and a pad. Pad feels and looks like a real chamois. Never could figure out of it was or not.

I bought 2 pairs a couple of years ago from World Cycling Productions. I didn't see them in the last catalog though. Prendas carries some of their line you might try there.
Assos F1-13 best...you didn't mention price range though (nm)ColnagoFE
Apr 15, 2003 12:33 PM
Given that PI Microsensor is $120...Fez
Apr 15, 2003 3:54 PM
I would gladly pay that much for a pair of "real" shorts with a real chamois. No pressure relief, bulky, gimmicky pads.

All my old pairs are getting a little thin, so I had to start out by buying 2 pair of the Microsensors.
$120 USD??? Sounds way too high, almost double. nmTower
Apr 15, 2003 5:35 PM
Yes...Fez
Apr 15, 2003 7:07 PM
Its the ones with all the exposed stitching everywhere on the outside.

But I'll gladly pay half for a better pair elsewhere.
re: Cycling Shorts - Then vs. Nowinnergel
Apr 15, 2003 2:09 PM
I have a pair of Voler and a pair of Sugoi Technifine shorts that I like a lot. The Voler are about $50, and the Sugoi are about $75.

If you are looking for a little lower end, you can try some Canari's. They are about $40 and are good for short workouts.
re: Cycling Shorts - Then vs. Nowpina
Apr 15, 2003 4:58 PM
Santini and Exte-ondo have some nice straightforward stuff. Santini has several variations on their pads.
re: Cycling Shorts - Then vs. NowPjkad
Apr 15, 2003 5:06 PM
Boure
re: Cycling Shorts - Then vs. NowMR_GRUMPY
Apr 15, 2003 6:35 PM
6 or 7 years ago, when I started to pile on the mileage, I was always having problems with a sore rear. I discovered that if I wore a pair of Performance gel shorts once or twice a week, my rear could recover.
Now that I ride with a Catera pad in my bibs, I never have any problems with a sore butt.
re: Cycling Shorts - Then vs. NowMikeBu
Apr 15, 2003 8:09 PM
I just bought 3 pairs of the Voler bib shorts and love them. I think for the money Voler is the way to go...
Giordana Silverline ($70)/Santini ($60 or so) nmserbski
Apr 15, 2003 9:20 PM
try theseParticleMan
Apr 15, 2003 11:38 PM
For budget use-

Adidas, Nalini, Santini

For a bit more money, real comfy and quality-

Campagnolo Metal series..or really, any Campy bibs and shorts..even their gloves are great.

Good luck
ASSOSripper
Apr 16, 2003 12:37 AM
are they really worth the money?
ASSOSCat 4 boy
Apr 16, 2003 1:21 AM
Yes!

Best tailored fit for me, (6ft 1in), hard wearing & snug.
Yesms
Apr 16, 2003 6:44 AM
I have two pairs of Assos prosline bibs and two pairs of PI microsensor bibs that are about the same age (2 years old). I also have a pair of Castelli progretto Y2VT bibs that I bought last year. The Assos bibs (large) are the most comfortable, both down below and across the shoulders (I'm just under 6'0" and weigh 160-164 lbs.) The PI bibs (large) are fine down below and don't need chamois creme like the Assos bibs do. But, the PI bibs have not worn as well (pilling of the fabric in some areas) and the shoulder straps are uncomfortable. The Castelli bibs are nearly as comfortable as the Assos bibs. My only complaint about the Castelli bibs (as well as the PI ones) is that the front is cut higher than the front on the Assos bibs -- it is much easier to pull down the front on the Assos bibs when nature calls (I am not a fan of the pull up the leg routine). The next pair of bibs I plan to buy are the Assos FI-13s. The few reports I have heard are all very positive. $199.95 is a lot to pay for a pair of bibs, but in my experience with the bibs I have is that comfort and durability are directly related to cost. How comfortable do you want to be?
yes and noColnagoFE
Apr 16, 2003 8:09 AM
The F1-13s are the best bibs I've ever worn. They fit great and the pad seems invisible. That said...I think I'd rather have 4-5 pairs of Performance Elite bibs for the same price as one of the Assos. They aren't that much less comfortable than the Assos to make up for the big price difference in my opinion.