RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Am I the only dork waiting for P-R to come on so I can ride(20 posts)

Am I the only dork waiting for P-R to come on so I can ridesn69
Apr 13, 2003 7:55 AM
on the trainer while I watch? I already had to call "dibs" on the big tv from my wife.

She just shook her head sadly. I think this is a sickness, really. At least with football I pork-out on nachos and beer....
and its Van PEtegem!!!I Love Shimano
Apr 13, 2003 9:04 AM
nice sprint!!
Not Cool to Spoil!flying
Apr 13, 2003 10:45 AM
You should type the winner in the message not the header.
Then say spoiler on the header.
While it makes no diff to me...
Some folks are lucky enough to have OLN & were going to watch it.
Thank youSpoiler
Apr 13, 2003 1:55 PM
I knew it was only a matter of time before my compulsion got the best of me. I was hoping for some other schmuck to come along and play the patsy.
Yep, you're a d!ick (nm)mickey-mac
Apr 13, 2003 1:58 PM
nm
Guilty as charged. That was a terrific race.sn69
Apr 13, 2003 2:09 PM
Lest I spoil it for any West Coasters, it was fantastic.

Time to enjoy a Fuller's Vintage while I bask in the afterglow of an hour on the trainer. Geek yes...but stupid no. I broke half-way through to enjoy a nice fermented hop and barley beverage. Gotta stay real, you know.

Scott
No, it was over heremickey-mac
Apr 13, 2003 2:29 PM
However, our buddy who likes to post sub rosa photos of overweight cyclists in full Banesto kit screwed us up on the west coast.

BTW, what year Fuller's Vintage did you have? I found a shop that mistakenly had labeled 2001 Vintage at $2.99. They insisted it was properly priced, so I stocked up. I later found it at the same shop for $5.99. For me, Victory Hop Devil accompanied the race nicely. I love P-R. I only wish Johan had been there for the finish.
I bought a single bottlesn69
Apr 13, 2003 2:37 PM
of the 2000 stuff yesterday at Whole Foods. It's bottle number 41149. Man, I've GOT to get some more of this stuff. I was thinking about posting a pic and a review to the non-cycling forum. It's THAT good. By way of comparison, I recently bought a sixer of Sierra Nevada Barley Wine. It's roughly the same consistency, color and head, but nowhere near as subtle in flavor. I also want to get some mead soon--Big Johnny at DC has me interested.

I think this was about $6 a bottle (1 pt, 2.6 oz's), but Whole Foods is always pricey.

I saw the Banesto kit photos. Now I'm certain I'll awaken in the wee hours of the night clawing at my eyes and screaming "It burns! It burns!"
I bought a single bottlemickey-mac
Apr 13, 2003 2:49 PM
If you haven't tried Fuller's 1845, you should grab some if you see it. IMO, Fuller's doesn't make a bad beer. London Pride and ESB are also near the top of my list. If you're interested in reviewing beer, check out http://www.beeradvocate.com. In addition to thousands of reviews, it has a pretty good board and lots of friendly people. I attended the Beer Advocate get-together in Pasadena a while back and had a great time.
I was just perusing their websitesn69
Apr 13, 2003 3:21 PM
and noticed their 1845. I thought that I needed to procure a bottle...now I KNOW I need to get one.

Ahh..."Pah-sah-de-na," as pronounced in "LA Story,"...one of my Top 10 Movies ever.

...Can't wait to move back to San Diego in June.....
You know,mickey-mac
Apr 13, 2003 3:26 PM
some of the buildings in LA are over forty years old. ;-)

When you get back to SD, you have to take the tours at Stone Brewing (http://www.stonebrew.com) and Alesmith (http://www.alesmith.com). BTW, I use the same name on Beer Advocate as here, just without the hyphen.
You know,sn69
Apr 13, 2003 5:25 PM
Great...one more forum with which to become semi-addicted. By chance, do you ever delve into single-malt? (The non-cycling forum discussed this once, but I can't remember.)
Bourbonmickey-mac
Apr 13, 2003 5:43 PM
When I venture beyond beer and wine, it usually involves bourbon: Knob Creek, Baker's, Booker's, etc.
BourbonDeanMoriarty
Apr 13, 2003 7:27 PM
Jameson baby Jameson.... me and Sean Kelly! Or Sean Kelly and I.
Make the Lincoln music STOP!js5280
Apr 13, 2003 2:22 PM
Apparently cycling fans are still in DESPARATE need of luxury cars and SUVs.

As to the race, what an excellent finish except for I Love Shimano's spoiler in the subject line. C'mon ILS, you've been around long enough to know not to do that :-( Too bad Hincapie and Ekimov couldn't team up this year. Time to go ride. . .
Yeah, I had enough of that in last year's Giro. Good ride...nmsn69
Apr 13, 2003 2:24 PM
SORRYI Love Shimano
Apr 13, 2003 6:31 PM
buy hey, Eki finished third! Yippee!

too bad it wasn;t raining. Paris-roubaix isn't Paris-roubaix without the rain and mud.
resultsDougSloan
Apr 13, 2003 8:02 PM
http://www.velonews.com/race/int/articles/3746.r.html

http://www.velonews.com/race/int/articles/3746.0.html
resultsdivve
Apr 13, 2003 8:49 PM
Just something that might be of interest...second place Dario Pieri was riding a bike with a HeadShok Silk Road Aero fork - 15mm suspension with lock-out.
Some interesting tech carry-overs from 'cross too. nmsn69
Apr 14, 2003 4:37 AM