RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Welcome New RBR Forum Moderator: Doug Sloan!(58 posts)

Welcome New RBR Forum Moderator: Doug Sloan!gregg
Apr 2, 2003 10:24 AM
Hey All,

Please help me welcome Doug into his new position as Forum Moderator for the General Board and the Non-Cycling Discussion Board!

Doug has been a long standing member of the Boards, and has always helped me out when things need attention. It has become clear that this board deserves to have it's own dedicated moderator, and who better than Doug?

Doug has a full profile online now here»

Doug's main responsibility is to "keep the peace", and I'm sure all of you will help him out, right?

Thanks Doug for all you've given to this site.

-gregg (Site Manager)
I promise to behave, congrats nmafrican
Apr 2, 2003 10:33 AM
it's just another plan perpetrated by the man...JS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2003 10:39 AM
to hold a rider down.

help! i'm being repressed!

|-)
Congratulations Doug....PEDDLEFOOT
Apr 2, 2003 10:41 AM
...I've always made a point to read your threads and responses.You seem to have a very non biased approach to cycling and a great deal of knowledge and experience.Good luck with the new challenge.
Will he be capable of deleting messages/threads?...Bruno S
Apr 2, 2003 10:57 AM
If not, how is he going to moderate the board?
Hey! Where did my expletitive-filled response go??? ;-) nmSpunout
Apr 2, 2003 10:59 AM
yes he can (nm)gregg
Apr 2, 2003 11:58 AM
Good idea.....DINOSAUR
Apr 2, 2003 11:01 AM
Doug has always been sort of the unofficial forum moderator, nice to see that it is now official. I must say also that Doug has always been very helpful to me in the past and most of his stuff is dead on. Good idea.....
Could be a challenge53T
Apr 2, 2003 11:05 AM
Doug will make a great General Board moderator. However, he is waaaay left of center politically, and will have a real challenge being objective on the non-cycling board. Best of luck, Doug.
Good point....gregg
Apr 2, 2003 12:04 PM
...and one that was discussed and considered by myself and my boss.

The result is: in choosing a moderator, the last thing we want to do is to have the moderator have to change or alter their opinions or their "voice" on the boards. Which is where I would step in, if need be. We don't expect Doug to hide his true opinions, and he should be allowed to express himself, just like everyone else. Should the need arise, Doug has been instructed to contact me and let me make the call.

-g
Left of Center Politically?Fez
Apr 3, 2003 7:28 AM
You are kidding, right?

Seriously though, he should make a fine moderator.
Wasn't April Fools day yesterday? nm.jaybird
Apr 2, 2003 11:08 AM
congrats doug!
Can we still say sh!t and d@mn? Congrats, Doug! nmMike P
Apr 2, 2003 11:11 AM
Rock on, Doug! nmrussw19
Apr 2, 2003 11:14 AM
I don't think much is going to changeDougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 11:16 AM
Over the years, I've communicated with Gregg, and Linda before Gregg, about some forum content. It's actually pretty rare that anything gets pulled or moved. I'm not planning on handling anything differently than I think Gregg would. It's more a matter of having two sets of eyes instead of one. Sometimes Gregg is unavailable for a while, and this will just help to speed up some attention when needed, in my view.

Doug
all i know for sure is this:JS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2003 11:37 AM
"This calls for a very special blend of psychology and extreme violence."
Excuse me sir...is this the Delta House? nmDougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 11:45 AM
wrong, try againJS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2003 11:54 AM
"I wish there were no machines, and everyone led a pastoral existence, trees and flowers don't deliberately cool you out and go beep in your ear. "
re:I don't think much is going to changecyclopathic
Apr 2, 2003 12:18 PM
your french jokes perhaps? keep it to non-cycling forum plz
Interesting how Do(u)g went from watchdog to ....Brooks
Apr 2, 2003 3:30 PM
burn-out (left the forum for awhile, new kid and all), comes back and in a few short months is the moderator. Just couldn't stay away! Congrats and good luck with this group!

Brooks
Good Move Gregg and Congrats Doug!Maartin
Apr 2, 2003 11:20 AM
This will help the site all around
oh no! coming soon, forum pact III...nm :)mohair_chair
Apr 2, 2003 11:22 AM
Is that a bike bra on your handlebars, Doug?rollo tommassi
Apr 2, 2003 11:40 AM
oh, the humanity!!!!

Congrats, Doug!!
Kind of like a lawyer's becoming a judge . . .ms
Apr 2, 2003 12:35 PM
Congratulations. I think that you are eminently qualified and will do a great job. Just beware of "black robe fever." And, remember that the role of a moderator is different than that of an advocate. Should we address you as "The Honorable?"
worse. TP :-) nmDougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 4:36 PM
TP is more appropriate for a C40. nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 3, 2003 7:32 AM
Furnace 308, err, I mean 508, finish line photo? (nm)Dale Brigham
Apr 3, 2003 8:25 AM
yup (nm)DougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 8:54 AM
With great power comes great responsibilites ... (nm)laffeaux
Apr 2, 2003 11:53 AM
Do we have to call him "Mr. Sloan" now? nmIamhoosier
Apr 2, 2003 12:10 PM
Sir Douglas or Mr. Sloan oughta do. Good move. nmdzrider
Apr 2, 2003 12:37 PM
Board Diplomacy First,, then the UN:)- nmJon Billheimer
Apr 2, 2003 1:01 PM
re: Great idea. Great choice. Good luck Doug. (nm)JL
Apr 2, 2003 1:01 PM
Two words: Fox, Henhouse ;-)js5280
Apr 2, 2003 1:18 PM
Congrats Doug! We look forward to your benevolent dicatatorship :-)
you can't say "dictator" on a moderated forum. duh! nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 2, 2003 1:24 PM
Didn't. Said "dicatator" :-0 nmBrooks
Apr 2, 2003 3:27 PM
omg that's twice as bad! nmJS Haiku Shop
Apr 3, 2003 6:05 AM
Congrats, Doug...jtferraro
Apr 2, 2003 1:26 PM
Ya' celeste junkie!! ;-) I even noticed the celeste pedals and bottle cages - cool! Actually, that's quite a nice stable of bikes you have.

-Jeff
Billable Hours?GregJ
Apr 2, 2003 1:52 PM
It looks like Doug has found a great way to get some compensation for his board time!
Helmets Off To Doug!El Caballito
Apr 2, 2003 2:17 PM
Congrats to you. Though I don't know you, I have read many of your posts and you've given me timely suggestions.

Good Luck,
The Horse
Doug: Good luck to you and to us, too. (nm)KenS
Apr 2, 2003 2:49 PM
Hello co-dependence! Gregg you enabler! (nm)eyebob
Apr 2, 2003 3:12 PM
New? He's been doing that since day 1 ...Humma Hah
Apr 2, 2003 3:25 PM
... and doing a marvelous job of it. This is a civilized forum, and Doug's a big part of the reason why!

Jolly good you're making it official!
Congrats Doug! Lead and direct us oh wise one. ;) nmKen of Fresno
Apr 2, 2003 3:44 PM
>Snowblind's smartypants remark deleted by Doug Slone< -nmSnowBlind
Apr 2, 2003 4:21 PM
huh?DougSloan
Apr 2, 2003 4:35 PM
No idea what you are talking about, but even if something were deleted, you couldn't tell who did it.

Doug
Doug, I put it there. Ne pas? -nmSnowBlind
Apr 3, 2003 9:51 AM
Moderator? We don't need no stikin moderator (nm)Lone Gunman
Apr 2, 2003 5:26 PM
Now I know where all the nick posts disappear to!nmthe bull
Apr 2, 2003 7:49 PM
Now that you are in control, Doug, let's hijack this forum...Dale Brigham
Apr 2, 2003 8:24 PM
...and turn it into a strictly Ultramarathon/Randonnee cycling board. Hoist the black flag, matey!

Seriously, I know you will rule your kingdom with wisdom and wit. Congrats!

Dale
I AM WELL AWARE OF MY REPUTATIONLazywriter
Apr 2, 2003 8:50 PM
but Doug is a moron. He will wind up deleting this anyway so I am going to say what I feel. If anyone presents with any "off color" jokes, he will deem them inappropriate although we are adults and should decide what we want to view. He has always been policing this board and "intervening" when he felt necessary. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS ACCUSED HIM OF THIS.
I admit there I have posted "off color" remarks along with others in the past that I felt were funny. There are a lot of wise ass comments that happen here which I find very funny and I know Doug will delete anything he "perceives" as inappropriate. Before he had this power he was intrusive so God help us now that he is given even more authority. Plus he has no life and seems to always be on this site. Mark my words, this post will be deleted but I am saving it and will re-post it. Bad choice.
There are probably 200...ACE-
Apr 2, 2003 11:16 PM
or more of us who would delete EVERYTHING you post, but Doug will not. And you calling anyone a moron is, well, stupid. ACE
don't worry - but check the GuidelinesDougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 7:28 AM
Most of what I've posted in the past about out of line messages had more to do with an attempt to persuade, not dictate or control. In other words, while I personally may have felt some things to be out of line, they weren't necessarily so bad to require deletion. I don't think there is anything wrong with everyone, including me, from participating in an attempt to keep the forums (fora?, fori?) civil, especially compared to some of the other boards we all have visited and left because they were so juvenile and caustic. I can think of very few times when your posts were actually bad enough to require intervention.

However, the board does have guidelines ( http://www.roadbikereview.com/guidelinescrx.aspx ), and the responsibility of the owners and me, now, is to see that the guidelines are followed. When you initially signed up to post here, and impliedly every time you post, you agree to the guidelines. The ones many people seem to ignore are the first two:

1. The message insults or degrades another member of the community.

2. The message contains profanity, offensive language, or racial epithets.

There are always judgment calls to be made. Your message to which this message is in response is obviously in violation of Guideline No. 1, isn't it?

Nonetheless, I recall what a judge once told a client, and have taken it to heart in legal matters, and it often applies here: "Son, if you stir sh**, it only gets smellier." So, often some bad messages might get ignored with that in mind.

Doug
Let me guess -- quote from a Missouri county judge? (nm)Dale Brigham
Apr 3, 2003 8:16 AM
you would think, but actually Los Angeles nmDougSloan
Apr 3, 2003 8:28 AM
don't worry - but check the Guidelinesmapei boy
Apr 3, 2003 11:47 AM
It's good to hear you have such a mellow mind-set. I know you'll be a fine moderator. I know you'll keep a nice loose rein, just like Gregg did. You'll let the trollers troll, the venters vent, and the counter-attackers counter-attack. Some of the other message boards I frequent (such as a food one that will go nameless) are run by politeness nazis. The slightest twinge of genuine emotion or intensity invariably causes a post to get cut.
re: Welcome New RBR Forum Moderator: Doug Sloan!Natchez
Apr 2, 2003 10:16 PM
If Doug is half as good a moderator as he is a cyclist this forum is in great shape!!!

Blessings
You have absolutley totally simply GOTHoopes of glory
Apr 3, 2003 5:19 AM
to be joking?

Tell me this complete absurdity is caused by too many Buds - please?