RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sidi Energy vs. Genius Shoes-- AnyoneTry Both????(13 posts)

Sidi Energy vs. Genius Shoes-- AnyoneTry Both????grande
Apr 5, 2003 12:02 PM
Looking at both the shoes and I'm not sure what the difference is past the Energy having the 2 buckles instead of velcro. to me the buckles dont look like such a great idea. I mean the look more prone to breaking and you prolly cant micro adjust fit as much as velcro. Am I wrong?

Is this the only difference? Anyone try both? The cost difference int an issue. Thanks!
Velcrofiltersweep
Apr 5, 2003 12:12 PM
Everything on the Energy has ratcheting, but how much micro-adjusting do you need? The top strap has a micro adjustment on the across the inner foot, if you really need it.

I don't like the "hook" side of velcro- it grabs ahold of all the synthetic cycling fabrics and causes pilling... no worry with the Energys... I've never broken anything on the Energys, but one of the sole tensioners completely disappeared on a ride- and I always thought those were a complete gimmick.
I just bought Energy but have ridden Genius forLazywriter
Apr 5, 2003 12:44 PM
years. I haven't put my cleats on the Energy yet, but have worn them and tested the closure system. Seems like they will hold up fine. My Genius's are all rusted where the velcro is looped around the metal which won't happen on the Energy. The closure on the Energy are more presice for sure.
As far as the sole tension thing, I am unsure of whether it is a total gimmick or mariginally useful. However, there is no way the device will come out if they are adjusted properly. If you allow them to loosen to an extreme, they will come out, but that takes sooooo many turns that all you need to do is keep a regular eye and maintain them and you will have no problems. Either way they are the same great shoe with different closures.
Yeahbutfiltersweep
Apr 5, 2003 12:50 PM
...that damnable tensioner... I've never seen a shoe with so many "moving parts" as a Sidi Energy- use some thread compound on the heelcap screws as well, or you WILL lose them too...

Sidi's strong point is also its Achilles heel: "user replaceable part"
YeahbutLazywriter
Apr 5, 2003 1:09 PM
From what I can tell nowadays, the Genius also has the replaceable heel caps. I agree, sometimes the more complex = potentially more problems, but regular service that takes less than a minute can avoid most issues.
Truefiltersweep
Apr 5, 2003 1:44 PM
-they use the same heel cap.

That "regular service" thing you mention isn't something I've always managed... especially for SHOES of all things.
re: Sidi Energy vs. Genius Shoes-- AnyoneTry Both????rogue_CT1
Apr 5, 2003 12:41 PM
I have both. They are equally as comfortable and solid but I do like the Energy's micro adjustment ability on the front two straps rather than the velcro straps on the Genius. You can easily make adjustments during a ride without disrupting the other riders around you. But I have found that once the Energy is set it really doesn't need as much adjustment as the Genius 4's.

The sole tentioner on the Energy is worthless, I can't tell any difference.

In all, I will have to say that I wish I had saved my money and NOT bought the Energy's. In my opinion they are not really any better than the Genius 4's and they aren't worth the extra money. So my advice is to go with the Genius 4's and pocket the extra money and learn from my experience that you aren't missing much.

Check out Total cycling, they have great prices on Sidi shoes.
Xpedia has the Energy on sale for $150 shippedSTEELYeyed
Apr 5, 2003 12:49 PM
I have Genius 3,and Energy. For that price,Energy is the way to go.
Totalcycling.com has Energy w/Look PP396 for $179 shippedunchained
Apr 5, 2003 4:42 PM
for both the shoes and pedals! Plus you can save even more if you check out their tire prices.
re: Sidi Energy vs. Genius Shoes-- AnyoneTry Both????gav
Apr 5, 2003 5:46 PM
I've got both and I find that the Energy's feel better on my instep. The proximal velcro strap on the Genius's puts a bit of pressure on the said instep.. That being said, I tend to get used to it and forget about the pressure once I start riding.. Still like the Energy's more though..
Energy's aren't worth the extra $$$BenR
Apr 5, 2003 9:00 PM
They are heavier than Genius 4's because of the sole gimmick, which doesn't do anything for the sole except come loose and perhaps make it slightly flexier - I really can't tell the difference on the bike, only by trying to bend the soles in my hands in strange directions. It certainly does not make the shoe stiffer than a Genius 4. In my opinion, Sidi Genius 3/4 soles have a perfect blend of stiffness and comfort, but I certainly wouldn't want them to be more flexible. If you're looking for stiff, go for a shoe with carbon sole. Sidi's have earned their reputation by making a long-lasting product that is comfortable all day long and fits narrow feet, for a good price compared to their competitors.

The string/button thingies on top look fragile but I've yanked them around a lot in the last 18 months and they're very solid, but I think velcro is easier to adjust. The string straps are easy to get too tight and then are difficult to loosen on the bike. My old Genious 3's velcro never wore out like I thought it might. I do like the newer arch strap on my Energies since it ratchets nicely and allows for adjustments on both sides of the strap for all sizes & shapes of feet. I don't know if the Genius 4 borrows the Energy one or uses the older Genius 3 model ratchet. But this one feature isn't worth $50 more for heavier and possibly flexier soles.
Energy's aren't worth the extra $$$Lazywriter
Apr 5, 2003 9:39 PM
You can actually get the Energys for less than the Genius nowadays. I got mine brand new on Ebay from a dealer for $169 no tax/free shipping. $60 off retail and $20 less than the Genius in most LBS.
You contradict yourself when you say the sole tensioner is a gimmick yet makes the shoe flexier if the tensioner is lost. How is it a gimmick then???? I agree, it may not do much, but why would Sidi put and R & D into it if it didn't do anything?
Energy's aren't worth the extra $$$filtersweep
Apr 7, 2003 5:34 AM
" I agree, it may not do much, but why would Sidi put and R & D into it if it didn't do anything?"

Marketing?