RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


getting dropped after a turn(11 posts)

getting dropped after a turnblw
Apr 9, 2003 7:32 PM
Any Stategies to help not getting left behind when the pack comes out of a turn? I try to stay close as we enter the turn, but I usually need to really make an effort to catch back on after we come out of the turn.
few thingsDougSloan
Apr 9, 2003 7:59 PM
1. stay further forward in the pack
2. stay closer as you turn
3. brake before the turn, accellerate through
4. make sure gearing right to accellerate
5. this one sounds pretty silly, but I've found it works: before I know I'm "gonna hurt," I relax and breath very deeply for 30 seconds, sort of "hyper-oxygenating"; my lactic acid bucket isn't as full when the going gets tough, then.
6. follow a big guy for a better draft
7. follow someone faster through the turn
8. get in better shape ;-)

Doug
few thingsWoof the dog
Apr 10, 2003 6:13 AM
YEAH RIGHT, ACCELERATING THROUGH THE TURN
I WANNNA SEE YOU PEDALING WHEN YOU ARE ABOUT TO SLIDE OUT, GOOD LUCK
bad dog. go lie downDougSloan
Apr 10, 2003 6:23 AM
Who said anything about "sliding out?"

I see people still braking while well past the apex of the turn, which hurts the ability to accellerate and keep up. At that point, you should be able to pedal.

Doug
agreeSteve_0
Apr 10, 2003 6:48 AM
first rule of staying alive on a motorcycle; always accelerate through the turn.

Braking beyond apex not only slows you down, but increases the radius of the turn.
well fine for cars and motorcycles......african
Apr 10, 2003 8:54 AM
yeah accelerate throught the turn, but on a bicycle. I consider myself great at cornering, other than the wipe out 2 weeks ago. But explain more about accelerating through the turn on a bicycle. I would like to hear more about this....
Push hard on the pedals as you leave the turn, nmDownhill deux mille
Apr 10, 2003 9:05 AM
re: getting dropped after a turnJBergland
Apr 10, 2003 5:19 AM
blw,

Doug had some good suggestions... they cover just about everything. 'Knowing' a surge is coming up can make it a completely different experience. Like Doug said... 'relax'. Also, the closer to the front you are, the shorter the surge will be and the less work you will have to expend.

Good Luck!!
EasyDownhill deux mille
Apr 10, 2003 6:32 AM
get to the front, then swing over and take out the front wheel of the guy following - hey presto - you are miles ahead of what's left of the field.

Plus you get to meet lots of exciting new people after the race who are taking a real active interest in you!

Other than that - like Doug said, save you'll always have some catch-up to do, it's just the way it is.
Jumping versus getting dropped on the turn.MXL02
Apr 10, 2003 7:56 AM
One of the things that drove me crazy learning to ride a pace line was how the guys would verbally kick my a$$ if I jumped when it was my turn to pull, but smoked me and left me in the turns. To those including Doug, who gave advice...thanks.
ABSOLUTELY ACCELERATEking of Norway
Apr 11, 2003 4:59 PM
I would defintely agree about accelerating through, or out of a turn to increase your position. I think the arguments against are purely semantics. Whether your accelerating through, at the apex, before the apex, etc., I found that I was having this same problem, especially in races. Being a larger and thus a relatively heavier rider I thought this was a possible factor contributing to my lagging out of a turn.

Rather I have forced myself to start pedaling sooner through the turn than I was normally used to. Other positive consequences of this is that one can take more speed through the turn, pedal a larger gear (by 1 or 2) through the turn and maintain a higher average speed through the turn thus contributing all the way 'round to keeping or improving my position. I have found this out through experimenting and it has really helped my speed through the turns. Bottom line, start pedaling through the turn sooner than you are doing now and a little sooner each time with your increased comfort level.

Good Luck.