RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Was something done about the sad state of the CLASSIFIEDS?(8 posts)

Was something done about the sad state of the CLASSIFIEDS?Fez
Apr 4, 2003 10:47 AM
Lots of recent posts about scams, both on E-bay and the RBR Classifieds.

Obviously, there is little we can do about the E-bay ones except report them to E-bay.

But has Gregg or anyone else done anything about the suspicious posts on RBR Classified. The ones where the guy lists LA as address but is supposedly in Spain and wants to wire pmt there. I think he also lists 7 sizes of the exact same model, has copied info and pictures from manufacturer website, etc. I'm sure there were others as well.

I'd like to see some sort of integrity in the classifieds maintained here, since we actually have some control over it.

I've pretty much given up on E-bay.
re: Was something done about the sad state of the CLASSIFIEDS?Spunout
Apr 4, 2003 10:54 AM
I've been working with a few others cleaning up EBay. Basically, everything has been reported, and if we can't report them, we stink-bid them and alert the bidders. Mostly from Canadian sources (but yes, Spanish and Portugese destinations for the wired cash).

If you don't like the RBR Classified, submit a complaint.
I hear you. Maybe the moderator can chime in.Fez
Apr 4, 2003 11:18 AM
You wrote:

"If you don't like the RBR Classified, submit a complaint."

Absolutely! But I was wondering if anything was actually done to prevent further abuses.

I was looking today and noticed the Cannondale and Bianchi EV ads were not there, so I was wondering if the mods followed up on that allegedly bogus seller.
I know what you mean......K-Man
Apr 4, 2003 11:05 AM
I used to be able to buy from the classified sections without much fear or being ripped off, just made sure to ask the right questions about condition, etc. Now I'm almost afraid to buy anthing off the classifieds unless it is from someone I am familiar with (which isn't many for me). Right now, if a seller seems 1% fishy to me I usually opt to pass.

KMan
give them credit, there's 2 "Fraud Alert" links nowdesmo
Apr 4, 2003 11:29 AM
RBR is addressing the problem, with good Fraud FAQ links on the classified page. You can't stop scams like this, all you can do is educate people about them. Ebay should have these warnings on the page you enter your bid on, but probably never will. Unfortunately there will always be people who fall for stuff like this, and there's not much you can do for folks like this. How many Nigerian scam emails do you still recieve? I get two or three a week still. it must work if they keep sending 'em out.
Right: Always check 'Good Trader/Bad Trader' forum. nmSpunout
Apr 4, 2003 11:33 AM
Yes.gregg
Apr 4, 2003 12:24 PM
I have posted two warnings up in the Classifieds to notice people of two different scams that have been going on.

One scam is the transfer of funds to/from an African (or other overseas account).

The other scam warning is about Western Union transactions.

I have also been actively deleting ads and removing users from our system who are found to be known scammers/fraud arists.

If you know of more that are still in there, by all means let me know (gkato@roadbikereview.com)

Thanks,

-gregg, Site Manager

(and please realized that we are still a very small company with very a very small legal team (actually we contract 1 person, when necessary). We hope that EBay has some luck in trying to get rid of these people as well.)
Yes.russw19
Apr 4, 2003 1:26 PM
Rock on Greg! That's why we are all here... cuz you guys make it the best site on the net for forums and classifieds.

Russ