RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


MTB/touring shoes for mostly road use?(14 posts)

MTB/touring shoes for mostly road use?geeker
Apr 3, 2003 10:14 AM
I ride a cyclocross bike, mostly on the road but with some occasional off-road. For a variety of reasons (prefer convenience of walking, am a fred, etc.), I like MTB shoes and pedals (currently SPD, considering change to Frog).

Looking for a new pair of shoes. Have been wearing entry-level Diadora MTB shoes (Jalapeno), which are OK but a little heavy and don't have the most durable lugs. Can anybody recommend an inexpensive MTB shoe that isn't too heavy and has a reasonably stiff sole? Would also consider a "touring" shoe. Thanks.
You'll probably get a better response on the MTBReview site.....bent_spoke
Apr 3, 2003 10:30 AM
http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/
re: MTB/touring shoes for mostly road use?MisJG
Apr 3, 2003 11:04 AM
I currently use a shoe made by a company called 'AlpineStars' that I really like. Unfortunatley, I got them as a clearence item from Performance or Nashbar (can't remember which) and I haven't seen them since. If you go to the alpinestars website, it looks like it's all motorcycle gear. Anyway, my point is, I use these shoes on the road for touring, centuries, etc and they are great. Wouldn't do another century walking like a duck! I know you probably weren't looking for support for wearing the shoes, but that's all I can offer. Just keep looking in the catalogs. Something will strike your fancy.
Almost all I ever use...cory
Apr 3, 2003 11:13 AM
This comes up every month or so, so you might be able to find previous discussions in the archives. Personally, I use MB shoes for just about everything. I wear size 15/50, and for years had to ride in tennies or light hiking boots. The first cycling shoes I ever saw in my size, six or eight years ago, were Diadora Jalapenos on sale for 40 bucks at Nashbar, and I bought three pairs. I have road shoes now, too, but I don't use them much because I like to get off and walk around. I don't think anybody makes what used to be called touring shoes anymore, but the Jalapenos without cleats work for me on my toe-clipped commuter.
You might check www.sierratradingpost.com--they don't always have bike shoes, but they often do, and I've been pretty happy with some Northwaves I bought last fall.
Almost all I ever use...harry hall
Apr 3, 2003 12:20 PM
I don't care how walkable my cycling shoes are, but nothing in 35+ years of riding has fit me better than Carnac mountain bike shoes. Let your feet tell you what to use, they're the experts.
I've had good luck with my Answer MTB shoes....Tower
Apr 3, 2003 11:32 AM
I just bought my Zurich, so I am still wearing the MTB's when I ride it. I have SPD's and like to be able to walk.

I like the Answer because it has both laces and straps. Speeder is the version I have.

http://www.answerproducts.com/home.htm
re: MTB/touring shoes for mostly road use?KEN2
Apr 3, 2003 12:13 PM
I have the Jalapenos, actually I'm on the second pair and have another in the wings. Also do my strictly mtn. biking with Diadora Chilis, but I doubt you'll do better than the Jalapenos for under $100--they're a great bargain especially at sale prices that you'll often find.
I've had a pair of these for yearsMel Erickson
Apr 3, 2003 12:53 PM
Nike Pedali Combo. They've actually been quite good. They're now relegated to use with my tandem and for spinning class. Held up well, reasonably stiff, comfortable (but I have a narrow foot and Nikes are generally built on a narrower last). They're not the best road or off road shoe but do both reasonably well and don't look as MTB like on the road. Price is OK, got mine for much less from Performance but they don't carry them anymore. Mine look different because they're much older but the guts of the shoe are essentially the same. This place has them on sale for $70. http://dannyscycles.com/site/itemdetails.cfm?ID=572&Catalog=39
how about these?velocity
Apr 3, 2003 1:20 PM
I've been using Shimano MT091 Sport Touring Shoes for commuting but can't seem to locate these in stock (Performance has them in limited sizes) but what about Lake CX115 Trainer Shoes for $59.99?

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=14708
Yes, but I repeat myself . . .Geardaddy
Apr 3, 2003 1:28 PM
I've piped in on this one in the past too. I too like ability to walk in the shoes comfortably and the ability to use the same shoe for all kinds of riding. So, I've been using some Look road touring shoes for both road and MTB riding for the last 5 years.

I find that the road touring shoes are better than MTB shoes because they are lighter, stiffer, more form fitting, and they are amenable to wearing shoe covers or over-booties for all-weather conditions. For the kind of MTB riding that exists here (in the Upper Midwest), there is nothing that technical. Thus, MTB shoes are "over-built" for what I need, i.e. there is little need for a beefy tread or those metal toe cleats which just add bulk to the shoe.

The only bummer is that there is such a poor selection of these "all-around" types of shoes.
Two recommendationsTrent in WA
Apr 3, 2003 2:05 PM
I have two pair of mtb shoes: some Shimano M020's that I use for commuting and touring (they have a fairly flat sole), and some Sidi Dominator 4's that I wear in more performance-oriented situations. I love 'em both. The Sidis are stiffer, but I'd use either for any of the riding I do.

Trent
SIDITWD
Apr 3, 2003 2:19 PM
OK,

You said, inexpensive shoes, but I'd have to say that on a $/mile basis, my SIDIs have been cheaper than anything out there.

My SIDI mtb shoes are ancient, I got them back in 96. I use them for off-road, on-road, cyclocross, training, racing, commuting.....you name it. I'm guessing I've got probably close to 40K miles on them which isn't bad considering at least half of that was off-road. They've 3 upper midwest winters of riding and 5 Oregon winters of daily commuting in the rain. Just dry 'em out and they're good as new.

The new versions are about $190 at most of the mail order places, cheaper if you can scrounge up a Performance or Nashbar 20% off coupon.

I can't give you any advice on other current mtb shoes since I haven't had to look at them in 8 years.
agree, Sidi Dominators are cheaper in the long run (nm)ukiahb
Apr 3, 2003 4:42 PM
Thanks for the helpgeeker
Apr 3, 2003 6:28 PM
I'm sure Sidis are great, and may regret it, but can't part with that much cash right now. Nashbar had a couple of decent-looking shoes marked down to $54.95: Shimano M 152 and Time Scolop. The M152 has a good reputation, but I went for the Time because it has laces plus 1 velcro strap, a feature I like in the Jalapeno.