RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Frogs vs Coombe(8 posts)

Frogs vs CoombeLive Steam
Mar 25, 2003 2:08 PM
I have Speedplay X Pedals on my ride presently and have alternately used Look pedal systems, however I am looking to get something that has a cleat that allows for more comfortable walking in when doing long weekend rides away from home where we may want to do some shopping or site seeing. The local hammerfests don't require any walking comfort, but I may consider keeping just one pedal system. Can either or both of these give adequate performance and retention for racing like conditions?

I have read through the reviews, but I am looking for additional feedback. I chose to look at the Frog and Coombe pedals because they both allow for the use of a MTB shoe which will give more comfort and slip resistance when on foot. Any comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated , and other pedal systems may be considered.
I like Frogs - don't know about Coombe...PdxMark
Mar 25, 2003 3:28 PM
They are reliable, durable, light, comfortable over long rides (no hot spots), solid for hard pedaling, super easy in and out (though a different motion than regular pedals). I use them on a road bike and a commuter, both Sidi shoes and Shimano. Sidi out sole needed a but of "Dremeling" for the cleat to fit, but maybe that's not an issue now. Total free float, but you'll know that from the Speedplay X's.

Maintenenace is easy, just a squirt of gease into the port a couple time a year.

I have a Ti set on one bike and a steel set on another. I'm 165#.
Coombe (road) is pretty much a hardcoare roadie racer pedallonefrontranger
Mar 25, 2003 3:33 PM
My coach is a pro track racer and he likes his, but he does admit they are hard to get in and out of - I'd say that if they're hard to get in/out of for him, they're pretty beefy. Part of why he likes them. He rode Campag Pro-Fits before and says the Coombes are even stiffer on the entry/exit, and Pro-Fits are known to be pretty fiddly.

I don't know if you are referring to an MTB version, of which I've not heard.
re: Frogs vs Coombepurplepaul
Mar 25, 2003 3:34 PM
I have the Coombe and I like it a lot. But it was quite a job to cut the tread of my mountain shoes to give clearance for the axle. On top of that, part of the cleat sticks out just a little bit, so even with the mountain shoes I'm walking on the cleat. It's doable, but not ideal. And certainly not as walker friendly as SPD. As for retention, they are excellent. No springs to worry about. I have absolute confidence in them.

M2Racer has a super cool pair of pedals with cleats that are quite small. You might want to look at those.
Frogs...zmarke
Mar 25, 2003 3:36 PM
I used Time Atacs on my MTB and Speedplay X2s on my road and fixed gear in the past, then I got married...

No more hammerfests but long weekend club rides with an emphasis on scenery and fun. I swapped everything for the frogs and will never look back. I think the frogs have the same retention as the X2s but others may disagree. I just love the float (bad kness) and do not care about extra weight so for me they are a great choice. I even use them on my fixed/single speed bike around the streets of NYC.

The only problem I had was finding a good shoe. Mountain shoes can be very heavy and have almost too much sole for walking around even though the cleat does not touch the ground like with road shoes. I did find a great shoe that works with the frogs and keeps the cleat recessed. The sole is not as stiff as road shoes but not as clunky as mountain shoes.

Diadora Voyager Touring Shoe '03
http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=&subcategory=&brand=1136&sku=8570&storetype=&estoreid=

hope this helps!
Thanks for the responses!Live Steam
Mar 25, 2003 7:29 PM
These are the types responses I wanted to hear. They differ greatly from the review. I guess they differ because a purpose was specified, unlike the review section which has a somewhat undefined nature - which is expected. The Speedplay Frogs sound like what I am looking for. This was my impression, but the Coombe pedals did look to be an option from the information I gleaned from their web site. I do like the idea of a larger cleat platform to provide more support to a relatively flexi MTB sole - compared to road shoes. I guess I have my answer, unless anyone else cares to weigh in. Thanks again.
Bill
If you like the feel of the Spdplay X - no questionRay Sachs
Mar 26, 2003 5:27 AM
I used X-series pedals for a while and then once I tried Frogs on my mtb, switched everything over. The feel is as close to indentical as you could imagine. And you can walk in the frogs. There's a very slight weight penalty, but they're still very light and the performance is indistinguishable (sp?).

I've since moved away from Speedplay because I stopped liking all of that free float and prefer a bigger feeling platform, but if you like the way the Speedplay road pedals feel, you'll be just as happy with the frogs.

-Ray
Another vote for frogs...satanas
Mar 27, 2003 10:51 PM
I've been using these both on and offroad for several years, including lots of walking and expedition touring. They are super easy to get in and out of, and I find the action really natural. Compared to the X pedals, there is less effort and precision needed to enter/exit. Bearings are great.

Only slight issue is that foot is a bit higher from axle than with X. If a stiff sole is used, should be no loss in efficiency.

You might want to consider bebop (foot may be lower), but the frog definitely works and sems to be more available.