RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Conti Attack/Force Tire Report -Installation & Ride Report(9 posts)

Conti Attack/Force Tire Report -Installation & Ride Reportmerckxman
Apr 2, 2003 7:37 AM
My order arrived today. They went on easily, no levers required. IMPORTANT: there are rotation arrows on the sidewalls, front and back tires, indicating in which direction they should be mounted. And, of course, one tire is designed for the front, the other for the back. All black, (thread and sidewall); CONTINENTAL in large letters in yellow opposite their traditional label. Max recommended PSI is 120. Nice looking tires. Purchased from www.worldclasscycles.com ($79/pair or $89/pair including 2 A1 Michelin (70g) tubes and shipping). After riding Conti GPs, and then 3000s, I thought I would try these. Worldclass did not know if Conti had any plans to sell these as singles in the future (they should). Going for a ride later and will report on initial impressions.
I like mine.greg n
Apr 2, 2003 7:46 AM
I've raced on them twice now. Fast rolling, yet supple feel. I'm most impressed with how solid they are in the corners. I feel very secure rounding corners at high speed.
Any comparison to the Schwalbe Evo twin pack? (nm)Ye Olde Balde One
Apr 2, 2003 8:12 AM
that was my question...ClydeTri
Apr 2, 2003 8:20 AM
only selling in pairs..and..back tires wear much quicker than fronts..most people go thru about two rears to a front..sorta a ripoff if they continue to only sell in pairs...
yeah, also flats/cuts make for replacement headache if onlyFez
Apr 2, 2003 8:27 AM
sold in pairs
Using different compounds front and rearmerckxman
Apr 2, 2003 11:17 AM
...only time will tell how differently they will wear.
got the starter set...gregg
Apr 2, 2003 9:03 AM
...from TotalCycling. Quite a bargain, about $100 for the whole set which includes the tires, tubes, rim tape, levers, plus a Conti Jersey!



Don't usually spam my own boards (especially with a web retailer that doesn't advertise on our site), but this is just too good a bargain not to let my fellow cyclists know.

With non-priority shipping, the whole thing came out to like $120. Had to wait about 13 days though.

Haven't mounted them yet, I'll probably wait till after the Sea Otter to switch. Currently running Vittoria Open CX TT's. Have run GP3000's, Hutchinson Carbon Comps, Michelin Axial Pros, and Specialized Turbos. Liked the GP3000's best, so I figured these had to be similar.

BTW, these have been added to our Tire Reviews section (no reviews yet, of course) for those of you who have a chance to log some miles on 'em.
got the starter set...ClydeTri
Apr 2, 2003 9:13 AM
it is a good deal...think it was the newest velonews which said that package you got had a MSRP of $200...
Ride Reportmerckxman
Apr 2, 2003 7:06 PM
Really nice riding tires. Better rolling than Conti 3000s; nice stickiness in turns. I don't see going back to 3000s or GPs unless Continental continues to sell these only in pairs when you only need one for one reason or another after buying the initial pair. ps. the front is 22mm and the rear is 23mm.