RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bianchi XL Boron v. Colnago Master X-Light(9 posts)

Bianchi XL Boron v. Colnago Master X-LightFranchise
Mar 26, 2003 5:21 PM
All,

I have just been propositioned by a friend with a team deal on either of these framsets. Both are '03's, and I have a Daytona 10spd group collecting dust in my garage with other parts needed for the build. Unfortunately, I cannot purchase both. What would you guys recommend? I like the colors of both, so that factor is not determinative(celeste v. AD-20). Any info would be appreciated.

The reviews are quite numerous for the 'nago, but there is something about a Bianchi that catches my attention. Thanks for the info in advance!

Franchise
re: Bianchi XL Boron v. Colnago Master X-LightAaronL
Mar 26, 2003 5:51 PM
How much do you weigh, what size frame do you ride and how much do you ride?

I've had 2 boron frames, scary light for steel, sweet ride, stable as a rock on descents.

The downside, both cracked at the BB. I weigh 170 and ride a 59 (c to t). I believe they beefed up the 2003 frame quite a bit, so the cracking issue may not be the same. I opted for the EV2 after the second frame cracked, only because I didn't like the paint on the '02 boron. It was too plain.

Make sure the team deal allows you to keep the warranty. It's 10 years which is much better than the Colnago. Bianchi's customer service was top notch when it came time to replace the frames.

If you weigh less than 170 I'd say get the Bianchi, it is a wonderful frame.
re: Bianchi XL Boron v. Colnago Master X-LightFranchise
Mar 26, 2003 6:41 PM
My race weight is 165. I will likely get a size 57cm in the Bianchi. Thanks for the info. The team deal does allow me to keep the warranty.

I particpate in fast club rides and interval training rides. I ride quite a bit. In the summer months I have been known to log about 150-250 miles a week. I won't be road racing this season, but I will be racing in triathlons and duathlons. I already have a bike set up for that though. Thanks again!

Franchise
re: Bianchi XL Boron v. Colnago Master X-Lightbianchi boy
Mar 26, 2003 7:06 PM
The geometry is quite a bit different on these two frames. Colnagos are relatively short across the top in your size, while Bianchis are long with shorter headtubes and steeper seat tube angles. Despite the shorter warranties, I would place my money on Colnago to last a lot longer than the Bianchi. I have seen LOTS of reports on boards about Borons breaking, although Bianchi seems to be good about honoring warranties. The Colnago would have much better resale value, if that's a factor. The Boron would probably be a bit lighter than the MXL, but that would be its only advantage in my book. Although I am a longtime Bianchi owner, the MXL is just a better frame in nearly every respect, IMHO.
re: Bianchi XL Boron v. Colnago Master X-LightFranchise
Mar 26, 2003 7:42 PM
Thanks. I actually have a 'nago CT-1, and you're right about the sizing b/c I have a 58cm frame. Thanks for the feedback. I was hoping that the frame failures I've been hearing about with Bianchis were flukes. Obviously, they weren't.
MXL - overbuilt is goodmass_biker
Mar 26, 2003 7:16 PM
Get the MXL. A few years ago at the Fitchburg Stage Race, there was a guy who had a trick new Bianchi XL. He raced it in the TT, and the the circuit race but showed up to the RR on a neutral support bike. The Bianchi had cracked at the BB. My MXL held tough until the end.

MXLs are lugged and pinned. One could say too much bike for a lightweight, but just the type of bike you need for day in day out riding, training, and racing.

The fit is a bit finicky vs. what you see today but I personally like the idea of a shorter than normal TT.

MB
MXL - overbuilt is goodFranchise
Mar 26, 2003 7:45 PM
Thanks for the advice. I think I will be leaning towards the MXL. I was unaware that the frame failures were this common. It appears as though many people have been witness to the Borons failing. Weight is not really an issue because I'm putting some heavy, left-over components on this frameset that are collecting dust in my garage. Thanks!
I love my Master X-Light....DINOSAUR
Mar 26, 2003 8:49 PM
I purchased an MXL last year and the more I ride it, the more I love it. It rides like a dream and you can ride it day in and day out and never feel beaten up. It does not feel like a heavy bike. It rides like it's on rails and descends like a demon. It's the best handling road bike I have ever ridden. I wish I owned a couple of them. Good strong, well constructed, durable frame. Colnago refers to the MXL as their "workhorse"...if you are familiar with the Colnago geometry that will be a plus, that is one reason I was drawn to A nago....my other bike is a Klein, which is no slouch. But when I get on the Colnago I can feel the difference in the steel ride...
I have one of each.terry b
Mar 26, 2003 9:38 PM
They both have a nice feel, but the MxL is much more robust and solid. Mine is also in AD20, in my opinion Colnago's least over the top scheme. Very elegant. My Boron is a 2001, in Celeste and yellow, also very sexy. The Bianchi though compares better with other "new steel" bikes such as a Pinarello Opera. Light, quick, speedy. Under my legs, they're both capable of the same speed but the Bianchi gets there faster. On the other hand, the MxL absorbs the road. I've done long rides on each and would give a slight edge to the MxL. Really boils down to what you want, one that feels racy or one that feels smooth and solid. I don't think you can go wrong with either although the MxL might have the potential for a longer life span.