RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti Brakes(11 posts)

Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti Brakesphatlizard
Apr 12, 2003 4:02 AM
Okay I admit I hate road bike brakes - but my experiences are from the late 80s!
So I never went back but used cyclocross bikes instead to be able to put cantis on it.
I am 6ft4 240 lbs. - I simply felt better with cantis!
So can anyone (maybe those who ride Cylcocross and road) tell me how the brake-power of a Campy is in our days?
I don't want to be stuck in an old bad experience! My next bike will be a custom road frame (from a builder who also would put cantis on it) but think that bike deserves a complete Campy groupo!

Thanks for your help

Christian
Germany
re: Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti BrakesJuanmoretime
Apr 12, 2003 4:34 AM
Hi Christian, things have changed. I've ridden the new Record, Chorus, Dura Ace and Ultegra. The Record and the Chorus gives better modulation, my opinion, of course. Since going to dual pivot brakes, road calipers are much more powerful that they used to be. I can get full wheel lock up braking with one finger. The Chorus brake, at your weight, might be a better choice since there is more material there to keep it stiff and not flex, I could be wrong on this. The best advise I could give you is to borrow a friends bike that has Record or Chorus on it and ride it or go to a local bike shop and request a test ride on a bike that has the set up your interested in and decide yourself instead of going by someone's opinion. I believe you will ditch your canti's and be very pleased. Good luck!
Thanks that was very helpful!!!phatlizard
Apr 12, 2003 5:18 AM
By the way - this is my dream ride ... ! I just want a brighter color ...!
re: Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti Brakesdesmo
Apr 12, 2003 7:37 AM
No comparison between today's brakes and the stuff from the good old days. I love my Nuovo Record equipped bike but the brakes suck. The current crop of Campy brakesets are incredible. I'd second the previous advice of Chorus, and maybe go a step further and recommend Veloce for the dual pivot rear.
re: Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti BrakesB2
Apr 12, 2003 8:09 AM
I find the new Record brakes to be more than adequate. Nice modulation and more than capable of locking up it you wanted to. I just put some cantis on a cross frame and in comparing the two I would say the Record brakes are better.

On a side note I've found the Record brakes to have consideralbly more power than the Dura Ace or Ultegra when braking from the hoods. This could be a result of hood shape, location of the levers on the bar or even bar position, but for me the difference was considerable.

Good Luck,
Bryan
Here's what you really need!girchygirchy
Apr 12, 2003 9:44 AM
Ahh, Avid mechanical discs. The one on my mt bike is amazingly strong, fade-free so far, and extremely low maintenance...the best brake I've ever used, and well worth the money and weight.



Brian
Did you really ...phatlizard
Apr 12, 2003 9:53 AM
... just ask a European Bike guy to put disc-brakes on his road bike???? :)

They would kill me for that - and I couldn't blame them!
A campy only bike with discs well they'd probably even kick me off the road in he USA for that!
I agree on the breaking powers ... but I guess I am a traditionalist!
Hehe, just a suggestion!girchygirchy
Apr 12, 2003 10:32 AM
Wow, that would certainly be a sight to see, lol! All that beautiful Campy stuff with huge Avid discs. Yeah, I think you would get kicked off the road here in the US...I don't even want to know about Germany!

I agree that old road bike brakes suck, especially with steel rims (I've only worked on a few old road bikes, no new ones), I've also been a little interested in how the newer double-pivot designs work. Good luck figuring that out, and getting your new custom steel frame...very nice.

Brian
Steel rims on old road bikes - we're talking 1950s!Kerry
Apr 13, 2003 5:13 PM
It's been at least that long since quality rims were made of steel. Or were you just talking junk bikes, with junk brakes? BTW I was always able to lock up the wheels with everything from Campy NR, MAFAC Competition, and Campy C Record.
re: Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti Brakesukiahb
Apr 13, 2003 9:46 AM
I weigh 200 lbs. and have the current Campy Chorus brakes on my bike and thay work fine, have never felt they lcked power.
re: Campy Record Brakes vs. Canti Brakeswielerpret
Apr 14, 2003 5:18 AM
Canti brakes are likely to save you weight (Spooky, used by Mario de Clerq) and allow you to venture out off the road as well if you want.
Campy brakes are very pretty indeed and have quite adequate braking power, I assure you.
Nice picture of the Steelman, but isn't the saddle a bit tilted??
Take care. Luke, Amsterdam. www.iwaarden.com