RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranks(19 posts)

Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranksabicirider
Apr 11, 2003 10:40 AM
Just ran across the new 2004 durace crankset thought I would post it, anyone venture on the cost.
Be Safe Out On The Roads!!!!!!!!
Ray Still
mooresville, NC
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranks pictureabicirider
Apr 11, 2003 10:41 AM
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranks pictureabicirider
Apr 11, 2003 10:46 AM
nondrive 2004 durace crankarmabicirider
Apr 11, 2003 10:50 AM
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranks pictureProboscis
Apr 11, 2003 11:44 AM
It looks like it is going to need a bottom bracket that is different than the octalink, or taper.
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranks pictureJFST
Apr 12, 2003 3:41 PM
Whatever... those cranks look totally awesome. They are going to use the same BB system as the 2003 XTR group. The BB spindle is attached to the drive side and the non-drive arm uses a lockring similar to a cassette and two bolts clamping it tight. The bearings are place OUTSIDE of the BB shell and are much larger and durable. This is exaclty the same system shimano will use from now on in all their component groups including road, mtb, and freeride/downhill component groups. I don't give a damn what anyone says but this will be the strongest and longest lasting BB/crank system in the road market.
Pictures are at www.velonews.com n/mfracisco
Apr 11, 2003 10:45 AM
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace CranksBlue Crown Jewel
Apr 11, 2003 12:32 PM
I know that this will be sacrilige to many people infatuated with efficiency and energy transfer, but that is one butt-ugly set of cranks. It actually reminds me of the lower end Shimano cranks that one finds in bicycles equiped with the Nexave component package.

I think that I will stay with my Record crank in aluminum for years to come. For that matter I may go and buy another one just to be safe.

I do not understand why companies put little effort in designing an elegant product in addition to it being efficient.

I hope no one has been too offended.

Kind regards,
Dimitri
agreegtx
Apr 11, 2003 2:05 PM
ironically, this is one of the main reasons I switched to Shimano in the late 80s--I thought the Campy C-Record stuff was butt ugly (not to mention overpriced). I was looking forward to the new DA stuff coming out but now I'm not so sure...maybe for my next group I'll be back to Campy.
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranksdave woof
Apr 11, 2003 2:51 PM
I'll second the 'butt ugly' comment.

what is shimano thinking?

ugh

Dave
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Crankspalewin
Apr 11, 2003 3:10 PM
How about weight, efficiency, stiffness? What ever happened to "form follows function?" No way to tell until its released, but if it works better and weighs less (and according to VeloNews the cranks/bb are about an ounce lighter and noticeably stiffer), it IS better.
But it is STILL UGLY!look271
Apr 12, 2003 3:56 PM
Looks like something on my kid's trail bikes. Yuck. And, no, I'm not a Campyfile.
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace CranksI Love Shimano
Apr 12, 2003 11:09 PM
That is one set og UGLY cranks.

If Campy can copy Shimano's innovations..maybe Shimano can copy Campy's style?
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace Cranksrogue_CT1
Apr 11, 2003 12:33 PM
How do you mount the drive side crank? There is no hole for a bolt. It looks pretty cool though.
superglue, duct tapeweiwentg
Apr 11, 2003 12:43 PM
just kidding. it's an integrated crankset, a la the 2003 XTR. the BB is integrated onto the driveside crank, and you attach the NDS crank like a threadless stem.
superglue, duct tapethisendup
Apr 11, 2003 7:12 PM
Form may follow function, but that doesn't mean the form need be ugly...........
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace CranksLinuxDude
Apr 13, 2003 1:59 PM
I think the large chainring is the culprit. What's up with that? What happened to elegance? This chainring looks cheap like the mid 90's rx100 chainring. I'm disappointed. These guys need to take a lesson form Apple (the computer company) about elegant design. In most cases beauty sell, not substance.
re: Sneak Preview 2004 Durace CranksLinuxDude
Apr 13, 2003 2:13 PM
Though, I think a more elegant large chainring will make this set really awesome looking. And it seems that is what Shimano might do as this 3-D graphic of it shows.

Source: cyclingnews.com
Here is the other view...LinuxDude
Apr 13, 2003 2:15 PM
another view.