RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


France sucks! Lance is a punk!Warm up the blowtorch!(42 posts)

France sucks! Lance is a punk!Warm up the blowtorch!the bull
Apr 3, 2003 5:01 PM
I am putting on my flame resistant suit cause I know I'm getting flamed for this one!!!!!!
I been wanting to do this for quite sometime so here goes!

When Lance first came back I was hoping that Ulrich would win the tour! After Lance won I was surprised! Amazing and yes, to this day very incredible.Four, wow, four, yeah yeah yeah. Now soon to be five or six. I am starting to lose interest and count!

Dont forget this guy is training for this one race.And when he wins people think he will be the greatest! Ohh the Tour day France!aaahhhh!!!! I hate France, the place just sucks!
Lance even says now he hates France too! This is the only race that ever gets any real attention. So I say screw it, I hate the Tour day France.I am going to pay as little mind to it as possable! Screw the Tour! Screw France!
I will, however, be watching all the other races on OLN
and yes some of the tour but as I watch it I will scoff at it.With all the silly Americans waving thier Texas flags.
I hope you get the picture.

Ban the Tour day France!
Learn how to spell and while your at it , try to get a life too!GEORGIADOG
Apr 3, 2003 5:10 PM
nm
Isnt the MS 150 comming around soon!Time to take your Trekthe bull
Apr 3, 2003 5:29 PM
the shop and Get it all tuned up!Get a mind of your own too!
So you wont have to spew out generic flames about gettting a life or spelling-how weak!I know someone out there can do better than Georgia dog!
Hey now, the MS150 is a great cause and just because..ColoradoBiker
Apr 4, 2003 4:21 PM
this guy is an idiot but no need to disparge a large group of cyclists that raise a bunch of dough ($1.8 million in 2002)for a really good cause and have a good time at the same time. We may not be real fast but I believe the Colorado MS150 would be a good challange for most cyclists.
BTW, some of us MS175'ers (100+75) ride custom titanium bikes with full campy record.
I never said it was not a good cause!the bull
Apr 4, 2003 5:09 PM
Do not take it wrong!You come to my door and ask for money for that cause and I will hook you up big on the $$$$!!!
I never said it was not a good cause!methosage
Apr 9, 2003 3:40 AM
I am at your door and ready to be hooked up "big on the $$$!!!"

My donation link:
https://www.nationalmssociety.org/PAX/home/account_1.asp?m=e&pa=&pta_a=8612564&pta_n=1&pd=PAX0EMS120030607PGH&pt=PAXBBIOF01

While you're at it you could donate to other members on my team:
http://www.bio.cmu.edu/~bts/biking/ms150.html

Thanks Bull
You're........not your! (nm)TWD
Apr 3, 2003 5:33 PM
nm
what????the bull
Mar 31, 2003 10:32 AM
your-a form of the possesive case of you used as attributive adjective.As in: your bike.
You're-contraction of you are.As in you're a dumbass!
I am not the best speller in the world but don't correct me when I am right and you're wrong!
possessive, not possesive. n/ttimster
Apr 3, 2003 6:12 PM
hmm - I can see where this is going!the bull
Apr 3, 2003 6:28 PM
Look I dont care about spelling(obviouslly)and you can nit pick the grammer all day long!Is this all you can do when someone has a point you might not agree with AND DONT KNOW WHAT TO SAY good stay on this troll but from the line down I want to see some real creative arguments!
Hey BullTWD
Apr 4, 2003 1:06 PM
Is your skin that freakin' thin? I thought you had the fireproof pants on. Take a look at which post I was replying to.

Here's a hint......it wasn't YOUR post. I wasn't flaming you, I was responding to GEORGIADOG who was correcting YOUR spelling while screwing up YOUR and YOU'RE in the process.

Nothing personal, but before you call someone a Dumba$$ make sure that YOU'RE not the Dumba$$
sorry I was getting ready to snap back at everyone!nmthe bull
Apr 4, 2003 3:35 PM
No problem!TWD
Apr 4, 2003 6:35 PM
No harm done.

By the way heres my calculated resposne to your original post.

I don't mind Lance or Trek but I'm not gonna go out and by a Lance poster or anything. I respect his abilities as a cyclist. I'll reserve judgement about his personal life, at least for now. I'd say I would be dissapointed if the facts come out that his separation has been caused by decisions that have screwed up his family life for the sake of his career. It's not that I care that much about the personal lives of professional cyclist, it's just that he's made numerous comments about how important his family is to him. I respect him if it's true. Screw him if it's all an act.

OK, I'll admit it, Lance looks like a complete dork with those white socks. Time to get something a little more stylish.

As for Trek, I used to hate them. Growing up in Wisconsin you see nothing but Trek Trek Trek. I tend to not like to follow the herd if you know what I mean (bring on the cheesehead jokes please). As far as large bike corporations go, I'd say that I like the fact that almost all of their frames are made in the USA (and in my native cheeseland to boot). I don't like the fact that they have cheapened some excellent brand names (i.e. the $500 Gary Fisher).

I do think they make some nice frames though. I rode an OCLV Gary Fisher MTB for a number of years (actually still ride it full rigid converetd to SS), and I can say beyond a shadow of a doubt that its a heck of a great frame material. I like it far better than my Ti hardtail.

I even considered getting an OCLV road frameset this year (eeeeeeekkkkkk), but decided against it for one simple reason. I still love the way my 1989 lugged steel Bridgestone RB-1 rides. Works good enough for me, so no reason to drop the cash.

As for the French......well, I've never been there, haven't met many Frenchies either, but I'd be willing to bet that there are alot of good French folks out there. Sure, their politicians are swine, but then again so are most of ours.
I'm sure some of their people suck too, but then again so do alot of ours. Take for example the ultra-liberal anarchist war protesters who are out there causing mayhem because they have nothing better to do with their worthless lives and their exact opposite the gun totin' pickup drivin', ignorant rednecks that run cyclists off the road.

As for the Tour. I like to follow the grand tours because of the suspense and anticipation of what's going to happen the next day. The 1 day classics don't do it for me, they go by too quickly.

I like the Giro and Vuelta, but not as much since not all of the big players are there and on top form.

OK, I'll stop now, this has to be the most tedious and boring post I've ever been responsible for.
If ya got problems with non perfect typin post above!the bull
Apr 3, 2003 6:32 PM
From here down I want some good stuff!
Like:"Hey lance is at least going to kick the frenchies asses on there own soil in their own race!"
Yes I am crazy!!!
re: France sucks! Lance is a punk!Warm up the blowtorch!russw19
Apr 3, 2003 6:53 PM
I don't think I would have worded it that way, but I have to say, I like Ullrich and hope he can win another Tour. I felt for the guy when he put on weight in the off season and was compared to the Michelin Man by a bunch of stupid a$$ journalists who couldn't even ride with him while he was fat. Off season is exactly that... off the bike season. I used to not take one, I got fed up with riding and quit altogether. I should have just taken a few months off instead in the winter. I loved how a slimmed down Jan made everyone in the peleton look humble except Lance. I even liked how Lance showed Jan the respect a former Tour winner deserves even when asked about Jan's extra pounds. Lance simply said he expected Jan to be fit when it mattered and Jan was. I watched the Giro that year more to see how well Jan's fitness improved than anything else. I hope the finances work out that he can ride the tour this year too. He's an amazing talent.

And I sort of see the side of being sick of all the Americans in France waving Texas flags. For a few years when LeMond was racing, Americans were there supporting him. Then he retired and Big Mig took over that race and made it his own for 5 straight years.... and Americans lost interest in that race. They didn't get it back until after Lance won in '99. A lot of Americans didn't even know that race existed until after Lance won it. Not even while he was leading in 99, but after he won it. And at the same time, one of history's greatest riders was virtually ignored by the American public. No, not Lance in 99, but Big Mig from 91 thru 95.

But I would be a hypocrite if I didn't watch this year, so I will. But I will be rooting for some riders other than Lance. I won't mind if Lance wins, but I won't single mindedly hope he's the only rider who does well. I would love to see Tyler, Cadel, Frigo, Ullrich, McGee, Cipo, and a whole bunch of others ride well. I hope for an interesting race that isn't over half way thru it, and I would love to see the Green Jersey comp come down to the last pedal strokes of the Tour down the Champs Ellyse.

I don't know what exactly you are getting at with this post Bull, but cool! Speak out against a boring Tour in which Lance dominates and the rest seem content to fight for the other two podium spots. And if anyone wants to proof-read my post, go for it. I don't spell check and I don't proof it myself before I put it up. I would like to think that the message is much more important than my grammar or spelling. But if you are reading posts to criticize grammar, I am more than willing to help you out.

Russ
Yes, no, not worth the effortCrankist
Apr 3, 2003 7:29 PM
When trolling for attention (as your subject line idicates), you may find that subtlety gets more responses
than massive insanity. But I'm just nuts enough to respond with due appreciation.
How could anyone argue? -Lance's tiny accomplishments, so thoroughly tainted by race-specific training, are really nothing when compared to your masterpiece post taken as a literary missive in itself. Oh, and woe to the TdF without your stamp of approval!
-yawn-Ahimsa
Apr 3, 2003 7:37 PM
Awfully presumptious of you to assume that all of us here are Texas flag waving Lance-ophiles that would be so terribly offended by your poorly constructed "blurt".

Then to combine that with the latest Amer-cuhn good ol' boy jingoism "screw them frenchies"...

-yawn-

Go order some "freedom fries" or something.

A.
-yawn-russw19
Apr 3, 2003 7:49 PM
What is Denny's going to call French Toast now? If it has a big ol' head, err crust? then it's Texas Toast, but what is regular French Toast now?

And what about French-Canadians? are they now Freedom-Canadians?

Has French Bread just become "long bread with a flaky crust"?

Man I hope this war ends soon so I can have some damn fries. I hate to have to go to Long John Silver's and order Fish and Chips and get actual Potato Chips! Dammit, when I want ships, I will ask for ships, when I want fries, I will ask for chips!

Russ
-yawn-Ahimsa
Apr 3, 2003 8:24 PM
>-what is regular French Toast now?

Same thing it always was...delicious.

>-And what about French-Canadians? are they now Freedom-Canadians?

I dunno aboot that one. I always called 'em "Frenucks".

>-Has French Bread just become "long bread with a flaky crust"?

You know, I've been describing it that way to my local baker for years and he has yet to produce a decent baguette.

>-Man I hope this war ends soon so I can have some damn fries. I hate to have to go to Long John Silver's and order Fish and Chips and get actual Potato Chips! Dammit, when I want ships, I will ask for ships, when I want fries, I will ask for chips!

Mmmmmm.....chiiiiiips....

Cheers!

A.
the bull is boring and full of it (nm)velocity
Apr 3, 2003 7:45 PM
I can appreciate your anomysity towards the frenchgetoffmywheel
Apr 3, 2003 7:52 PM
however, I have a different point of view. The TDF is still the premier stage race event and winning it is a legendary accomplishment.

There is nothing like someone from Texas going to France to kick everyone's ass and winning their race. In the back of his mind he wonders if someone will do him harm-some terrorist or a leftist Frenchman (really no difference in my mind). To boycott or avoid the race would be easy. To go there among all this pressure with conviction to win takes alot of balls and I will be pulling for him. I am confident he will make our country proud. He personifies to me what America is.

So, to call him a "punk" for doing so is misplaced. The French have screwed him since the day they dropped him from Confidis and haven't stopped since. Last four years has been payback and continues into this year.
Stick to your fish, bulldeHonc
Apr 3, 2003 8:22 PM
I presume you know something about that topic. As I said before - your messages are largely disposable and rather silly.
Did anybody hear that?Frith
Apr 3, 2003 8:24 PM
I think it was the sound of Lance's heart breaking after learning that "the bull" disapproves.
But U.S. - French relations have suffered the biggest blow. Now that "the bull" has weighed in on rbr's web forum and voiced his opinion, CNN will likely be beating down "the bull's" door for comment.
Perhaps "the bull" should stay away from "the shlitz" and go back to watching the "the rock" on "the television".
Yeah, I think it was a bull fart. [nm]Ahimsa
Apr 3, 2003 8:27 PM
JUST FEED THE TROLL, HOLDING BACK HURTS TOO MUCHSpoiler
Apr 3, 2003 8:47 PM
Let's drop the tired illusion that trolls won't be fed. It's a losing battle. I don't like losing a battle, so I'll do the American thing, join the winning side and give my 100% effort for the cause. Here it goes.

I AM OUTRAGED AT YOUR COMMENTS. YOU HAVE GOT ME VERY ANGRY. YOU HAVE SUCCESSFULLY RECOGNIZED SOMETHING I LOVE/ADMIRE/ADVOCATE AND DENIGRATED IT. I ADMIRE LANCE AND THE TOUR. I AM ADVERSELY AFFECTED BY SOMEONE WHO EXPRESSES OTHERWISE. I AM GOING TO PUT MY HEART INTO A FLAME AIMED AT YOU. I AM GOING TO ACT AND EXPRESS MYSELF IN WAYS THAT ARE DESIGNED TO HURT YOUR FEELINGS. I AM GOING TO OFFER MY OPINIONS AS A COUNTER TO YOURS.
(reaches in pocket for more attention to hand out to bull)

YOU HAVE SHOWN YOURSELF TO BE FICKLE. YOU PROBABLY LIKED LANCE. YOU GROW BORED WITH HIS WINNING. THIS IS SYMPTOMATIC OF THE CURRENT GENERATION OF YOUTH. THEY HAVE BEEN PROGRAMMED BY MTV AND MICROWAVE OVENS. THEY GROW BORED TOO EASILY.
(points out that all other posts are just giving bull attention he wants and encourages others to stop giving bull attention)

YOU SHOULD NOT SPEAK ILL OF LANCE SINCE HE CAN OUTPERFORM YOU ON A BICYCLE.
(paypals more attention to bull)

YOU HAVE CUT YOURSELF OFF FROM THE CYCLING COMMUNITY. WE WILL WATCH AND CHEER FOR LANCE WHILE YOU WILL BE BITTER. YOU HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL IN SINGLE-HANDEDLY ANGERING AN ENTIRE WWW COMMUNITY. WHY, WE HAVE NEVER HEARD OF SUCH THINGS BEING SPOKEN!
(swears no more attention will be paid)

YOUR TRAILER IS SPELLED SO FAT, THE LITTLE SCHOOL BUS PROBABLY NEVER RIDES A BIKE ANYWAYS.
(justifies giving more attention because I offer an original point of view)
Sorry to deeply disturb you so much!the bull
Apr 4, 2003 3:28 AM
But saying that I should not speak ill of lance cause he can out perform me on a bike is a bunch of crap.
I feel I am a better man than lance Because I will not cheat on my wife or leave my family!For this Lance is a punk!
Do you truthfully know why?teoteoteo
Apr 4, 2003 5:32 AM
Do you really know why he left his wife? Pretty bold assumption that there was infidelity, could you produce some facts?

Since you think he's such a jack@ss and feel so deeply I could shoot him a mail and arrange for you to share your feelings in person.
no facts just rumors on that one!nmthe bull
Apr 4, 2003 9:11 AM
Morning feeding.Spoiler
Apr 4, 2003 7:43 AM
YOU CAD! YOU BRUTE! BRINGING UP LANCE'S MARRIAGE TROUBLES IS DISTURBING ME DEEPER THAN I WAS DISTURBED BEFORE.
Good show old manCrankist
Apr 4, 2003 9:52 AM
Your two posts may have finally put an end to all this rubbish!
And just like that peace -was restored to the board!nmthe bull
Apr 4, 2003 3:16 PM
That post is a trolling waste of bandwidth ...AllUpHill
Apr 3, 2003 8:53 PM
but I would have to partially concurr in that I prefer the Giro(1) and wish it drew more presige and attention today's cycling world. The the sequence of stages is more creative and exciting, the climbs are more devilish, and the winner isn't a foregone conclusion. (Plus, pink is cooler than yellow.)

I admire Lance's achievements, but if he would set a goal of winning the Giro and the Tour in one year, then would he earn a spot in cycling history among the most prestigious champions and legends. As it is, he's earning a reputation as a very skilled and determined, but moreover eccentric and stubborn rider. One needs to show a willingness to risk the occasional loss in order to be a true winner. All the same, I will enjoy watching him win the coming Tour, hopefully not without some good competition.

(1) no, I'm not Eye-talian.
I like Lance, I love Texas, and watched every day of the TDF.Ambishawn
Apr 3, 2003 9:45 PM
I think that that lance peaking for the TDF is an intellegent professional move on his part. He participates in other events but the tour is what brings home the bacon.
As much as I love our country, bicycle road racing is not something that you see the Dads of this country training there sons for. No cheerleaders for the kid on the tenspeed.
Until then theres the TDF, Vaulta de Spain and the Giro.

I can see how one can get fed up with all the euro hype surrounding road racing. I ride with a guy from the Ukrane with a C40 who has to see a European pro use a product before he will belive it's good. I was proud to whip his A$$ on the climbs on My American Made Crown Jewel made of low-tech steel. I plan on taking Mr C40 through the Angeles Crest for some more punishment soon.

I love Texas. Went for My first time in Dec. I'm actually considering relocating there form California. People are really cool and make a lot of sence. I'm actually doing some research regaurding the cost of living and what kind of employment oprotunities exist there.

Bull I may not agree with everything you say but I'm not gonna get mt bib shorts in a twist over a strong opinion and a few misspelled words.
I never said texas sucks!!!nmthe bull
Apr 4, 2003 9:29 AM
Have you ever been to France? nfmSpunout
Apr 4, 2003 4:49 AM
yes-nmthe bull
Apr 4, 2003 9:09 AM
Why should we care about what you think?(nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Apr 4, 2003 5:05 AM
good question!the bull
Apr 4, 2003 9:19 AM
I dont care if you agree or disagree with me.Its just how I feel and its my opinion.Hopefully most of you would not decide to hate me for this one opinion I have.Its just a thought I keep getting in my head And I wanted to let it out!See if others might have a similar Idea as well!
the bull acts more and more like Nick. Not a good thing.(nm)gregario
Apr 4, 2003 9:51 AM
I admire Lance, and the tour . . .Rich_Racer
Apr 4, 2003 10:33 AM
. . .and even though some french people kind of annoy me I thing France is a wonderful country. I now hate myself, though, for actually sinking to the low of actually replying to this crap!
I guess I am kinda digging a hole here huh?the bull
Apr 4, 2003 3:48 PM
No matter what you say the hole just keeps getting deeper.
And when you go to cover it up there is never enough.
I should have listened to the voice in my head,telling me "dont post it ",huh?

But it is true I see Lance now I and He kinda pisses me off!
I feel as though he has kinda let us down!But its his choice!
I dont feel as though I am above anyone! And this how the French make you feel.Not all of them but I get this feeling Ya know they kinda snobby.
All this combined with the hype of the tour!
I hate the super bowl too by the way!
Over rated crap!Oh well forget about it!
re: La TourFredrico
Apr 4, 2003 10:55 AM
However snooty the French are, like the waiter in Bordeaux who picked up the right fork from my place setting for the meat course, then handed it to me; however stubborn Jacques Chiraq is about the Iraq war, Lance is in focussing only on the Tour de France, you can't deny that it is the mother of all stage races, and the French fans can take the credit for keeping it on top. Without their passion for this bike race, the sport would be even more marginal than it is now. You can't say that about any other bike race, especially in the US.

So don't look a gift horse in the mouth or something like that. Share the passion.